We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Hamilton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Hamilton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 188: English reviews
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited The Hamilton Hotel on a Groupon voucher. Overall we would say it is very good value for money. We were given room 1A on the ground floor. Very pleased with the room. Excellent size, very comfortable king size bed, and a large flat screen TV. A very good supply of tea bags, milk etc for making our tea/coffee.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philip S
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

More like a old people home, from the smell to the decoration. not good for couples or any one younger than 70 ....very small and dirty rooms .breakfast good and hot .no hand soap in rooms ,maids did not clean the rooms ,so was dirty the whole time we were there .blood strain sheets ,and No toilet rolls given til... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen W
DavidAndLoraine, Owner at The Hamilton, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your review - it's rather sad that you did not feel able to speak to us during your stay - but, we do understand its easier to leave and then complain! We will certainly speak to our housekeeper on the matters you raise, but as we do not know your room, its hard to be... More 

Travellers are raving about these Great Yarmouth hotels

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

The room was smaller than expected, the bathroom was the size of a cupboard that smelled of urine due to the carpet in the bathroom and some previous guesses missed the bowl. Bed wasn't made when we left for the day and came back bin only emptied once during the 3 night stay. Didn't use the bar area but looked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sam W
DavidAndLoraine, Owner at The Hamilton, responded to this review

Hi Many thanks for your recent review. Had you discussed any problems with your room with us during your stay, we are sure we could have offered an alternative room. Likewise, any problems with housekeeping would have been addressed. Our bar is a great place to meet either ourselves or other guests even if just for a social chat. Good... More 

Atherstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

After reading a few reviews I was a little apprehensive after booking, but was pleasantly surprised. On arrival was greeted by Tony who pointed out where various things were about the hotel and what times breakfast was served. On entering our room I made a point of checking out all of the bad points in the reviews but think some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephan B
suffolk
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night, was able to check in early and leave car here no problem, room and shower room clean if a bit small, but only here to sleep! Comfy bed, good breakfast, central location, only downside had a room at side, plenty of tea and coffee

Helpful?
Thank kevin43
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Opposite the Sea ..stayed 2 nights in a Cupboard...we had to stand on the bed to open the loo sliding door....or the wardrobe There were visitors ( new recruits ) for Bernard Matthews one morning ...about 30 people ..peering through the window at us Eating breakfast!! The chairs were all accommodating in a room for these visitors...so we were seated... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank michellecoston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was very small no room to move around. The shower room was so small you could not move inside it . the wallpaper was peeling off and had mould behind toilet, the sink was coming away from the wall, the shower was not very clean. In the bedroom the electric socket was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Our room was very nice and clean. We had a lovely breakfast anything you wanted. Friendly staff. Only about a mile from town center and free parking. If you got a front room would see the sea we was at the back and could see the gardens. We would stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
DavidAndLoraine, Owner at The Hamilton, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for you kind words - great to hear you had a good stay with us. We pride ourselves on our hospitality and making sure all our guest are well looked after. Equally, we source all our breakfast items locally so its good to hear your kind comments on breakfast. Please do come and see us again,... More 

Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2016

when myself and my wife arrived on 22/8/2016 at the Hamilton we were greeted by one of the owners she was very friendly ,but after that it went down hill. I was given the key to room 5,when it should have been room 20 which was the executive suite which I had booked in advance they moved us with out... More 

Helpful?
Thank pleuty
DavidAndLoraine, Owner at The Hamilton, responded to this review

Hi Many thanks for review of your recent stay with us. Lots of confusion here. Room 20 is a Superior room, not an Executive Suite. We would never deliberately downgrade any guest although if possible we often upgrade guests! No comment was made to us during the stay regarding lack of housekeeping or any problems with the room. We take... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Do not book here if you expecting a 4* this is about. 2* at best , the rooms are VERY small , dated and the shower/toilet are about big enough for a child to fit in and the cleanliness of the shower was disgusting , please see pictures. The waiters at breakfast were polite and helpful, but felt there was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mh0060159

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#17 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belvedere Guest House
Belvedere Guest House
#87 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gable End Hotel
Gable End Hotel
#36 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Lodge
Marine Lodge
#38 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kensington
The Kensington
#37 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hamilton is open all year round and is ideally positioned on North Drive overlooking the Venetian Waterways and the beach.The Hamilton is a family run business offering a warm welcome, friendly atmosphere high quality accommodation and excellent food.At The Hamilton we offer something for everyone from holiday makers seeking that special time away to corporate clients seeking a warm friendly environment in which to relax and unwind after a long days work. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hamilton

Address: 23-24 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £48 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hamilton 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hamilton Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hamilton staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bradford, United Kingdom
London
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Hamilton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think you will get one here”
 of 5 bubbles samw488, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“quite noisey from road outside rooms very small.”
 of 5 bubbles 462lynnem, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would not go back”
 of 5 bubbles pleuty, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 14 perfect for price we paid. No noise back of hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles dalexander1988, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Not room 24 overlooks adjacent old peoples home”
 of 5 bubbles 488karenm, 31 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay