Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa

Lyndhurst Road Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB England
Honeymoon Suite
Traveller (1077)
View from room 33
Room & Suite (232)
Beresfords Restaurant
Dining (200)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£275
Multiple ways to pay
£275
£275
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#6 of 9 hotels in Brockenhurst
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
A good quality 4 Silver Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, and fully equipped gym. Beresford's, our award winning restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. Our second restaurant which is our Lodge Restaurant and Bar, this one is Al Fresco dining, which has a slightly more relaxed menu, with either blankets and heaters for when you are chilly or opening doors for when it is lovely and warm! You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Horseback riding
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Patio
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Video game console
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Green
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Lyndhurst Road Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB England
3,019Reviews32Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,877
  • 628
  • 268
  • 148
  • 98
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Wendy_Wareham wrote a review Jul 2020
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is fantastic. Every care was taken re Covid. Staff tirelessly helpful. Lots of space and dinner served throughout hotel lounges/bar/outdoor spaces as well as restaurant, so although fully booked, there was space and time for everyone. The outdoor swimming pool opened the week we stayed and again every care was taken to book slots, limit numbers and sanitize furniture every hour.
All staff exceptional in their care, patience and service. We have stayed here before and think the decor, staff and food particularly have improved. The food was exceptional standard for the price and a varied menu, vegetarians much better catered for too.
Well done everyone working there, all much appreciated - especially the wonderful manager who has worked himself to a thinness of body - stop and eat a big dinner!
Thanks to all
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: all rooms available to see on site. Good dog rooms, cost of dog staying a bit expensive
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa
Responded 27 Jul 2020
Dear Wendy_Wareham Thank you for your lovely review. The team will be delighted that their hard work is appreciated and you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chessington_Angler wrote a review Sept 2020
Chessington35 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were absolutely bowled over to find that we had been upgraded to one of the Balmer Lawn's prestige rooms (number 10) overlooking the lawn (ponies, pigs and buzzards) with a lovely balcony (also a lawn). The double bed was enormous with an absolute luxury of space. Little things like supersoft towels and bathrobes were great as were the coffee machine and tea of high quality. We dined on for the first night and really enjoyed the John Dory and langustines.

Breakfasts were exciting given the timing of the government's latest anti-covid arrangements but we kept our cool as we could feel the pain of the adjustments the staff had to make to deliver table service. The next day was much prompter and almost too quick between the always excellent first and second courses. The wartime spirit (the hotel hosted Canadian troops prior to D-Day) prevailed into the 10.00pm drinks curfew that meant we were fully awake and able to enjoy the New Forest and Coast (the walk to Hurst Castle along the spit was fantastic).

All the staff really worked hard to make our stay fun and requests for room extras materialised very rapidly. The indoor pool was disappointingtly small but that was the only slight blemish on an otherwise great three day visit that was such good value. We have been to Balmer before and are highly likely to do so again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: 10 and 14 are executive ones and 9 has a four poster bed but no balcony, rooms overlooking the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa
Responded 22 Oct 2020
Dear Chessington_Angler Thank you for your review, I hope you come back and see us again very soon. The team will be delighted with your comments.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jill R wrote a review Sept 2020
Epsom, United Kingdom14 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved the location. We were very impressed with the covid arrangements. Our room was clean and very comfortable with a lovely view.
All the staff were very friendly and courteous. Dining experience and food very good.
If I may just make two points, it would have been nice to have bedside/reading lamps rather than ceiling spot lights.
During covid it would be a good idea to make cleaning wipes available in the room, just to be able to clean wash basin and toilet seat.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely recommend and be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa
Responded 22 Sept 2020
Dear Jill R Thank you for your review of your stay and your great comments. I appreciate your feedback regarding cleaning wipes and we will certainly look into it. I hope we can welcome you back very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Plodaway wrote a review Sept 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom102 contributions38 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited this hotel in August on a Monday night. Unfortunately, even booking about 4 weeks in advance, we could only get a standard room and not a superior room as the hotel was were virtually fully booked.
We were a little surprised that the menu for lunch and dinner whether in the bar or the restaurant were the same - however we couldn't fault the quality or service of the food. A few more options for gluten free customers would of been appreciated. It doesn't take a lot to make gluten free fish fingers! I did advise before coming to stay that I was gluten free and having a gluten intolerance is very common now a days.
The rooms however weren't up to scratch. We first of all got given room 39. It was seriously old fashioned and out of date. I sat on the bed and the mattress was incredibly soft and I sank into it and in my opinion needs replacing. When I checked the mattress protector it was merely a square in the middle of the mattress and did not go any where near the edges of the mattress. There was no way I could of slept in that bed. I went to reception and the receptionist showed me room 21. I checked the mattress cover and again it was only a square in the middle of the bed and did not go to the edges. I requested a full mattress protector and this was duly supplied. This room had been partly modernised but the bed was comfortable. A full set of matching hangers in the wardrobe would of been nice.
But when we were getting ready for dinner I noticed that there were some issues with the cleanliness of the room. Attached are the pictures for:-
shower screen had not been cleaner properly, the grime at the bottom of the shower screen where is meets the bath was disgusting, there was dust on top of the TV, picture frame and brass light fitting. There was someones toothpaste on the bathroom door (I presume it was toothpaste). But the worst thing was the state of the tea spoon on the tea/coffee tray - which obviously hadn't been cleaned.
This is basic cleaning, let alone extra cleaning for COVID 19! I have to say that my husband and I spent quite a bit of time in either the restaurant or the bar areas and I didn't see any of the housekeepers in either of these areas or the toilets near the bar.
The staff in the restaurant and the bar I couldn't fault. Friendly and very good service. It was housekeeping that let the stay down.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Always book a superior room over looking the New Forest. But book early!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa
Responded 7 Sept 2020
Dear Plodway I can only apologise that your stay was not as expected and nor was the cleanliness of your room. This is a huge anomaly for us. We have all new COVID measures in place for cleaning bedrooms and hourly cleaning in place for all areas so I do not know how this happened. If you could email me directly at sthompson@blh.co.uk with more information- dates of stay, name booked etc I will certainly investigate this further. I look forward to hearing from you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sparkydoesasia wrote a review Aug 2020
19 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We did the 3 nights for price of 2 deal in August. It cost about £180 a night but this included breakfast and £50 towards dinner.
The room I have no complaints about, we had our dog with us so assumed we would have quite a shabby room but actually it was fine, a good size and we had a nice view of the outdoor pool. Other positives were most the staff very friendly (one woman on reception slight attitude but everyone else lovely), outdoor pool was great and breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. They also took Covid very seriously, everywhere was very clean and staff wore visors/masks at all times.
Negatives- dinner. We had a dinner package so ate there the 3 nights. Had we seen that the lunch and dinner menus were the same, and they were the same for the whole of our stay we would not have done this! I’m pescatarian so of the limited choices there were (it’s not enough extensive menu) I was even more limited. £22 for lobster tagliatelle and the pasta wasn’t cooked properly and I couldn’t eat it. My partner had burger and steak which was average. The main issue however was just the lack of choice. On Sunday we were hoping there may be a different menu and option of a roast, but it was the same menu again.
Other disappointing things were that the indoor swimming pool was small and very cold. Dipped my toe in and decided against it!
Also ‘due to Covid’ they don’t service the rooms so water/tea/coffee isn’t topped up unless specifically requested. Same with fresh towels. You can request clean ones but then we just ended up with a huge pile of dirty towels in the room.

Otherwise we had a good stay, the location is good with a lovely river next door. I’d just advise not to sign up to a dinner package if you like variety!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Dear Sparkydoesasia Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry you did not think our new menu did not have enough choice and was not to your taste and the indoor pool a little cool . We keep this at 29 degrees so I will certainly check our records to make sure it has been at this level consistently. My apologies that your towels were not refreshed on your request. I will look into this. I am pleased otherwise you enjoyed your stay and I hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PDE_2 wrote a review Feb 2020
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom19 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel with friendly staff. However would not recommend going during school holidays unless you want children running around and using the spa area as a playground. Would suggest staying as a bed and breakfast guest as although the dinner menu is high end it is limited - far better to book one special meal during your stay. The bar area and reception staff are very personable and attentive and aim to make your time with them enjoyable. We had a fire alarm go off at 4am following someone smoking in their room. The night manager was extremely professional and dealt with the situation well despite a guest behaving in an abusive manner towards him. We stayed in a superior room but the layout didn't work with the tv over the dressing table (instead of a mirror) and with poor lighting. Due to these 'niggles' have had to give a 3 star rating.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear PDE_2 Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am sorry you had a few niggles and i will certainly look into these for you. Thank you for your kind comments about the team and a special mention for Ron. It is never a nice experience for anyone when the fire alarm sounds but I am so pleased you felt Ron dealt with everything well. I will certainly talk to the team about the room issues. I really hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicola D wrote a review Aug 2020
22 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve stayed in this hotel ore COVID-19 and had a lovely stay, however this time it was different and definitely less enjoyable. This could be due to a number of factors:

1) room type- when I first stayed our room faced the lawn. It was a family room so had a decent amount of space, was airy and had nice views. This time round, we were travelling with our dog and I have to say, I had the worst nights sleep I’ve ever had in a hotel because of the room we were in (number 19).

It was tiny, dark and boiling. Every night was so hot I barley slept. The hotel doesn’t have any air conditioning so provided us with two fans, but still this didn’t make a difference. I think it’s partly due to the room being situated where generators are perhaps, and having only a single tiny window that barley opened. Needless to say, by the last night I was ready to go home and just forget losing out on staying an extra night. You come away to relax and have a break, not sleeping because of the room environment is not my idea of a good break.

2) no housekeeping- while the hotel did send correspondence on changes to service at the time of booking, I don’t think I realised how much this impacts your quality of stay. When you go away, and pay for a hotel it’s so you get a chance to be free of all the responsibilities you normally have when at home. Having to make the bed every morning, clean the surfaces and clean the bathroom really spoilt that special feeling you get from taking a break.

I hadn’t realised they didn’t do basic housekeeping, so when I enquired into why I’d had no room service and that the bath was dirty I was sent some cleaning materials. Just felt weird and I felt like the experience wasn’t good value for money.

Another downside is that they don’t replenish teas/water/biscuits etc. You have to request it, and I would often call the reception line for no one to answer. Which would result in me having to get dressed and go down in person. I was quite disappointed that one particular receptionist, who wasn’t that friendly (although everyone else is!) failed to listen to my daughters request for a specific biscuit type and when they never arrived, and she had to go back down to reception was told she would have to find the housekeeper to get the ones she wanted. It was a lazy and uncaring response. While I understand this might read pedantic, it’s just an accumulation of poor customer service that ends up tarnishing your stay.

On the plus side, the still have an awesome breakfast. Some of the hotel staff are really lovely and despite our awful room, the grounds are perfectly positioned amongst horses and have good facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa
Responded 13 Aug 2020
Dear Amy a Thank you for your review. I am sorry you feel that your stay did not exceed your expectations. The new guidelines and safe working practices we have put in place are for the protection of our team and of course our guests. We are still in the middle of a pandemic and it would be foolish of us to jeopardise the health and safety of our team or guests. That is why we do not allow staff to enter guest bedrooms at all during a guests stay. This is for your protection as well as theirs. I understand that this does take away the personal touch but you will find that this policy has been put in place at most hotels. I apologise that your request for certain items were not met. I will talk to the team about this. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and your comments about the majority of our team were positive. I hope you come and visit us again soon and for future reference we have a look before you book system on our website where all rooms can be viewed before booking.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David G wrote a review Jan 2020
Hereford, United Kingdom25 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I had hoped to discuss our experience with the hotel manager but he wasn’t at the hotel when we left and he hasn’t responded to our email.

Our ‘superior’ room (23) was shabby, with a hole in the wall and torn wallpaper where presumably a curtain tie was originally fitted. The furniture has seen better days. There were large stains in the ceiling. The tv room had a very strong smell in it, possibly of vinyl. Neither the decor nor the hanging pictures reflected the description of the rooms provided on your website. Presumably because the wall mounted air con unit no longer worked, a large free standing unit was in the bedroom, which added to the feeling of clutter with a second wall mounted tv (why two TVs?). In any case we couldn’t have used the air con unit as the venting hose wasn’t venting to outside. So pretty pointless. (See pictures below). No fridge. No view except of outside walls, other bedrooms and plastic grass. And a pretend sheep. All a little surprising for a ‘superior’ room. The bath plug mechanism needs sorting; when my wife took a bath, we couldn’t get the plug out without some prising. Ceiling bulbs not working. The overall effect reminded me a little of a rather tired b&b

We have stayed in a number of dog friendly hotels, one not far from this hotel, and this is the first we have stayed at not to have anything at all in the room for the dog eg bowls, towel, treats. It wouldn’t be an issue but for the surcharge.

At dinner, my wife had ‘torched mackerel’ which left her feeling slightly peculiar. I tasted the fish, which made me gag immediately. I thought it might be ‘off’. We mentioned this to the waitress and she made enquiries. The chef said it definitely wasn’t off but was the result of the curing process. I don’t think the curing process had much to do with what I tasted! We were offered a different starter but declined as I’d already finished my starter. The rest of the food was ok but three rather plain and small scallops for a £16 starter made me feel like a mug! It is always a preferred starter for me and this was seriously underwhelming especially for the money. We were also very surprised to see that a couple of breakfast options that I would have gone for had £6.00 surcharges.

The ‘spa’ was also underwhelming; a small indoor pool, a very small jacuzzi and sauna. The changing rooms were messy with towels and rubbish on the floor. Shouldn’t staff be checking?

There were other observations I made in my email to the manager that I won’t bore you with. Suffice to say, we were utterly underwhelmed with our experience, felt ripped off and treated like mugs.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris W, Owner at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Dear David G Sorry for the lateness of this reply as we always try to respond to all reviews in a timely manner. As we know "the customer is always right", until they are not of course. Please read below the honest and frank description of Room 23 which is a Standard Room NOT a Superior Room as you state. Not only does our website have accurate and honest descriptions of the rooms it also has pictures of the room, bathroom, the additional children’s room, the bathroom and finally the view from the window. No other hotel in the area offers such a comprehensive information of their entire bedroom stock. Please see below the description from our website, so please do not misrepresent the facts. "This large Standard room has the added benefit of a sofa bed and we can also fit a cot! Located along a quiet corridor, this room offers great value for a family with young children. The room has a 5ft double bed. As the windows looks out towards another wing of the Hotel, there is no view. Pet friendly? Yes To book this room please call our Reception Team directly on 01590 623116." The TV room as you call it is not a TV room but a children’s room for guests staying with their children, that is why there are 2 televisions. Your are right that the air conditioning unit fitted to the wall is out of order but in January and am surprised that you wanted the air-conditioning on. The freestanding unit you refer to is there to boost the heating should you have needed it and in heating mode it does not need to be vented. Regarding your comments about the dog friendly facilities, we are the only 4 star hotel in the New Forest that have dog friendly rooms, there should have been a dog bowl in you room, apologies if this was not the case, we have towels and dog biscuits in the hotel reception area. Your ridiculous comments about the food both quality and price would seem to indicate that you are a little out or touch with current trends at the two rosette level of food that we offer. The Leisure Club facilities that you refer to are not our Saltus Spa which is in a separate area, however, there is no excuse for the changing rooms to be messy and I apologise for this. As we have owned the business for the past 23 years we are not in the business, neither would we have survived, of under-whelming our customers, I am sorry that we have left you feeling like a "mug" this would never been our intention.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
macphei wrote a review Sept 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom31 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a romantic 4 night break at the Balmer Lawn Hotel.
Overall, we enjoyed a wonderful stay.
We stayed in a superior double room overlooking the cricket pitch at the front of the building. The room was well appointed with a very large and comfortable bed a wardrobe with drawers and a dressing table. The en-suite featured a bath with shower head over and was very clean.
Upon arrival it became clear that the COVID-19 friendly environment was well thought through with effort being made to keep all staff and visitors as safe as possible. We were greeted with a smile and warm welcome. The check in process was straight forward which meant it was not necessary to hang around reception for an unnecessarily long time.
After settling we decided to have a few drinks in the bar to relax before exploring the local area. Again, we found all staff friendly and accommodating. We sat outside on the terrace which is a lovely sun trap with great background music, enough to supply some atmosphere without being overpowering. There is a good selection of drinks for all pallets and with the great service we ended up visiting the bar every day of our stay.
Breakfast each morning was required to be at a set time, for understandable reasons. The options available were excellent and the COVID arrangements all good with guests discouraged from wandering around more than necessary. Only suggestion I would have here is that instead of a buffet style cooked breakfast it might be simpler to order breakfast form the table instead?
The location is perfect for exploring the New Forest and is just a short 20 minute walk from the centre of Brokenhurst which has good connections via Bus and Train to the surrounding towns.
On our last evening we dined in Beresfords, hoping we had saved the best until last. We were not disappointed. After a couple of pre-dinner drinks we were escorted to our table. The service was relaxed but efficient and, again, all staff were fantastic. We enjoyed a three course meal including a delicious Fillet Steak for main and returned to the lounge for after dinner drinks.
I would lastly like to call out the names of some staff who really impressed. Neil who remembered our drinks each round and made us feel at ease, Tiffany who provided a very warm welcome and was the source of helpful information and advice and Alexei who was also very accommodating and the wearer of the sharpest suits in the house (Apologies if I have spelt any names incorrectly). Having said this, every single person we interacted with were all brilliant, including an unexpected but warm conversation with the proprietor Chris. Thanks for providing us with such a good experience.
We shall definitely try and return some time in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa
Responded 22 Sept 2020
Dear macphei What a fantastic detailed review of your stay with us. Your comments are greatly appreciated by everyone. The team are always so happy to get that special mention, it makes such a difference. I hope we can welcome you back very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lou wrote a review Nov 2021
London, United Kingdom54 contributions21 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Good stay but could do with improvements. Upon arrival at 3.15pm we were told our room was number 20 handed the keys and paid for the room, we weren't told about the spa, pool, bar area or any other information not sure if we had been unlucky with who checked us in as I heard other coustmers be told where to go to use the facilties.

When we got into the room, I have to say I was a little disappointed, paying for the dog which was £20pn to find that it was 1/2 an old towel that had been used and a dirty bowl which had been left, I understand they have to clean the rooms a bit extra but was very disappointed to see that was what £60 got us. The bed could do with some new pillows they were very flat and quite uncomfortable and the bed was rock hard, I understand its all down to personal preference but was exicted to get home to our own bed. The bathroom was OK and the shower was powerful but maybe it would be better as just a shower room. Our room came with no robes which was advertised. We also found the air circulation quite poor in the room and both woke up numerous times through the night with dry mouths and lips despite the window being wide open.

The food was delicious, we had dinner one night here and it was very very good from starters to main, we found the service could be a bit slow but other than that it was very good. Breakfast was tasty but prehaps having eggs flortine or bacon bap would be a good extra to add to the menu.

The pool area was good once we found it, we asked the owners daughter who was very polite and helpful throughout our stay, however the steps down where very slippy into the pool and it could be due a clean very soon.

Upon check out we weren't asked how are stay was as I would have raised all these issues with them face to face.

The fire alarm went off twice during our stay one the early hours of Thursday morning and the other midnight of Friday, not once was there an apology or explanation for this, just meant a very poor night sleep.

Maybe we've been unlucky in our experience but we will back for dinner when in the area as the food was amazing not to sure if we would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid room 20.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris Wilson, Owner at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa
Responded 27 Nov 2021
Dear Lou11137 Thank you for this detailed review of your recent stay with us I am sorry that they were certain aspects of your stay that you did not like and we will be following up with the relevant teams why you did not get more detailed information when you checked in and no robes in your room if you were on a rate that included these. Interesting that you comment on what was available for your dog, we have this in hand and improvements are already in the pipeline. Regarding the fire alarm, it is always unfortunate when it goes off, but its purpose is to protect everyone in the building, it is very well maintained and fit for purpose but small spiders and flies can set off a sensor. A disturbed nights sleep is much a better outcome that a fire, I am sure you would agree. We hope that over time you will forgive the minor elements of your stay that you did not enjoy and come and stay with us again, failing that you really enjoyed the restaurant and the food and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra Hopes asked a question Nov 2023
Andover, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Is there a sauna & steam room?
Answer from Plodaway
Sheffield, United Kingdom102 contributions38 helpful votes
Hi yes there is a sauna but I didn’t use it!
Answer from Pete D
Southampton, United Kingdom68 contributions10 helpful votes
I’m not sure, I think so
Nick B wrote a tip 3 Apr
Southampton, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No issues to put people off."
Read full review
TNoice wrote a tip 1 Apr
Southampton, United Kingdom60 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We also popped to a couple of pubs nearby... the snake catcher was a treat! "
Read full review
Russell m wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fabulous location"
Read full review
Emma C wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It can be very wet in Feb, so take welly boots for dog walks, and the lovely team will give you great ideas for (dry) dog walks."
Read full review
Jamie G wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The management are shocking. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Brockenhurst area.
PRICE RANGE
£162 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
balmer lawn hotel brockenhurst, balmer lawn brockenhurst
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireNew Forest National Park HampshireBrockenhurst
NUMBER OF ROOMS
54
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BALMER LAWN HOTEL & SPA - Updated 2024 (Brockenhurst)

Frequently Asked Questions about Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Boost Bike Hub (0.7 miles), New Forest Polo Club (0.2 miles), and Grovely Pets Brockenhurst (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include White Tails Restaurant, Zen Garden Restaurant, and Albero.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Brockenhurst.
Are any cleaning services offered at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Brockenhurst HotelsBrockenhurst Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BrockenhurstHotels near Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire