We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Speech House Hotel

Traveller (146)
Room & Suite (397)
Dining (34)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Gold level
Formerly built in 1669, as a Hunting Lodge for Charles II the Speech House sits at the heart of the Royal Forest of Dean.The main house has 15 bedrooms including three antique four poster beds.The remainder of rooms are situated in the Courtyard and Cottage.The hotel is home to one of only two Verderers Courts in the UK and is used as the main restaurant for the hotel.The hotel offers a wide range of room type to suit all budgets, and is pet friendly in the Courtyard rooms, subject to availability.The Orangery is open to non residents for morning coffee,aftrernoon teas, and bar lunches and evening meals.Free Wi Fi is available to residents for 1 hour during their stay and then it is subject to a small charge.There are approximately 253 miles of walking and cycling trails on the doorstep of the hotel. Speechhouse is an ideal venue for touring the Wye Valley,Gloucestershire and the Southern Cotswolds and South Wales.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Breakfast included
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
884Reviews
614Photos
8Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 432
  • 292
  • 109
  • 27
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My wife and I visited this lovely hotel in the Forest of Dean for a weekend getaway. We were very happy with the level of service from very happy staff. The food was great and our 4 poster bedroom was comfy and cosy. A very enjoyable stay all round.
Read more
Response from peterhands, Owner at The Speech House Hotel
Responded today
Dear Darrel M, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us on your recent weekend get away. I am delighted to read that you had a great break and that you found my young team to be happy and attentive throughout your stay. I have passed on your very kind comments to all concerned and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes Peter Hands Director/Proprietor.
Read more
This was a great little find in the heart of the Forest Of Dean. We visited with an offer which made it even better! This is a pet friendly hotel & we stayed with our dog in one of the court yard rooms which was lovely. The room was welcoming & provided a water bowl, poo bags &
Read more
Response from peterhands, Owner at The Speech House Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Xhd1d1, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us at the Speech House. We am delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and everything was to your satisfaction. We are indeed situated in the very centre of the Royal Forest and there is a bus stop directly in front of the hotel which will take you to either Gloucester, Monmouth or Hereford. We also have approximately 253 miles of walking and cycle trails on our doorstep. I have passed on your very kind comments to all of my young team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Best wishes Peter Hands Director/Proprietor.
Read more
We had a brilliant stay on the 3rd of February 2019. The room was clean and comfortable, we had a very tasty Sunday lunch and evening meal. The breakfast in the morning was well cooked and tasty. The staff over our 24 hour stay where extremely helpful and friendly. The overall
Read more
Response from peterhands, Owner at The Speech House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear John d, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us at the Speech House. It was good to meet you briefly on your departure and hope you had a safe and uneventful journey home. I am delighted to read that you had a brilliant stay with us recently and that everything was to your satisfaction. Thank you for your very kind comments which I have passed on to all of my young team. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes Peter Hands Director/Proprietor
Read more
We have lived locally for 7 years but for some reason have never been to the speech house before. We decided to walk from our home through the woods and be at the Speech House in time for lunch. On arrival, we were shown the way to the Orangery, but were told there were no
Read more
Response from peterhands, Owner at The Speech House Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Rosegardener73, Thank you so much for taking time to leave a review on your recent visit to us at the Speech House for Sunday Lunch. I am pleased to read from your in depth review that you were delighted both with the service you received from my team and the quality of your meals. It is said that "All good things are worth waiting for" and in your case after 7 years you have found us. I have passed on your very kind comments to all my team and we all hope that now you have discovered us you will become a regular visitor. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Peter Hands Director/Proprietor
Read more
Shown to a Courtyard room on arrival, it was terrible. Small, dingy, most uninviting. After a visit to reception, we were shown a much nicer room which we accepted and enjoyed for two nights. Our first dinner was in the Orangery which was not the best and therefore appeared
Read more
Response from peterhands, Owner at The Speech House Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Graham A Many thanks for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay with us at the Speech House. I have looked into your comments and would respond as follows:- You had booked on our Groupon offer which clearly states was for a standard courtyard double. It appears that you were not happy with this room and were following a conversation with my reception team moved to a slightly larger room in the cottage. With regard to your dinner in the Orangery, following a conversation with my duty Manager it appeared that you complained that the Beer Battered Fish you had ordered had been microwaved and that you were not happy with it. I can assure you that we certainly do not microwave any of our dishes and that the fish is battered and deep fried to order. Our prices for our dishes are similar to all other similar establishments in the area and are not over priced. I am pleased to read that you found our breakfast met your expectations and that you found the surroundings calm and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area. Best wishes Peter Hands Director/Proprietor
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Speech House Hotel
The Superior Main House Twin Room at The Speech House Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Speech House Hotel
The Master Four Poster Room at The Speech House Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Speech House Hotel
The Family Room at The Speech House Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Speech House Hotel
The Courtyard Twin Room at The Speech House Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Speech House Hotel
The Courtyard Four Poster Room at The Speech House Hotel
PreviousNext
12345680
you can also charge your mobility scooter with our assistance from an inside socket.
1 vote
Show all answers
Please contact the hotel direct for availability Many thanks
0 votes
We do offer vegetarian dishes on all our menus . If you supply us with your e mail address we can send you the selection available Best wushes Gill
1 vote
Show all answers
yes, they are allowed in the Orangery.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"The courtyard rooms are pet friendly & are right by the car park"
"Room 1 excellent"
"large selection of rooms to suit all"
"second floor probably quieter when evening music is on, but no lift so need to be able to deal with stairs"
"Courtyard rooms are good."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$103 - US$188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
speech hotel coleford
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandForest of DeanColeford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing