We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel

Derwenthaugh Road | Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BL, England
Offers & Announcements
Rooms from £35*
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Whickham Hermitage Community Garden
    1.2 mi
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed yesterday
Excellent stay
Very pleasant staff especially in the pub next door very... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

543 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 540: English reviews
england uk
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very pleasant staff especially in the pub next door very teenager friendly!!rooms very clean fully equipped and the breakfast was cooked fresh with lots of choice very tasty can't fault the hotel at all

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnnyhalf4
Pittenweem
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staff very helpful and pleasant Building clean, but could do with a refit Location superb for Metro Centre Continental breakfastlittle choice, nocold meat or cheese, poor value for money Dinner wasbetter value and very tasty, service in retaurantpoor with a long waiting time

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flyingdutchman953
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We enjoyed a family weekend to the Metro Premier Inn. The staff were lively and helpful. Our rooms were warm, comfortable, clean and cozy. We would highly recommend this hotel and eating establishment next door. We will be back soon.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dachaidh23
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

After two hours listening to the people above jumping around and making a noise constantly, had to have the tv on loud to cover it, gave up and ask to move rooms .Changed to a ground floor disabled room as only one available. With no lift it was a chore. Nights sleep not brilliant and room was not as good...

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robandtrish4
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Rob and Trish Thanks for taking the time to share your review. It's a shame to read of the noise disturbance you experienced in the first room and that the second room was not up to our usual standard. I'm also sorry to see that due to this you cut your stay short. Rest assured I've passed your comments...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Reception staff exceptionally helpful but let down by the shabby circulation areas, passageways, stairway and room. Very tired and in desperate need of a face lift, the room and hotel that is, not me.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimo825
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jim, Thank you for taking the time to review our Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience staying with us as it was not up to the standards you were expecting. We aim to ensure every stay is perfect and so I apologise we let you down on this occasion. We...

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This particular Premier Inn is very close to the metro centre, literally two minutes drive. Staff we seen were very friendly and welcoming. There was plenty of free parking which was really good, Brewers Fayre is next door. Would recommend staying. Room was clean, overbath shower.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynnied479
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall a pleasant stay location good for metro centre. The bathroom had a sewage smell which wasn't pleasant. People smoked in there room as you could smell it when walking in the corridors. We chose to eat out there's a lovely Toby inn for breakfast all you can eat for £4.95 and they did a lovely carvery too only a...

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All good, friendly staff, good location, good parking, nice breakfast, large room, comfy bed, bit noisy with banging doors and people coming back late which woke me up but kids weren't disturbed. Great blackout curtains so helped kids lie in

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jomM9540IB
Newtown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights over new year, we stayed this time as a family with our daughters. We had a lovely big room. Very friendly and helpful staff! We have stayed here a few times now and will be returning next month

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NCStace
Uk
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you want to stay at this hotel be prepared to walk up the stairs the lift is not working, it's not expected to be working for the foreseeable future. I found that when we stayed there for three nights the staff couldn't care less about the lack of lift. On our first morning housekeeping didn't even give us clean...

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Happyexplorer2014
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review our Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience staying with us as it was not up to the standards you were expecting. We aim to ensure every stay is perfect and so I apologise we let you down on this occasion. It is...

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (141)
Viewed
Accessible Room (32)
Viewed
Family Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#18 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
651 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Gateshead
Travelodge Gateshead
#1 of 1 in Swalwell
300 reviews
3.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
3.3 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Get closer to big brands, top entertainment and fabulous food at the Premier Inn Hotel Newcastle (Metro Centre). Just minutes from the UK's largest shopping and leisure centre, you'll also have all the business and cultural attractions of Newcastle right on hand. But it's not just about the bright lights and big city. You can also discover the peace and quiet of the Derwent Valley at National Trust haven Gibside or Derwent Walk Country Park. Then, after a day of indulgence or escape, return to our spacious rooms, Taybarns restaurant and extra-comfy beds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel

Address: Derwenthaugh Road | Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Price Range: £44 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel Gateshead
Premier Inn Gateshead
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gateshead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floor room - but tread carefully!”
 of 5 bubbles ILP-JP, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ideal place for a stopover”
 of 5 bubbles johnpG6061ET, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“An east facing room should be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles johndI1060CQ, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles AkelaH, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We were opposite the door to the second floor and thought it might be noisy but it was great. Their good night guarantee is excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles mags521, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5