We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Ship Inn Fowey

3 Trafalgar Square, Fowey PL23 1AZ England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (90)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (25)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#3 of 12 B&Bs in Fowey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Fowey? Then look no further than The Ship Inn, a charming bed and breakfast that brings the best of Fowey to your doorstep.

As your “home away from home,” the bed and breakfast rooms offer a flat screen TV, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to newspaper while staying at The Ship Inn. In addition, The Ship Inn offers breakfast, which will help make your Fowey trip additionally gratifying.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Fowey, The Ship Inn is located a short distance from Fowey Parish Church (0.1 mi) and Fowey River Gallery (0.2 mi).

While you’re here, be sure to check out Pintxo Fowey, one of the Mediterranean restaurants that can be found in Fowey, which is a short distance from The Ship Hotel.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular art galleries such as Toe in the Water Gallery.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at The Ship Inn as you experience everything Fowey has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Historic Hotel
293Reviews1Q+A31Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 147
  • 64
  • 27
  • 25
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Robert W wrote a review 7 Feb
1 contribution
Awesome, traditional old boozer, excellent choice of drinks and great food, beautiful open fire and the staff are so welcoming, great value room and fab breakfast, definitely a place to visit when in Fowey. Great job team, see you soon 👏👌
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Definitely a must visit place when in Fowey
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Raych2 wrote a review Jan 2024
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom44 contributions24 helpful votes
When you open the door with your 2 whippets to be greeted with a big smile and “dogs are welcome everywhere!” we knew this was still our kind of pub. We have visited before with 1 whippet, 5-6 years ago and loved it then. Now under new ownership, it’s still a gem. We enjoyed a lunch of: Fish pie for me- we were warned of a 20min wait as it is cooked to order-it was well worth waiting for. Simply outstanding. Not just some mashed potato with a smattering of fish. Loads of fish, huge prawns, no cheap fillers here! It was absolutely gorgeous. Served with green beans, mangetout and broccoli. Chicken and mushroom pie for her- Much the same as the above. Massive amounts of tasty filling rather than a half empty pie, delicious sauce, lovely puff pastry top. Served with mash and veg. Crab Arnchini which should have been a starter but we are greedy pigs and had it as a side. Would have it as a main and request 20 balls please! Absolutely gorgeous. Phone rang many times with people booking or enquiring about rooms so it is clearly doing well-and deserves to be.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dave wrote a review Oct 2023
7 contributions3 helpful votes
Great pub ,staff friendly and welcoming on arrival . Bedroom clean and comfortable . Breakfast and evening meals were faultless, enjoyable entertainment on Saturday night. Would definitely recommend and return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Gitsham, Owner at The Ship Inn Fowey
Responded 21 Oct 2023
Thank you hopefully see you again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jana H wrote a review Sept 2023
Bath, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
only one of the few places open on a monday but looked OK so decided to try it , WOW don't expect and smiley faces or friendly service , but clearly stems from the owner who was exceptionally rude and I guess the staff learn from the head fish ... food we had was OK nothing to rave about .... would I spend my money here again NEVER ....
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Pioneer32049115332 wrote a review Sept 2023
United Kingdom3 contributions
We had a great two night stay at the historic Ship Inn, the oldest pub in Fowey. The location was right near the harbour, perfect for exploring this beautiful Cornish port and the surrounding countryside. The staff were fantastic - very helpful and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nick R wrote a review Sept 2023
Dublin, Ireland8 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice spot for a few beers good atmosphere inside. Very small bar and seats do fill up quick but had a nice few pints and very friendly staff. If there is any complaints the bathrooms could do with modernisation but it is a pub and they were at least clean.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nicky H wrote a review Aug 2023
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Avoid I’ve been eating here on and off for the last twenty years. It used to be great, lovely food, good ambience and helpful people working there. Not anymore, I know we haven’t been in since before lockdown, so it’s probably changed hands. First red flag, the menu had the name of another pub on it, not the Ship. (For info this menu was from the King of Prussia, Fowey). The kids meal pretended the sausage was from the next door butcher shop. It wasn’t I’ve been eating their sausages for years and they’re really tasty. The kids meal sausage we were served looked and tasted like some cheap mass produced rubbish. The white bate was covered in bright yellow breadcrumbs and tasted like it had been shoved in the back of a freezer for years. The salad was well past it’s best before date. Then to add insult to injury the bill was only what can be described as a complete rip off. I guess they’re not interested in reap customers, they just want to rip off tourists.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go somewhere else. But watch out they’ve bought the King of Prussia, Fowey too.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James Gitsham, Owner at The Ship Inn Fowey
Responded 18 Aug 2023
Good evening we have been here now for 6 years the cost of food has gone up your right , the sausages are from kittows butchers we buy over £1000 of meat off them a week, we also own The King of Prussia and advertise that on our menus the menu has The ship Inn on it its only pictures of the kings, The King Of Prussia but if you had been eating here for 20 years you would obviously know all about the local history, please come again in another 20 years I will save you some salad , the whitebait comes covered in bread crumbs with out it would be called blanch bait completely different dish, ignorance is a real big issue these days for our industry
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul983 wrote a review Aug 2023
Norwich, United Kingdom68 contributions14 helpful votes
We had a really great three night stay in this dog friendly pub. The food including the breakfasts were really tasty, the location is excellent just off the quay where you can get the water taxi over to Polruan and local boat trips, there is also the car ferry to Polruan about 5 minutes walk away. Fowey is not ‘blessed’ with parking but does have a well organised cheap minibus service to the three car parks up the hill. As would be expected of a 400 year old inn it is quaint rather than being soulless as a Travel Lodge which we think is far better. Staff are really friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
summerinthecity01 wrote a review Jul 2023
yorkshire281 contributions183 helpful votes
We had a lovely lunch here, dogs very welcome and the staff very accommodating even cooked 2 sausages for our dogs. My mussels were a very generous portion and the bread was lovely. The toilets were super clean and the decor was not only interesting but also informative. You can’t please everyone and I’m surprised by some of the poor reviews! Also nice touch to offer dog treats. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Food is fresh and cooked to order
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
alexward7 wrote a review Jul 2023
Belper, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
Not the first time we’ve been while in Fowey, and once again we really enjoyed it, although to be fair we have never been disappointed. This time we stopped for lunch and a pint and had no complaints whatsoever. Always good food, friendly staff and fantastic Tribute ale. Proper old fashioned pub on the inside and a nice seating area outside. Toilets need some work but don’t affect the whole experience. Whenever we’re in the area we will always return to the Ship Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fowey area.
PRICE RANGE
£79 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the ship hotel fowey
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallFowey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SHIP INN FOWEY - Updated 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison

Frequently Asked Questions about The Ship Inn Fowey
Which popular attractions are close to The Ship Inn Fowey?
Nearby attractions include Fowey Estuary (0.1 miles), Fowey Aquarium (0.1 miles), and Fowey Parish Church (0.10 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ship Inn Fowey?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Ship Inn Fowey?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Ship Inn Fowey?
Conveniently located restaurants include Quay Bakery, The Dwelling House, and Appleton's Bar & Restaurant.
Is The Ship Inn Fowey located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.09 miles away from the centre of Fowey.
Are pets allowed at The Ship Inn Fowey?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Ship Inn Fowey?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mevagissey to Fowey Ferry (7.9 miles), Bodmin Keep, Cornwall's Army Museum (9.6 miles), and Lanhydrock House and Garden (8.3 miles).