We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gable End Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Gable End Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Gable End Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 220: English reviews
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015

The hotel was lovely, the staff were lovely - nothing was any trouble and the breakfast was AMAZING ... And it was all at a good price too! We booked in to the small sea view room and this is exactly what we got. We were able to check in early too - we arrived at about 13:30 (after telling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh C
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2015

You get what you pay for, I stayed here with my partner for 2 nights in July. We are both in our forties and are well travelled both in the UK and abroad. The hotel is situated on the sea front with parking, We were met with a warm welcome and given a full brief. We had booked a small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bowler196969
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for not only a positive review but more importantly a diplomatic and constructive review. It seems far to common these days that people whilst writing a nice review still feel 'the need' to add in a quibble or two yet even though they don't class them bad enough to mention at the time, they seem to think they...

heraklion
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

I booked a night at the above , 2 days be for my arrival I had to cancel the room . When I contact the hotel I was told that I would be charged the full amount !!! Not happy £85 down the drain ! Decently will never consider a visit there again !!! I do not think I should...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cjcrete
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review

You booked a Single room via Booking.com then rang the hotel to upgrade to a Superior at £85 per night. As per the Payment Policies on Booking.com website, it states the first is charged and non refundable. You cancelled evening before arrival therefore forfeiting you deposit. It is the guests responsibility to make sure you understand and accept all policies...

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

We booked a 1 night away in this hotel we paid for a double with sea views what we got was a room that should have been a single room with a small 4 ft bed in it a small window looking out towards the sea and you could only see the sea if you were on the bed. It...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank glynne a
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review

The title of your review somewhat intrigues me. You have called us a Strange Hotel. Why?? The room you booked online was a double with sea view as you state, but we actually advertise it as a Small Sea View Double to which You booked. One would suggest that the word 'Small' would give an indication of there chosen room,...

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2015

i booked this hotel through late rooms for 4 adults and was told we were in a adjoining room with a double bed in one room and two single beds in the other room. We were greeted with are you sure you want this room because its a family room! as it was 7 o clock at night and after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jamnut2015
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to draw your attention to the vast amount of 5 out of 5 reviews we have received for Service and Comfort within our hotel. You were a group of 4 adults who managed to book themselves into a Family Room sleeping 2 adults and 2 children. It clearly states that a maximum of 2 adults are...

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Very good clean hotel. Had a small double room with dual aspect one window with sea view. Although small the room was well appointed with all the required things expected in a hotel room. Breakfast included in room rate was excellent from full English to cereals, fruit, fruit juices and tea or coffee.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank harold s
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for a lovely review :-)

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

Me and my partner visited The Gable End Hotel for 2 nights after searching for a hotel that was both close to Yarmouth sea front as well as good value for money. I'm very happy with our choice. We arrived at around 1PM and was very relieved to find a parking space within the hotels small car park. The car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie R
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you r kind review and take on board your constructive feedback.

cambridge
Reviewed 16 June 2015

Stayed at the Gable End for 2 nights with my husband and my brother who has learning difficulties and has recently had a stroke. I was a little apprehensive as the price was so reasonable I thought it would be to good to be true. The rooms were spotlessly clean, and very homely. We sadly didn't have time to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missgoodwin2121
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased you think we are excellent value for money.... we would tend to agree with you ;-)

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2015

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights and found the staff polite and helpful at all times. Our room was functional clean and tidy. The hotel was easy to find and a good walk from the town centre, which suited us as it was quiet in the evenings. The meals were lovely and not over priced. Breakfast was excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diane H
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for a lovely review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. If you come back to Gable End again, may I suggest you try our menu, we have delicious home cooked fresh food at very reasonable prices.

biggleswade
Reviewed 9 June 2015

I stayed last Saturday night in single room nr 1. Room was on ground floor adjacent to dining room, and I woke around 7am to the wafting smell of bacon. I think the kichen must back on to my room. Very pleasant if you like that sort of thing. Room was comfortable, and had very nice en-suite. Bed was fine....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hondacbr918
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your review... always a privalege to welcome a fellow biker! We will look into the things mentioned and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
172 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#41 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#1 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
882 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taunton House
Taunton House
#6 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kensington
The Kensington
#40 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The recently refurbished Gable End is situated in the quieter end of Great Yarmouth's Golden Mile. With a short walk onto the main promenade, the hotel is still close to all major attractions such as the Britannia Pier, Town Centre, and Great Yarmouth Race Course. The hotel offers free Car Parking and Wi-Fi in all of its clean and modern bedrooms. The hotel offers a Bar which is open every evening and an open plan sitting room complete with Sky TV. A selection of homecooked meals are available daily. The hotel is strictly Non-Smoking throughout and Pets are not allowed. Gable End does not accept Stag/ Hen or Same Sex groups. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gable End Hotel

Address: 30 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £47 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gable End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Gable End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gable End Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gable End Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Gable End Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view rooms are worth paying extra for”
Thelma-78-x, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you cannot manage stairs book a different hotel which has a lift.”
sue21111961, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Discuss regarding accessibility, eg steep stairs. car parking limited.”
NeteLiz, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“They all looked ok to us”
LeslieS174, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet clean and a good welcome assured.”
Teeheeitismee, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Booking.com
Agoda.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates