Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Muirs Inn

Traveller (62)
Tasty Sunday dinner.
Dining (53)
Twin room
Room & Suite (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 5 hotels in Kinross
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value

The Muirs Inn is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Kinross, offering a charming environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV and a refrigerator, and you can stay connected during your stay as The Muirs Hotel offers guests free wifi.

Plus, The Muirs Hotel offers free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out The Boathouse Restaurant and Monty's Pizzeria, which are some Italian restaurants that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like Lochleven Castle (0.6 mi), St Paul's Scottish Episcopal Church (0.0 mi), and Kinross Parish Church (0.4 mi), which are all within walking distance of the hotel.

Enjoy your stay in Kinross!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room features
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Business
362Reviews1Q+A19Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 229
  • 102
  • 17
  • 11
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
k18c wrote a review Dec 2021
90 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lunch today was very pleasant unlike the weather outside, restaurant was warm with extra no noise fan heaters.
Glad fortunately we were not seated nearer to the door. Howling draft everytime it was opened.

Offered both the standard and Christmas menu. Something available to suit all taste, Nice..

The main meals were lovely, hot and nicely presented, unfortunately the desserts were slightly disappointing, the Christmas Pudding was miserable, when mentioned to the young waitress, she handled things well and returned with a bite more pudding. Overall lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Being seated near the door.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynn McCord, Owner at The Muirs Inn
Responded 13 May 2022
Thank you for your feedback
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JamestheTourist2018 wrote a review Aug 2021
Liverpool, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a very pleasant meal, service was very good particularly with one of our party having a food allergy.

The waiter had already noted what was possible from the meme and did a further check with the chef.

We’ve been travelling for just under two weeks and this was the best food that we’ve had so far and can recommend the lamb. Beer was good also!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynn McCord, Owner at The Muirs Inn
Responded 13 May 2022
Thank you so much
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura O wrote a review Jan 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom19 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped at The Muirs Inn after walking around Loch Leven. The Restaurant offers a great selection of hearty dishes which are perfect following on from a winter walk. Perfect for families and small groups. Staff are very friendly and service was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from lynnm741, Owner at The Muirs Inn
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Thanks you very much. Hope you’ve recovered from your long walk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kel wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
After looking at various online menus of local Kinross restaurants we decided to choose Muirs Inn for lunch due to their reasonably priced 'light bites' menu which had a good selection of dishes.
On arrival we were confused as to how to actually enter the building! After a few minutes we discovered the entrance was at the back- a few other customers had the same problem as us. A simple sign at the entrance would have been useful!
Once in we were shown to our table and given menus. The temperature was quite cool and we had to sit with jackets on for our meal.
On looking at the menu we realised that the prices on the light bite menu had increased - some quite considerably. This was mentioned to our waitress who told us the prices had been raised. Why was this not altered on the website?
The meal was very average and certainly not worth what we paid -had we known the price increase we would have booked elsewhere!
On visiting the ladies toilet one of the cubicles had no toilet paper. It was apparent this cubicle had been cleaned ( bleach still evident) and clearly not been used so why was this not checked prior to opening to customers?
Overall, a disappointing visit and probably won't visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynn McCord, Owner at The Muirs Inn
Responded 3 Oct 2020
I’m sorry you were disappointed with your visit and thank you for your comments. You’re quite right we were having some difficulty updating our website and have now taken this down while we get it sorted. The simple sign letting people know we are now using the back door is sitting at the front door and most have managed to find there way, but for those who don’t we are happy to explain the new one way system. it was unfortunately that on your visit to the toilet the second toilet roll had failed to drop down this was an easy fix once you had pointed it out to a member of staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CGH98 wrote a review Oct 2020
Perth, United Kingdom22 contributions35 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Located on the outskirts of Kinross, nice looking pub from the exterior purpose built with restaurant attached. Clean, tidy, pleasant environment, plenty seating. No wait, one member of staff, polite and showed us to table. Practicing Covid standards. Menu, average, reasonable choice but by no means a gastro pub but charging gastro prices! Fish Goujon on bread with handful of chips £10.25 and pork sausages, mash and peas £10.50, sausages possibly even richmonds, pale and anaemic.....this does not represent value for money for what equates to a fish finger sandwich and low grade sausage and mash with oxo gravy. Needs a rethink and work on the portions and quality of ingredients used. Would not recommend or revisit.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynn McCord, Owner at The Muirs Inn
Responded 3 Oct 2020
I’m sorry you feel disappoint with your visit to us and thank you for your feedback , however giving the fresh and quality ingredients that we use e.g fresh haddock for our fish goujons a good quality sausage and freshly made gravy I feel our price point is just right.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
babykerry wrote a review Jul 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom108 contributions98 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I read a few recent reviews complaining about small portions and would have to agree. I had fish and chips. I got one very small piece of fish on top of a large pile of chips. Seemed to have been arranged to make the meal look bigger. To make it worse I was charged £14.50 which is excessive for a bar meal. I have never paid anywhere near this in any other bar. No need for a reply saying you will look into things when you have done nothing after other reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jimbo1303 wrote a review Aug 2020
Cupar, United Kingdom36 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Took advantage of the initiative to visit The Muirs Inn.
Have visited a number of times and always enjoyed the food and experience.
The premises staff were very friendly informing us of the new Covid practices and all were wearing masks or visors.
The fact they explained everything def relaxed us and as usual the food was excellent
The staff are a credit to the premises.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynn McCord, Owner at The Muirs Inn
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Many thanks for your lovely comments
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BBen68 wrote a review Oct 2020
South Devon, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Travelling south and needed somewhere to stop that allowed dogs. Although the bar/lounge was closed (due to covid), we were warmly welcomed and made comfortable in the lounge with our dog. Food was fabulous, (burger amazing). Definitely recommend, thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynn McCord, Owner at The Muirs Inn
Responded 13 May 2022
Thank you so much
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robin Y wrote a review Sept 2021
Chichester, United Kingdom110 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A near perfect blend of proper pub and very good dining. The bar area is old school and very welcoming, the pints of Bitter and Twisted from the Harviestoun Brewery were really excellent. Good locals fill the bar. I then went through to the modern, smart dining area. A very different feel, but it works very well. I chose a tomato and feta bruschetta starter which was great and then the lamb rump with dauphinois potatoes and seasonal vegetables. The lamb, although a little tough was full of generous flavour, the potatoes and the vegetables were cooked to perfection, and were definitely not an add-on. I chose a large glass of their lovely and generous Merlot - Terre du Soleil to accompany it all. Finishing with their cheese selection of Stilton, Brie and smoked cheddar. All of which were very good. Just a really very good and better than good pub meal. Service was quick, friendly and efficient.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynn McCord, Owner at The Muirs Inn
Responded 13 May 2022
Thank you so much
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
B2AGR wrote a review Jan 2022
95 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Go here once a month to meet friends. Food never disappoints nor does service. I am coeliac and am served appropriately without fuss or problem. Staff are very accommodating, food is always tasty with an extensive menu. Pleasant surroundings
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynn McCord, Owner at The Muirs Inn
Responded 13 May 2022
Thank so much for your lovely comments very much appreciated
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary C asked a question Mar 2016
Glenrothes, United Kingdom1 contribution
what was the afternoon teas like and price
egoudie wrote a tip Mar 2024
Kinross6 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Worth stopping into if passing, or using more if you’re local."
Read full review
Winslowboy wrote a tip Jan 2023
Dundee, United Kingdom22 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best to book as can get busy"
Read full review
k18c wrote a tip Dec 2021
90 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Being seated near the door."
Read full review
cms1482018 wrote a tip Nov 2018
Dunfermline, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the rump of lamb. Vegetables cooked al dente - perfect"
Read full review
Skye2903 wrote a tip Aug 2018
Glasgow, United Kingdom45 contributions51 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sunday evening quiz was fun"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kinross area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
the muirs hotel kinross
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandPerth and KinrossKinross
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE MUIRS INN - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos (Kinross)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Muirs Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Muirs Inn?
Nearby attractions include Lochleven Castle (0.6 miles), Loch Leven Heritage Trail (0.6 miles), and Kinross Trout Fishery & Activity Centre (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Muirs Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Muirs Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Muirs Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Muirs Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Restaurant at the Kirklands, The Court House, and Le Jardin Cafe.
Is The Muirs Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Kinross.
Are there any historical sites close to The Muirs Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Orwell Parish Church (1.1 miles), Milnathort Town Hall (1.1 miles), and Scotlandwell Wash House and Well (4.3 miles).
All Kinross HotelsKinross Hotel DealsHotels near The Muirs Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire