We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Nelson Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Nelson Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Nelson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 252: English reviews
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

Book this hotel for a 1 night stay for a short break to Great Yarmouth. It was down hill from check in!!! Wasn't expecting much but I was definately expecting more than this. The room was grotty with peeling wall paper made the mistake of moving the single bed in the room as my son didn't like that he could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ogrub77
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Reviewed 25 August 2015

Poor quality food only one cup of coffee served with the evening meals which in turn were miniscule with mediocre choice and portions Room (Cupboard size) dirty with broken window not visited by service staff all week. Room made more uncomfortable by very large radiator in hallway permanently left on at full heat and unable to open window because of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John K
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

The location/reception bar staff are spot on, just what you expect an want from an English sea side hotel. But, the room was poxy, we pai or a sea view at £80 a night and it was the smallest box room with windows that did not open and it was red hot, they did give us a fan ironically called...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank doctersmooth
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015

On a positive note the staff were very helpful & friendly & the beds clean & comfortable. On a less positive note: the shower head in our room was filthy & had hair hanging from it together with hairs in the bath! The only window in the room would only stay up about 2 inches & as well as there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 135lynn
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Me and my husband took the 2 children here for the night when we arrived the nice gentlemen checked us in and told us the easiest way to our room was via the lift. We arrived in the room it was lovely the view way lovely. We bathed the kids and I tried to have a shower but the water...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 123em
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

west sussex
Reviewed 15 August 2015

NELSON HOTEL Opposite the Sealife Centre on the seafront. Built in 1844. Grade 2 Listed building. Three Star Rating. Disabled Access and a Lift if needed. Free WIFI near Reception. A Bar and a Library. Entertainment in the evenings but it was lovely weather so we went for a walk along the seafront instead. FOOD We loved the seaside themed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HappymouseWestSussex
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2015

The Hotel overall was very pleasant, as were the staff. The cooked breakfast was very nice indeed. Plenty of Tea, Milks etc in the room. Unfortunately we found the bed too firm for us and did not sleep too well. For reasons quite bizarre there was at least one large Radiator on, piping hot! and we found the hotel stiffling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila A
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

Is a nice place to stay while you are visiting Grate Yourmouth...is very close to the beach, you can see it actually from your window. Is very nice to wake up in the morning hearing the birds singing and feeling the smell of the see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria Cristina P
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Kempston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2015

The free maid service was good there was a kettle and sugar tea bags (ect) stayed in 304 good B and B really frealindly assistant manager (Chris ) bar and reception 24 7 doors get locked at 11 but porters apen them after 11

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cameron M
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

Lovely hotel, absolutely spotless, which is key to me. Staff very helpful. Ideal central location. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone. Fair enough may be in need of a refurb, but cleanliness and staff are second to none. Definatly a hotel we'll return too 👍

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scoops1975
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
385 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#19 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Carlton Hotel
Bay Carlton Hotel
#9 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
168 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Nelson Hotel is a Grade II listed property that is situated on Marine Parade directly opposite the Sea Life Centre and Wellington Pier. The Nelson is an AA 3 Star Hotel that affords excellent views of the sea front and the promenade.Parking is available free of charge in front of the Hotel, although the car park does not belong to the Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Nelson Hotel

Address: 1 Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £47 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nelson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nelson Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Nelson Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
3 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Nelson Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Junior suites very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles Patmcky, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“206 sea view”
 of 5 bubbles misswoo55, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We thought both rooms were excellent”
 of 5 bubbles Angelic239, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a sea view room - it's well worth having.”
 of 5 bubbles andyn894, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Give this hotel miss”
 of 5 bubbles JHNB1, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5