We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bay Carlton Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bay Carlton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

578 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 578: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

went with shearings, good driver pleasant trip hotel wonderful rooms nice and warm staff great trips great food to die for. cold days heating on all night would go back again if only for the food all staff were helpful wonderful could not recomend this hotel enough

 Report
Helpful?
Thank celiacrowder
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Weekend stay for four of us at the Carlton. Can honestly say we were very impressed, clean rooms and really good meals served to your table very quickly and efficiently. The young Polish waitress soon got to know my liking for kippers at breakfast and they were there in a flash, good bar, decent entertainment and to top it all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raymond J
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Carlton hotel Friday to Monday, good location opposite pier and beach, hotel a bit dated and creaky, however food good , rooms as I said a bit dated, but clean,the weekend deal we had; family Get together 10 total, was very good value, breakfast and evening meal and entertainment all 3 nights.The strange thing was the entertainment...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philip M
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Philip M. for your most glowing review, great to see you had an enjoyable time with us at the Carlton, we all look forward to your speedy return, Kind regards, Paul Betts GM.

Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

have just returned from 3 night stay at this hotel our room was lovely and warm we had a sea view we pre booked a room with a view and what a lovely view it was only down side to this room was the very very creaky floor boards felt so sorry for the guests under us all the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sallyarnold54
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sallyarnold54 your glowing review, so great to see someone posting a positive comment in regard of our wonderful buffet, this shows that the main majority of our guests, love the concept! I look forward to your speedy return to the Carlton, kind regards, Paul Betts, GM.

Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a nice four night break, tinsel and turkey.. Large bedroom102 on first floor,but carpet was very dirty and the french windows are draughty as they are very old and do not shut properly,they do need to be sorted out urgently . Food was very good and entertainment was ok nice polite staff. Went on trips with Stewart as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank madjohndavies
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you madjohndavies for your review, the carpet is stained but not dirty, sorry if you had that impression, as for the windows we are in the process of updating but being in a conservation area takes longer through the planning stages to get permission, will pass on your praise to our staff and Stuart who seems to have a...

Medway kent
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having used this hotel for 10 years our experience with the newly implemented buffet breakfast was a shambles. This hotel does not have the room to do buffet breakfast so it's a bad decision by Bay Hotels. Breakfast now self service, buffet tables lay out totally wrong it's a simple fix, staff refused in numbers. Not clear other than a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jancmedwaykent
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Jancmedwaykent for your review, sorry to see your enjoyment at the Carlton was impaired, since commencing with Self Service Breakfast we have had only positive feedback and lots of praise! all of our sister hotels have now introduce buffet service and has been a great success, hopefully you will see many new wonderful chances when you visit us...

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just spent a three night break at the Carlton on a Shearings holiday.We were given our room keys on the coach and were then able to proceed directly to our room Where our luggage was brought to us.We had a nice quiet room on the first floor which unfortunately was rather cold even with the heating turned on but I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Goron58
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Goron58 for your glowing review, great to see you had a most enjoyable time with us at the Carlton, the weather has certainly turn cold the last few days! kind regards, Paul Betts, GM.

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me first start with the good thing's, Nice hotel clean fairly warm and we had a nice room at the side of the building with a Seaview, the night entertainment was first class with something for everyone. But there it ends the breakfast buffet was a total disaster the food was placed in a small corner of the dining...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davidcockle
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you David Cockle for your review, I have noted your concerns and apologise for any discomfort you have experience, kind regards, Paul Betts, GM.

co durham
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

weve just come back from a short stay Monday to Friday with Shearings, we were very impressed, we had a lovely room overlooking the pier and the sea. The food was lovely with plenty of choice, well done the chef. The dining room staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help you, Denitsa was a little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pgill55
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you pgill55 for your truly glowing review, I am highly delighted to see you enjoyed your stay at the Carlton, we always endeavour to treat all our guests to insure you have the most wonderful time here in Great Yarmouth, I will certainly pass on your praise to Denista, who will be thrilled to know! I look forward to...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I travelled from Durham to Gt Yarmouth on a self drive 3 night stay. We paid extra for a seaview, glad we did, the room was comfortable, clean and functional with a good view of the sea front and its amenities. The hotel was opposite the Sea Life centre and short walks to other attractions and a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ronniet1947
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you ronniet1947 for your glowing review, great to see you had an enjoyable time at the Carlton and Great Yarmouth, hope to see you again soon! kind regards, Paul Betts, GM.

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
430 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of Great Yarmouth’s premier hotels, the Carlton is centrally located at the heart of Great Yarmouth’s recently modernised promenade. This elegant 97 bedroom Victorian hotel can accommodate most holiday requirements and all rooms are en suite, with hot beverage making facilities and colour Television. There is the opportunity to upgrade to sea view and Superior rooms in order to make the most of your stay at this hotel, and a comfortable and quiet lounge bar to relax in. For those looking for something livelier, there is a separate entertainment suite and dance floor with a programme operating most nights of the week. Like many of our hotels, the Carlton enjoys an enviable resort location and it is just a short stroll along the seafront to reach the town centre which offers a bustling market and plenty of shops to browse. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Carlton Hotel

Address: Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £75 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bay Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Great Yarmouth
Carlton Great Yarmouth
Bay Carlton Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Carlton Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Poole, United Kingdom
Lichfield, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Carlton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles celiacrowder, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“First floor sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles A1536ODphilipm, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“third floor rooms are better as you have no one above you”
 of 5 bubbles sallyarnold54, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 102 ok in summer but cool in winter due to old french windows.”
 of 5 bubbles madjohndavies, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea view superior rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Jancmedwaykent, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay