We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,546 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,494: English reviews
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This was booked through the Hilton website. Hotel was beautiful the moment we stepped in! Very modern inside. We had an afternoon tea booked on arrival which was tasty. The strawberry daiquiri was to die for! After we got into our room we went to the spa. We choose our treatment when we got there. The spa and pool was... More 

Helpful?
Thank xLozx2014
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights as we were in town for Xmas shopping this is the first time we've stayed here hotel is great room was very spacious with a lovely view over the river the executive lounge was great well stocked afternoon tea and cones were a nice treat then complimentary beer and wine from 6-8 just made it even... More 

Helpful?
Thank doddsy69
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I have just enjoyed a weekend break at the Hilton Hotel in Newcastle and were highly impressed by the quality of the Hotel, both the public areas and our room, the location and most importantly the very friendly and helpful staff. As Hilton Honours member's we selected our own room (301) and checked in on-line. The room,... More 

Helpful?
Thank John L
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Apart from the shower needing a bit more pressure, the fact we weren't given a robe and slipper (as advertised but not a big deal) and being conned out of £12 for parking (other people were saying you could just leave and not pay) the stay was excellent! Would definately recommend and stay again!

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank tstep2015
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear tstep2015 , I hope you are well , I do apologise about the issues you came across during your stay but it is great to hear you would come back and recommend us I very much look forward to seeing you again and don't forget you get the best rates at Hilton.com Kind Regards Martin Robinson General Manager More 

NE England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We stayed for one night and had a room with a very fine view of Newcastle and the Tyne - it was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was good, with an extensive choice, and the staff were helpful and friendly throughout. This hotel would definitely be our top choice for any future visit to Newcastle.

Helpful?
Thank VoyageurAnglais
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear VoyageurAnglais Thank you for staying with us recently and for posting a review, I was delighted that you choose to stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that you would return in the future. May I suggest when planning your next trip, to look at... More 

london
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

To tell the truth, i havent stayed here.... for the very good reason that i have no desire to stay somewhere, where the staff attitude from the very top operations manager down has been so poor. last year I visited their ocean rooms spa which is a franchise in their cellar. see my reviews...it was so dirty and unpleasant that... More 

Helpful?
Thank neesi
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear neesi Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent communications with the team here at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I do understand your frustration that you could not get a refund from Ocean Rooms Spa and returned to use their facilities with your wife. We do have rigorous procedures in place to govern the health... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is nice and clean but it was the service and the helpful staff that makes this place a special one. We were in Newcastle to bring my husband's Mum's ashes home. So, the friendliness of the people working here made our trip a comforting experience. We initially booked a double room, but upon check in, we asked if we... More 

Helpful?
Thank 128CarpeDiem
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear 128CarpeDiem Thank you for staying with us recently and for posting a review, I was delighted that you choose to stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, during what I know must have been a sad time for you. I was pleased that Valeria was able... More 

East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

good location for a city break. Clean,friendly hotel spacious executive room. Excellent executive club lounge with amazing view over Tyne bridge. Will return to city and will recommend to others where possible.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 211sonial
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear 211sonial Thank you for staying with us recently and for posting a review, I was delighted that you choose to stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, especially our wonderful executive lounge and that you hope to return soon. May I suggest when planning your next... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was immaculate and very spacious couldn't find a fault! Distance suitable for a night out , whetherspoon on quayside great for drinks and can see hotel from there. Staff very welcoming and upon arrival you can see how classy it is by just entering reception

Helpful?
Thank Dan A
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Dan A Thank you for staying with us recently and for posting a review, I was delighted that you choose to stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back again in the not too... More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A modern,spacious and welcoming Hotel. On the Gateshead side of the Tyne overlooking no less than five of the seven "Newcastle" bridges. Extremely spacious and comfortable rooms. A little extra, but a river view room is a must, particularly looking across Newcastle City centre at night. Great breakfast menu to set you up for the day. I would highly recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony L
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Tony L Thank you for staying with us recently and for posting a review, I was delighted that you choose to stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back again in the not too... More 

683 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (647)
Viewed
View from Room (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (158)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (95)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (234)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,967 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Windows on the Tyne Restaurant
Windows on the Tyne Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British, Grill, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Address: Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Price Range: £77 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newcastle Gateshead 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hilton Newcastle Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Hotel Gateshead
Hilton International Gateshead
Hilton Gateshead
Gateshead Hilton
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#7 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Newcastle Gateshead staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Newcastle Gateshead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 301 is at the front of the hotel, is away from the elevator's and was quiet with a nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles 610JohnL, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Dont even think about going in the ocean rooms spa”
 of 5 bubbles neesi, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Floor 4 was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 477dana, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“upper floor with waterside view room”
 of 5 bubbles JAMRook, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the river Tyne”
 of 5 bubbles MrPaul1976, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay