We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Great Fosters

PricelineUS$145*
View Deal
#1 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$198*
US$145*
Great Deal
US$170*
US$170*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,023 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 998: English reviews
Start your review of Great Fosters
 Click to rate
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had the pleasure of attending a beautiful wedding at Great Fosters and decided to stay over night. The wedding was wonderful and both the ceremony room and the Orangery was fantastic locations. The food and the service was excellent. I was able to check in shortly after 1pm which I appreciated and was shown to my beautiful room over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beckyboo1986
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is certainly a must for anyone who loves history and elegance. I recently stayed over night. From the moment I drove onto the estate of this beautiful hotel I was mesmerised by its architectural magnificence. I parked my car with ease. There was plenty of room. On entering the building I was stunned by the décor and the imposing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesleymilton
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Unfortunately the garden room didn't quite deliver the tranquility it suggested. Next to a hospital sirens are heard every 2 minutes. The grounds also whilst beautiful are covered in geese poo so 'meandering' them isn't that peaceful either. The interior is nice and the food very good, but as a popular private party and wedding venue it was pretty loud...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
GreatFosters1931, General Manager at Great Fosters, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are slightly confused about your sirens comment as our nearest hospital is 6 miles away and we are not on the route to the hospital. Whilst we do accept that we have a number of guests who visit for a celebratory occasion or a wedding part of our policy is that we do our...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Fantastic late lunch at The Estate Grill before we joined our friends for the Wedding reception. Lunch was so big that we did not require dinner that evening and I did not manage to eat all mine! Was great 20 years ago when I attended my oldest friends wedding but even better now. Fantastic breakfast next morning too. Staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Si M
GreatFosters1931, General Manager at Great Fosters, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to Great Fosters. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed both your lunch in The Estate Grill and your friends' wedding reception afterwards. It was also encouraging to read that you noticed all the improvements we have made over the last 20 years. We look...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel provides you with an impression of what it was like to live in the 16th century aristocracy. To the extent possible, the owners have tried to keep the hotel in the original state. Obviously they have added showers and toilets to the rooms. I stayed two nights and had a wonderful experience. Only drawback was the lack of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
GreatFosters1931, General Manager at Great Fosters, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We try very hard to combine modern facilities with our 1550 building. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your two night stay but was sorry to hear of the difficulties you encountered with the heating controls in your room. I shall be...

Banstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

5 of us stayed here for a night and from the moment we arrived, we knew we were going to love this historic hotel. We dined in The Tudor Room and food, wine and wonderful un- stuffy but professional service were perfect. We will certainly be visiting again in the not too distant future.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Valerie C
GreatFosters1931, General Manager at Great Fosters, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your overnight stay with us. I was delighted to read that you and your party enjoyed your stay and we all very much look forward to welcoming you back to Great Fosters in the not too distant future.

charlotte
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything about Great Fosters is lovely; this is our second trip and we have concluded that it is our future hotel for going in and out of Heathrow. The rooms are lovely, the food is terrific and if you choose to go into town or to Windsor is a quick cab ride - or you could catch the train. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanrumpole
GreatFosters1931, General Manager at Great Fosters, responded to this review

Thank you for extremely kind comments, which are much appreciated. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your second visit and we look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit in the not too distant future. I promise that we do let Darren go home and that he doesn't have a sleeping bag under the desk!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were 3 adults so we booked the most spacious Nursery room , with 3 single beds. We were pampered with a sitting area,dinning area, 2 bathrooms and a huge master bedroom. Many windows providing magnificent views. The front garden with the long drive way. The back garden was huge and so beautifully sculptured, nice figurines every where. Also, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank manukaho
GreatFosters1931, General Manager at Great Fosters, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your say in the Nursery suite and that you were made to feel like royalty! I hope that you will return to see us when you next visiting our part of the world.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I were only able to stay one night but we wished we could have been there longer. It is a beautiful country Manor with fantastic hospitality. There is a lot of history to the place - my husband and I loved exploring the different rooms and the gardens. The gardens were very relaxing - a fantastic place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GreatFosters1931, General Manager at Great Fosters, responded to this review

Thank you for recommending us. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your overnight stay and hope that you will return to see us when you are next in our part of the world.

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as part of a wedding package at the end of April 2017 and had a wonderful time. Wedding was perfect and the staff couldn't do enough to make sure the day went as perfectly well as could be expected. Our room was in the Coach House on the top floor and it was beautiful. Lots of space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alisona786
GreatFosters1931, General Manager at Great Fosters, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review on your stay with us last month. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed both the wedding and your overnight stay in one of our junior suites in The Coach House. I'm sorry that you found our feather pillows a little too soft; I wish you had called reception as we have plenty...

1,022 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (502)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (142)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (197)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (422)
Viewed
Amenities (51)
Viewed
Judge Doderidge (22)
Viewed
Mottisfont (25)
Viewed
Panel I (31)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Surrey (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (114)
Viewed
The Italian (52)
Viewed
The Tapestry (44)
Viewed
The Tower (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (23)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
1.5 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
8.3 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,507 reviews
23.7 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
21.4 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Tudor Room
The Tudor Room
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Probably built as a Royal Hunting lodge and very much a stately home since the 16th century, Great Fosters is now a prestigious hotel, awarded 4 red stars by the AA. Set amongst 50 acres of gardens and parkland, the hotel is a Grade One listed building blessed with the grandeur of 16th century England and luxurious modern facilities. Its past is evident in the mullioned windows, tall chimneys, fireplaces and brick finials, while the Saxon moat, crossed by a Japanese bridge, surrounds three sides of the formal garden. All the suites and bedrooms are individually decorated. The bedrooms in the Main House are adorned with tapestries and antiques, whilst the bedrooms in The Cloisters are more contemporary in style. The refurbished Coach House offers luxurious accommodation with the latest plasma screens, i-pod docking stations and fabulous bathrooms. The hotel has two restaurants - The Estate Grill has been awarded two rosettes by the AA and serves a simple and seasonal menu with many of the dishes using produce grown on the estate and cooked on a Josper grill. The Tudor Room was awarded a Michelin star and three rosettes by the AA in October 2016 and is an intimate sophisticated restaurant open for lunch on a Thursday & Friday and for dinner from Wednesday to Saturday inclusive. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great Fosters

Address: Stroude Road, Egham TW20 9UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Price Range: £129 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Fosters 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Great Fosters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Fosters Egham, Surrey
Great Fosters Hotel Egham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great Fosters staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Great Fosters staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I only stayed one night and my room was fabulous but I imagine there were a host of other exceptional other rooms also.”
lesleymilton, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the garden.”
martine732, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“The Coach House accommodation is lovely, quiet rooms with lots of space”
alisona786, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“The Coach House”
RebeccaAyris, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“If you can afford the premium price, book a room in the main building!”
62stevem, 1 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$145* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$170
Hotels.comUS$170
CancelonUS$198
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates