We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Balmer Lawn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,471 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,467: English reviews
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What can i say, the hotel and staff never fail to disappoint! what a wonderful time we had. we went with all the family and thier children, and our dog Marlee, the staff just could not do enough, i have to say remembering these guys were working all over christmas away from thier own familys and still had smiles on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 277marc
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear 277marc What kind words! Thank you so much. Our staff do go above and beyond especially at this time of year. It's so important that our guests feel at home- Christmas is such a magical time of year and we don't want to disappoint! We look forward to seeing you next year!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is set in an amazing position - We had a three night break here. Each and every staff member had excellent communication and service skills - from the Gleam Team to the Manager, everyone always had a hello when passing and a general interest in guests. The bar staff especially Samantha were hands on efficient and friendly The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen D
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Karen D Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and you found our staff to be so friendly and for giving Samantha a special mention. They will be delighted to read your comments. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I went to this hotel two weeks ago it was a birthday present to me from our daughter. We had a lovely time the hotel was excellent, the room lovely ,the food delicious. We swam played table tennis and went for a lovely walk . What really impressed us was how friendly all the staff were nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank grantchristina55
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear grantchristina55 What a lovely review - thank you for taking the time to place your comments on this important travel forum. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Balmer Lawn Hotel for three nights this winter, & have thoroughly enjoyed the comfort, surroundings & warm welcome this hotel & its staff offered. As you arrive you notice something a little different at the entrance as people leave there boots after a stroll through the gorgeous wintery countryside in which the Balmer is set &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iago F
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Iago F Thank you for your detailed review of our Hotel and facilities. I will pass all your kind words on to our team, they will be so happy to read them. They all work extremely hard, so getting feedback such as yours makes it all worth while. I hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was the second Christmas spent at Balmer Lawn and my mother and I have now booked for 2017! We really enjoyed it! Lovely setting, excellent food, with lots of fizz as aperitif, friendly staff, and a most relaxing family feel to the hotel. Everyone worked so hard to make sure we enjoyed ourselves ... and we did! A marvellous...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne B
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Anne B 5 stars and a wonderful review. On such an important travel forum this is great to see. The fact you will be returning for Christmas for the 3rd year in a row is high praise indeed. As I mentioned in another review, Christmas 2017 will be even better. See you in December if not before!

Royston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We cannot disagree enough regarding the poor review that has been submitted about this hotel. The service was superb from start to finish, and Michael and Paul go out of their way to ensure that you feel special. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Andrew who spent some time chatting to us, talking about how we were, what our journey...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank windy572017
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear windy572017 Your review is really wonderful and I will pass this on to the whole team. To hear such praise about our staff and all our departments is lovely. We intend on making next year an even bigger success, we are already planning! So pleased you will be returning, that is praise in itself. See you in December!

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband daughter and I booked the 3 day Christmas package which we thoroughly enjoyed ! (Panto was brilliant by the way! )The staff at the hotel were very attentive and gave excellent service, the food was fantastic maybe could do with some entertainment espiecally on the gala night I thing you need entertainment if it's a black tie event...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stephanie t
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie t What can I say! What a review, thank you so much. It means an awful lot to have such praise, all the staff work so hard to make our guests feel at home especially over the festive period. I am glad you will be returning next year. Fantastic news!

Portsmouth
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wanted to treat my dog for his 10th birthday (yes, I am a crazy dog lady)! Usually go for dog friendly self catering cottages but found this hotel and gave it a try. The hotel must have been refurbished as it's much nicer than in these photos. Staff were all fantastic and very accommodating of both us and Charlie (providing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FBuns30
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear FBuns30 Such as fantastic review thank you. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and so did Charlie! It is a fantastic area for dog walking and yes we do love our four legged guests and I am pleased Fernando made you feel so welcome. I hope we see you all again very soon. i will pass on...

Shepperton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I had a fantastic 3 night break over the weekend and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Excellent location for the New Forest and surroundings, some lovely walks from the hotel itself too. We walked into Brockenhurst on 2 evenings (15 minutes but could have done with a torch even though it was paved all the way) to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Steven P What a fantastic review- 5 stars thank you very much. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal on the night you ate in Beresfords. I will pass on your comments to all our team.

canterbury
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice hotel in a peaceful setting. Nice food, a bit expensive in the restaurant though. And a service charge is added to your bill. The swimming pool, sauna and gym are very nice. Not to crowded either. Staff very polite and friendly. All in all a pleasant stay,would return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davethediscoman
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear davethediscoman Thank you for your lovely review. I will certainly pass on your comments to all our staff. Regarding the service charge, this is added to your bill but certainly can be removed if you would not to pay it. I hope we see you again very soon.

783 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (313)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (109)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (352)
Viewed
Amenities (86)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (13)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (24)
Viewed
Suite (42)
Viewed
Suite, Front Aspect (35)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (49)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
948 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,570 reviews
5.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,154 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Beresfords Restaurant
Beresfords Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Price Range: £124 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Balmer Lawn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Balmer Lawn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go for the upgraded rooms with a view of the front lawn.”
 of 5 bubbles 277marc, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask if possible for a lawn facing room (Room 9 was lovely position ) but there are others”
 of 5 bubbles karend965, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for a room with a view over the front and watch the ponies.”
 of 5 bubbles 135anneb, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“look at the online floor plans / photos, and pick your own room”
 of 5 bubbles windy572017, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the front side overlook a cricket pitch and have the better view.”
 of 5 bubbles stevenpU8349EV, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay