We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Widemouth Bay Caravan Park

Marine Drive Widemouth Bay, Bude EX23 0DF England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (882)
Room & Suite (72)
Pool & Beach (37)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#11 of 23 campsites in Bude
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Game room
Mini golf
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Snack bar
Windsurfing
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Convenience store
Gift shop
Shops
ATM on site
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
1,204Review77Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 432
  • 301
  • 190
  • 128
  • 154
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
S M wrote a review 11 Apr
Sprowston, United Kingdom46 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
Had a gold caravan, was very nice and clean, outside the caravan 143 was dog poo. We took our dog and would never dream of leaving that. Had a storm the first night. Thought the caravan was going to blow over, as it was rocking so much. No internet, where we stayed. So our children were bored. Borrowed dvds from reception, to keep them entertained. Step outside the caravan to a muddy lake everyday. Couldn't use the football bit or play area, as that was muddy and water logged. Tried to walk to the beach. No paths from the site, until you get to the main road. Then that was like a swamp. So walked the main road back, cars were going 60mph. Didn't feel safe. Swimming pool was nice, but 1 hour a go isn't long enough, if it's raining and nothing to do. Would be nice to have inflatables for the smaller children. Receptionists always polite, shop was old and dated. Could do with a pizza tray in the caravan. Amusements dated. Dogs not allowed in there, yet can go in the main complex! Lest a day early, Won't be returning
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Hannah W wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions
Arrived to widemouth for a week with our children. The lady at reception Courtney was absolutely fab thankyou so much for all your help and arranging for us to come a day early and it not being a problem at all. We are in a sliver plus 3 bed caravan it’s beautiful. We are looking forward to the rest of our stay
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
charlycharl wrote a review Mar 2024
Porth, United Kingdom40 contributions33 helpful votes
We booked a 4 night stay on a whim and after thorough research of John Fowler parks we booked with Widemouth Bay. 2 adults with our little Maltese pup Oscar and we booked the 2 bed silver pet caravan and stayed in no.56. We really can't fault the park. Staff were awesome, super helpful and real friendly. Stripeys girls done an amazing job to keep the kids entertained and again super friendly. Accommodation was fab! Clean and tidy and had everything we needed. We took our own quilt and Pillows, however the bed was a decent night's sleep. There was a small stain on the sofa but didn't bother us as we took throws because we had a dog and didn't want the sofa getting marked with his wetty paws. Loved the speakers in the living room ceiling! Added bonus when u love a bit of music! Didn't eat at the restaurant but food was well priced and looked lovely. Drink prices were decent considering most parks hyke their prices up just because they can. All in all we really can't fault our stay, especially considering we only paid £108 and stayed an extra night for £30. The only downfall was the WiFi but was actually quite nice to not have it so its swings and roundabouts. All in all a cracking little stay at Widemouth and would defo recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pick a month when the weathers better lol
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi there, I am so pleased that you had such a great time staying with us at Widemouth Bay and enjoyed all the park had to offer! I completely understand what you mean about WiFi, as sometimes it is nice to switch off, but site wide Wifi is coming to the park soon for those who want to stay in touch. Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. We hope to see you again. Best wishes Emily
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MrsW1911 wrote a review Mar 2024
South West England, United Kingdom33 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Wonderfully relaxing holiday. We stayed in a bronze dog friendly caravan with decking. Dishwasher, TV in the bedroom. 2 WC. Comfy sofa. Opposite the crazy golf course. Cleaning crew, you did an amazing job (as always). Monica clean. Florence on reception, you're going to fit right in. You went above and beyond for my queries of, which caravans are dog friendly. The new stripeys are all incredibly friendly. Even though we didn't go to the club (sorry) we did bump into them a lot around the park. The shop was stocked really well. The launderette is out of service right now due to updating happening but Bude isn't far away should you need your clothes washed. Will be back as soon as hubby has recovered from his upcoming surgery. Thank you so much for another wonderful holiday. Would very much highly recommend Widemouth Bay 😀
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: During off peak, no need to book for the pool, during peak times you have to book. Arcade opens...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Mrs W, It is wonderful to read such a great review about our park and team! We are incredibly proud that you have chosen us for your holidays and can not thank you enough for taking the time to leave this for us! We look forward to welcoming you back after your Husband's surgery and we wish him all the best with his recovery. Best wishes Emily
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kathryn H wrote a review Mar 2024
Barnstaple, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
We did a sun booking and we were pleasantly surprised on our caravan,unsuit,tv in bedroom,nice view,the gent on reception went above and beyond,any small issue we had was sorted very quickly,we couldn't have asked for more,would definitely come back again,ty
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi there, I am really pleased you enjoyed your recent break with us! Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes Emily
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julie B wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
where do we begin , we have been holidaying here for a quite a few years now and it certainly is our happy place, both touring and static have never disappointed in any way. The location is perfect for walking along the coast path and enjoying the stunning beaches , and bude town itself is a short drive away where you can also enjoy the canal and beaches .There is a good choice of shops to visit too. The whole staffing team are absolutely brilliant always willing to help and to go above and beyond eo make sure we have the best time away . we shall continue to keep coming back here time and time again .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Julie, What an absolutely wonderful review and to have this come from a returning guest just means the world! We are so pleased you continue to holiday with us and can't wait to see you again soon! Thank you for taking the time to write this for us. Best wishes Emily
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Adam S wrote a review Dec 2023
Plymouth, United Kingdom1 contribution
Absolutely incredible trip! The caravan was pretty special and the park itself is clean and resourceful. On site shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. The bar and restaurant are clean and tidy and there were no complaints with any food or drink for our entire stay, including the take away service we used one evening! Seriously top notch park, we shall be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this wonderful 5* review! It is a pleasure to read that you loved the park as much as we do and had a great weekend! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes Emily
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Katie P wrote a review Oct 2023
Staffordshire, United Kingdom3 contributions
After reading the reviews for this holiday park I had mixed thoughts about what to expect. Were people being picky and complaining about anything and everything, it was it genuine. Well here’s my thoughts after spending 5 days at Widemouth Bay holiday park with my family and dog. We stayed in a silver pet friendly caravan and paid an extra £25 for a breakfast pack. Check in was meant to be 4pm but we managed to check in for around 1.30pm, this was one of the rare plus points. Our caravan was immediately adjacent to the shop, which we thought was convenient for us! Except the shop was so poorly stocked! Fridges and shelves were practically empty and the nearest shop was a 15 min drive away in Bude. Inside the caravan was pretty dismal, even for pet friendly standards. We wasn’t expecting high standards but the sofa cushions were so badly stained we had to cover them with towels to sit on them. To us it was nothing a steam clean wouldn’t fix. The bedding must be doused in starch when washed as the smell was so musty, we tried to spray with air freshener to cover it up. There was a dishwasher which we thought was amazing for a caravan, except you are only given one dishwasher tablet to be able to use it. For a short break you’d think a couple of tablets wouldn’t break Mr Fowlers bank. The oven looked like it didn’t have a proper clean for months and was covered in grease and grime. I just think it says something when you’re having to buy cleaning supplies to clean your holiday accommodation before settling in to use it. The park itself is so depressing and is such a shame because the location is perfect, only a short stroll to the nearest beach and minutes drive from several others. A lovely woodland walk and tranquil location. Although the mobile signal is absolutely none existent unless you use Wi-Fi in the clubhouse (one way to get you in there to spend your money on beer, when they aren’t hiding round the corner to actually serve, as it’s only slightly tempting to go in there of an evening for the entertainment, which the entertainment girls were great by the way). The ‘restaurant’ is in the clubhouse with no seperate area for dining, so if your happy eating your evening meal during trixies disco or bingo then great! The takeaway could be better, only serving for breakfast and evening meals and not lunch is a bit odd, especially when the shop doesn’t even have the basics to make lunch. The arcade is pointless, with next to nothing in there and the smell of damp loft. The pool is cold, dismal and gross, you can see hair and what can only be described as an oil slick floating on the surface of the pool. You only get a 45 minute slot to swim too. It’s such a shame to leave such a negative review. But all points made are things the owners of the park shouldn’t be slacking on, especially when several others are leaving the same types of reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Hi Katie, I am really sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We will certainly take all of this feedback on board as the cleanliness standards you have described do certainly sound below what we would expect and I really hope this was reported to the team, and they were able to help here. I do completely understand this will have been disappointing however. All of our linen is provided by an outside company so we will ensure this feedback is also relayed back. As our accommodations are self catering, while some of these do have dishwashers, unfortunately we do not provide the tablets, similarly to washing up liquid etc. Unfortunately as the park is set in a valley, mobile signal can be poor from the lower areas of the site. Most networks get signal on the touring fields which are higher up the site. We do however offer free WiFi in the main venue, as you say, so I do hope this helped with this somewhat. I really am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay but please be assured we take all feedback on board to help us improve our offerings going forward. Thank you for leaving us this valuable feedback. Best wishes Emily
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Clare H wrote a review Oct 2023
Plymouth, United Kingdom39 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed in a silver caravan clean with everything you needed to cook with. The only thing we didn’t like is that every time you went in and out of the caravan you would walk mud in as there is grass outside. Could do with being slabbed or concrete outside. Small site, games room is not very good. The staff behind the bar especially the dark long haired lady with glasses was rude and not a very nice person. The entertainment staff on the other hand were amazing with the kids. The 2 young woman are a credit to your establishment. Food in the club house was decent
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Hi Clare, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Your comments will be taken on board and we always welcome feedback as it helps us to improve our services, however I'm glad that on the whole you enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope to welcome you back another time, Best wishes, Emily
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paulandwendya wrote a review Oct 2023
11 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
The site is very old fashioned, the arcade is awful, the club room is lovely, the entertainment is very small camp feel, but they give it 100%,I went with my wife at 5.30 for a drink only not to be served as no one there, we went one evening and stood at the bar for 10 minutes with 2 other couples waiting to be served as the lady had gone somewhere, now to the main issue, our caravan, as you can see by the photos below it was very very tired, the caravan next door was just the same, the veneer that had lifted from most surfaces were very sharp, there was silicone hanging down in a couple of rooms, kitchen mixer tap was loose, nets in bedroom had big stain on it, front of cooker was so rusty, we had a caravan in Hayle week before cheaper than this it was immaculate, when I checked out, the girl asked was everything alright, when I mentioned the tired caravan she turned round and hung my key up, no I'm sorry or any thing, my wife and I said we would never book with John fowler again, see the photos,we stayed in unit 24
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Very old caravans, very tired, staff not, very customer orientated, if you want to swim only 4...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park
Responded 23 Oct 2023
Hello Paul and Wendy, I am really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the accommodation you were allocated for your recent stay with us. With this being one of our value caravans, we do advise that these due for replacement or refurbishment and will be of a basic standard. Due to this we would expect a certain amount of wear and tear but I will ask the maintenance team to attend the accommodation and ensure any remedial works which are required are carried out. I'm sorry to hear that you won't be returning, but thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Best wishes Emily
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bude area.
PRICE RANGE
£38 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
widemouth bay caravan park hotel bude
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallBude-StrattonBude
NUMBER OF ROOMS
200
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WIDEMOUTH BAY CARAVAN PARK - Updated 2024 Reviews (Bude)

Frequently Asked Questions about Widemouth Bay Caravan Park
Which popular attractions are close to Widemouth Bay Caravan Park?
Nearby attractions include The Monster Slip And Slide Bude (1.4 miles), Friends of Bude Sea Pool (3.7 miles), and Walk Bude - Coastal & Canal (3.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Widemouth Bay Caravan Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cornish Coasts Farmshop & Cafe, The Preston Gate Inn, and The Cornish Pie Company.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Widemouth Bay Caravan Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Widemouth Bay Caravan Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Compass Point (3.4 miles), The Gildhouse, Poundstock (4.2 miles), and Penhallam Manor (2.4 miles).