We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Waverley Hotel

32-37 Princes Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2DG England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (176)
360
Panoramas (27)
Room & Suite (157)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#13 of 23 hotels in Great Yarmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A beautiful two floor fully renovated hotel with all 47 en-suite rooms having LCD T.V., tea-coffee making facility, Intercom Facility and lift access to all the rooms. We are one minute away from the sea front including Britannia Pier & the main town center and the opposite the famous Pub on the Prom. Full English Breakfast consisting of fresh local produce are served to our elite customers in our most lively 100 seater restaurant on the lobby level.Fully stocked bar and lounge on the lobby level for people to relax and enjoy their holidays.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Street parking
Free internet
Public wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
648Reviews44Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 224
  • 217
  • 115
  • 41
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Susan M wrote a review 12 Apr
1 contribution
Enjoyed our stay staff were lovely only downside was the shower in our room, very small and hard to control temperature. Would have liked more choice at breakfast, more cereals and perhaps yoghurt and fruit. Need more sockets near the bed for phone charging
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
SMAVisit wrote a review 2 Apr
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom35 contributions23 helpful votes
Rooms were okay for the price we paid. We moved the beds together as we accidently booked a twin instead of a double. The carpet was dirty where the beds had been. Would not expect the beds to be moved after every guest but there was a reindeer earring and bits of tinsel - Christmas was over 4 months ago! The bar was not open at all during our stay and there was no sign of breakfast so not sure if this is something reserved for coach trips? It didn't really bother us as we wanted to explore but worth noting if you are wanting to eat on site. Room was warm enough and plenty of hot water. Bathroom could do with a bit of TLC. The outside area was okay but the street where the hotel is was FULL of rubbish and run down premises - would not feel safe walking back to this hotel on my own or with female friends. Parking permit is provided and completed online by the hotel for on-street parking. This is on a first come first served basis and we managed to park right outside the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Brian-Snellgrove wrote a review Mar 2024
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom1983 contributions583 helpful votes
This is an Indian owned and run recently refurbished Hotel very near the sea front yet quiet. The rooms are clean and adequate. We had to move allocated rooms because the fan from the kitchen was very noisy and caused resonance in the room. I am writing as part of a group so the experiences of individual travelers may vary but there is nothing wrong with the location and you are on the seafront within two minutes of leaving the hotel. The management is attentive and will deal with things positively
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: change your room if it is unsuitable. They will do so if they can.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
AnitaM1960 wrote a review Mar 2024
Huddersfield, United Kingdom9 contributions12 helpful votes
We should have stayed in this hotel as part of a National Holidays tour. We were moved at the last minute to a hotel near by. I contacted National to check that we had the same terms and conditions ie entertainment and special bar prices. This was confirmed as so. However, when I went over to the hotel for the entertainment we were told we had to pay full price for drinks despite being assured originally by the bar man as we were part of the coach party and that national offer included us. When we tried to buy drinks we had no coloured bracelet so were denied the offer. The manager was dismissive to the point of being rude. Hence we did not go into the bar or have the entrainment that was part of our booked holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aman Khanna, General Manager at The Waverley Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear AnitaM1960, Thank you for taking out time to write about the discussion we had. Actually The Waverley Hotel and the hotel across where you were staying are two different hotels and different managements. Even though you travelled on the same coach, the deal for each hotel is different with the holiday company. The reason for giving the coloured band is so that only guests who are booked with us under this deal avail the promotional bar. I do not know why the company person you spoke with said that you could come and avail the same deal at ours because you were not staying at The Waverley Hotel. Even this review should not be written by a guest who has not stayed here. My Bar person said you could use the promotional bar because you said you were from the coach, so he understood you were a part of the coach staying at The Waverley Hotel, and that's the reason he asked you to show the coloured band, since you didn't have one, he guided you to me where I explained you exactly what I have written above. I was very polite in explaining the deal and that the other hotel is a completely different hotel and it cannot be the same deal. You were most welcome to enjoy the entertainment at ours, but the bar deal was purely for the residents at The Waverley Hotel. However, I would still like to apologize for the inconvenience caused and the confusion you had because of the comments made by the Holiday company staff who gave you incorrect information. Many Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dotty L wrote a review Dec 2023
Yeovil, United Kingdom1 contribution
+1
My stay was in room 212 and, had I not read that the hotel had been refurbished I wouldn’t have known! Everywhere is painted in the same shade of 1980’s dark brown. The lift holds 3 people on the ground floor but only 2 people by the time it reaches the second floor! There are dark brown tables covered in tablecloths and ill fitting cheap covers on chairs that didn’t need covering in the bar, all that was missing for that true 1980’s look was melted candles in wine bottles! The 80’s style Christmas decorations were a treat. So the good points: First and foremost was the fab bunch of ladies on our dining table (along with a few others we spoke to over the weekend too you know who you are) to all you ladies…‘thank you for the laughs and the banter, it was a pleasure to meet you all’. Next up is Winter, the best and most helpful member of dining room staff we met. The manager was also pleasant and corrected my complaint (we’ll come to that in the bad points) the same day, thank you for that. Bad points: I had a cracked plug socket which had an electric heater plugged in and turned on in it! Now we all know a cracked plug socket is a fire / death trap and to his credit the manager had it changed straightaway but, the worrying thing is, I wouldn’t have seen it if I hadn’t removed the heater plug to charge my phone. (I later found another socket hidden behind the bedside chest of drawers.) The heating is on the blink, none of the radiators worked in any of the rooms in room 212 side of the hotel, although the hall radiator did (figure that one out!) then on 202 side of the hotel the rooms were like furnaces and people were unable to turn the radiators down and despite asking for someone to look at them, nothing improved. The hotel revamp has been done on the cheap - Simple things like installing the cover to hide the rusty screws on the toilet roll holder, changing damaged shower heads, replacing old rusty taps and making sure televisions, telephones and pictures are straight instantly make the place look better as does good hygiene, which at first glance seemed to be OK until you look behind the toilet and under the tap. What were those random electric cables outside the bathroom window for? Let’s not talk about the strange gunk on the table lamp! The mattresses are very cheap sprung mattresses which pinged everytime you moved! My room was so small that there was no space for a chair but I found sitting on the bedside drawers was more comfortable than sitting on the bed. The remote control and telephone and the windows could also do with a good clean. My friend has a disability and requested a room suitable for a disabled person, she was given one on the second floor and had to navigate a number of steps to reach it! Room security is a door chain! The corridors were narrow to extremely narrow in places and the one of the toilets in the ground floor ladies loos had the same skid mark in it 3 days running! The emergency escape plan is written in 8pt font making it very difficult to read! At the risk of sounding ungrateful, I didn’t appreciate the yellow toilet gift housekeeping left for me. The lady with the short ‘blonde’ hair working in the dining room was defensive and a little bit angry after being asked if the food was home cooked or frozen and, as we’re talking about the food…. The menu was a choice of 2 courses the first night (top tip go for the sausage and mash - the mash might look like school mash but it tastes better than it looks and the sausage’s and gravy were delicious) followed by rice pudding and ice cream, the rice pudding is NOT made from pudding rice! The second night was Christmas dinner followed by Black Forest gateaux or ice cream!! After the sausages we all had high expectations for the Christmas dinner, sadly we were disappointed, the garlic potatoes and frozen Brussels sprouts were overcooked and the turkey was very dry, the gravy was good though…. Then came dessert, they bought me Black Forest gateaux, I had ordered ice cream (did I mention you have to choose your evening meal at breakfast? Well, you do!) so they went away and bought me my ice cream which it turns out is pre-scooped into serving bowls en masse and then placed uncovered back into the freezer ready to be served sometime in the future! The 1980’s stainless style steel bowls were another blast from the past! After such a disaster of a Christmas dinner most of our table boycotted the next evening meal, much to the disgust of blondie! Strangely after 2 nights of 2 main meal choices and having to line up like school kids to be served, the 3rd night had 4 (FOUR!!!) main meal choices which was brought to you served up on posh square plates (strangely they didn’t use the good plates for the Christmas dinner) unless….you were having the lasagne, which you had to queue up to have served on the old scratched school style plates! Breakfast was OK, poached and scrambled egg on request, the jury was out whether the scrambled egg was made from real or powdered eggs. The bacon was tough. There’s melon, served up in slices rather than chunks, no other fruit was available. You’re not trusted to use the toaster yourself, someone does it for you! The bar opened at different times and carried a limited choice if your favourite tipple ran out tough, there was no spare stock to replace it, the coke was poured flat, from a bottle. To surmise, the hotel has potential and, when it was AA rated way back in 2019, it probably looked better but to do it justice now it needs some money spent on modern furniture, better mattresses, the heating and a replacement lift that doesn’t have the potential of trapping your clothes / fingers / luggage if you inadvertently lean anything on it as it moves! The damp also needs to be addressed. I’m leaving this review because the manager came onto the bus to ask us to leave a review so here’s mine, I hope he reads it and considers making the changes mentioned. It was nice that he waved us off. I’ve added a few holiday snaps for your enjoyment!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sue L wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel was clean and staff welcoming. Our twin room was big but after 2 nights I was on first name terms with EVERY SPRING in the beds. The breakfast was OK but the evening meal was like a trip back to 1970s. It was a taster session for Iceland frozen foods. The rice pudding was basmati rice in warm milk with sugar. The Christmas Dinner was brown; meat, Yorkshire (frozen), stuffing ball (frozen) new potato's, described as roasted but they were like chocolate eggs and sprouts with bacon, they were mush that had spent so much time in the warmer they were discoloured so they were brown too and gravy. No Christmas pudding, we got black forest gateaux or ice cream
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Amanda C wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
+1
Room ( 213) was cold no heating with a funny smell, shower never been cleaned, after sleeping in the room for 2 nights and waking up with a cough, realizing that all my cloths were damp and not just cold I noticed that the wall was wet where the bed was after pulling the bed away from the wall for a closer look the bed sheets and mattress were also wet, when asking for a new room this came as no shock to the staff, I was moved to a new room (202) that was so hot I could barely breath but was the better of two evils. When taking a shower, the next morning I was scolded as the water was so hot. Room 212 had black mould around the windows, no heating (was provided with an electric heater) The shower had never been cleaned and only one hole in the shower head worked. Food was appalling jacket potato that looked like it was cook 6 months ago. The corridors in the hotel were narrower than some of the guests, smelt of damp everywhere the stairs were very steep, narrow, and only one lift which held 2 people. I heard one lady returned to her room only to find that the manager had give it to another male guest. I am sure this hotel is in breached of several health and safety regulations. The manager had the audacity to come on the coach and ask guest to leave a review on trip advisor, well here it is, not sure about trip advisor may environmental health (HSC)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Excursion53232151271 wrote a review Nov 2023
Dalton-on-Tees, United Kingdom2 contributions
Caledonian 4 day trip to include Thursford xmas show (which was brilliant) On arrival at the hotel, our room was a suite, very large bathroom over bath shower all clean. Bedroom large comfortably bed Radiator not working but there was a portable heater. Nice English breakfast, hot and plenty of orange juice, tea ,coffee. Young lad preparing toast, Great idea no long queues. Evening meal 3 course From 3 choice of main Restaurant team all very nice and helpful. We did not use the bar or see the entertainment But we had a very enjoyable stay Nice bunch of people on our coach .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Shirley D wrote a review Nov 2023
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
Everything about the hotel was good. The meals were really good the staff that served us were fantastic the rooms were very clean. A very nice atmosphere and entertainment was really good made you want to join in The manager was very pleasant when we went home he came on the trip bus and thanked us for coming.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Treat the staff with respect they are due and you will be treat very well
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
M A wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient, our room was small, a little dated but the staff made up for that, I would stay again, a bargain break is worth every penny I don't know how they can do it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Great Yarmouth area.
PRICE RANGE
£50 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
waverley hotel great yarmouth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkGreat Yarmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
47
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WAVERLEY HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Great Yarmouth)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Waverley Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Waverley Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Great Yarmouth Escape Rooms (0.1 miles), Joyland (0.10 miles), and Great Yarmouth Giant Wheel (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Waverley Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Waverley Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a sofa.
What food & drink options are available at The Waverley Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Waverley Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Waverley Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Box Tree Bistro, Charlie's Tapas Restaurant, and Savoy Tandoori.
Is The Waverley Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Great Yarmouth.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Waverley Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to The Waverley Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Gariannonum Roman Fort (3.0 miles), Wellington Mews Arch (0.6 miles), and Yarmouth Mill (0.7 miles).
Is The Waverley Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.