Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The King's Head Hotel

37 - 38 Saturday Market Place, Beverley HU17 9AH England
Traveller (163)
Beef Ragu Pizza
Dining (18)
Comfy Bed
Room & Suite (14)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
£78
£78
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 3 hotels in Beverley
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
1,027Review10Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 597
  • 256
  • 77
  • 53
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
John T wrote a review Jan 2020
Heckmondwike, United Kingdom4 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at The Kings Head Hotel in August earlier this year and were so impressed we decided to book for New Years Eve. From the moment we walked in we were made to feel welcome by Matt and his team. Our room was huge and very well presented.
We booked a table in the restaurant for 8pm and were promptly seated. The food was superb as was the service.
Being New Years Eve the pub was very busy and all the staff worked tirelessly all night inside and out. We chose to sit outside under one of the many heaters and had a great night.
Some of the staff were back in the morning serving breakfast after little or no sleep, but the food and service was still as good as the previous night.

A big thanks to Matt and all the team for making our stay a special one, we will definately be seeing you all again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from S4573QFmattc, Front Office Manager at The King's Head Hotel
Responded 2 Jan 2020
Wow! What a fabulous review. We are thrilled you had another fantastic stay, thank you for such kind words about the staff and your overall experience. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Wishes and Happy New Year to you. The King's Head Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David W wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom55 contributions65 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights in late September in a Deluxe King Room - we also ate dinner in the pub both evenings. We really liked staying here - the room was large and very comfortable. Bed was also good, as was the shower. All of the team were very friendly, and they seemed to us to achieve the right balance of being Covid-aware without being paranoid and frightened of all their customers, as we have found in some other places we have stayed. We really liked the good quality, good value pub food too. Breakfast was good, with a wide choice. Parking is very convenient, although capacity might be an issue (it was fine for us, though). We will definitely hope to stay there again in future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Clapison, General Manager at The King's Head Hotel
Responded 30 Sept 2020
Thanks David for taking the time to review your recent experience whilst staying with us. We are thrilled that you had such a positive time and enjoyed all aspects of your stay. The team are working really hard to adjust to ever changing legislation whilst remaining focused on what's important...the guests. We very much hope to see you again soon Kind regards and stay safe Matt
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hb97 wrote a review Sept 2020
Pocklington, United Kingdom50 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from staying here for one night. We stayed in the deluxe king room ‘ironside’ - it was very modern and the bed was so comfy! The room was situated near the back of the hotel so the noise during the night was very minimal we didn’t hear anything! We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious and well priced - the 20% off we got with the room obviously helped! The breakfast this morning was also delicious with a great choice from cooked full english to croissants. The staff were lovely and helpful, and the Covid precautions were all in place. We would definitely stay again & recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Clapison, General Manager at The King's Head Hotel
Responded 21 Sept 2020
Good Afternoon , Thank you for the taking time to leave us such a lovely 5 star review.It's great to hear you had such a super time , enjoyed the food and felt comfortable with our Covid procedures. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon Best Wishes The King's Head Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
andreabee73 wrote a review Jul 2020
Beverley, United Kingdom30 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited the Kings Head pub last night with family for a couple of drinks and was very pleased to see how well they have adapted the pub to maintain social distancing.

The staff were friendly, chatty and so organised it was good to see. The doors to the toilets were being spayed and wiped down periodically it was really reassuring to see how well organised they all were.

Thank you and see you again bc soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Clapison, General Manager at The King's Head Hotel
Responded 20 Jul 2020
Good Afternoon Thank you so much for your fabulous feedback. We are working really hard as a team to make guests feel comfortable and enjoy their experience. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards The King's Head Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nic wrote a review Jan 2020
4 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Negative:
An individual member of staff was quite rude. There was a DJ on playing loud until 1am it became essentially sleeping above a night club, which we were not informed of until we were checking in. It's worth noting the DJ only plays on certain nights / occasion so it may be quieter on other days. The music started again from 8am but at a more quiet level but loud enough to be heard from the rooms above. The bathroom had quite a horrible smell in it upon arrival. Our breakfast was also burnt.

Positive:
The rooms themselves are really well decorated and look brilliant,
The parking is free and easily accessible,
The Wi-Fi is better than most Premier Inn style hotels.
It's also centrally located in Beverley.
Most of the staff are friendly and accommodating.

Overall based on experience we wouldn't recommend to family / friends or chose to stay there in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from S4573QFmattc, Manager at The King's Head Hotel
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience. With our Town Centre location rooms are subject to noise, we do not shy away from the fact that we are a lively bar with a DJ playing until 1am on a Friday and Saturday this is advertised on line and we tell guests if they book direct, so sorry once again that the first you heard was upon checking in. The hotel is an entirely different venue and is much quieter Sunday to Thursday should you wish to book again in the future and see what a difference it makes please call and book directly and we can advise on which room would suit you and tailor the service for you. Should you wish to discuss any further please do not hesitate to give us a call Kindest regards Lucy Watkins - Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sarahjpinkerton1970 wrote a review Apr 2022
Doncaster, United Kingdom154 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was such a treat for my husband and I

From check in to departure the exceptional team made us feel so special and welcome.

This hotel restaurant bar in the centre of the market place with its own parking is a very slick operation.

We didn’t chose to dine in the evening as the kitchen closed at 8.30 which is a bit early for us when we are away on a mini break but we did have a very lovely breakfast.

Beautiful perfectly poached egg doorstep brown toast a very good well cooked sausage was all just lovely

The only slight critique was the mushroom tasted a bit old and been fried but honestly there was plenty for it not to bother me at all.

I asked for the bean to cup coffee with extra shots this was also no problem at all.

Such lovely service.

The room was absolutely beautiful we stayed in Lionheart.

No views but plenty to admire in the room.

Large comfy bed a free standing bath fresh soft towels a coffee machine with pods a large mirror beautiful lights flat screen tv gorgeous double shower just perfect for a treat away.

Beverly has much to explore with its medieval pubs gorgeous gifts shops St Mary’s church and many eateries to suit all tastes and wallets.

My favourite village so far in Yorkshire (I’ve been to quite a few)

I vote Beverly the friendliest town in Yorkshire
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Clapison, General Manager at The King's Head Hotel
Responded 14 Jun 2022
Sarahjpinkerton1970, your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us. Thankyou for taking the time to write such kind words about your whole experience. Beverley truly is special and what a treat it is to be so central. We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
johnkarenw wrote a review Sept 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a very lovely stay at this top class hotel, from the staff who are so helpful and friendly to the exceptional food, always felt safe as all the guidelines were in place and being adhered to, our room was spotlessly clean and well equipped . On the morning of departure i suffered a vertigo episode so couldn't go down for breakfast so they kindly brought my wife and I some bacon sandwiches and juice to our room and told us it would be ok to use the room until my episode passed, extremly grateful. Will return and highly reckomend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Clapison, General Manager at The King's Head Hotel
Responded 5 Oct 2020
Good Morning John Thank you for the fabulous five star review, feedback is so important especially in these strange times. We are so pleased you found our Hotel clean and of course Covid safe. You and your wife were an absoloute pleaseure to look after and us delivering breakfast to your room was no problem at all. We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kindest regards Lucy Clapison - Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
billio75 wrote a review Aug 2021
Huddersfield, United Kingdom77 contributions62 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
After a hard day, it was great to be met on arrival with a warm smile and welcome from the staff member on hand who even took the trouble to see me to my room.

The room was a really pleasant surprise and at a much higher standard than expected.

The room facilities were excellent, including a Nespresso machine, kettle, pedestal fan, good size TV and an incredibly comfortable bed. Not always the most organised of travellers, I was relieved to find out while there was no iron/board in the room, it could easily be requested.

The bathroom was an adequate size with a great shower.

The location couldn't be much better, right on the main market square.

I only had breakfast in the restaurant which was delicious, although I also sneaked a peek the evening before at some of the evening meals being served which looked excellent.

I thought it was good the management sent me an email in advance of check in to warn me that the bar opens until late at the weekend and has live music so there could be noise disturbance. I was staying midweek so this wasn't an issue but perhaps a note to take if you're wanting a quiet weekend stay.

Overall, great value, thoroughly impressed both with the accommodation and the staff and will definitely stay again when I'm next in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Just to repeat the note of possible noise disturbance at weekends as the accommodation is...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Clapison, General Manager at The King's Head Hotel
Responded 27 Aug 2021
Good evening billio75! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay! I will be certainly passing your comments on to the whole team including our housekeeping team who work tirelessly to keep our hotel looking beautiful for our guests. Hope to welcome you back when you visit Beverley again in the future, Kind regards, Emily Piddington - Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Breezy101 wrote a review Feb 2022
Midlands76 contributions75 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the suite at the Kings Head for a night out in Beverley with friends. It was lovely, from the moment we checked in, to the moment we left, the staff were attentive, friendly and went above and beyond in every way.

We arrived particularly early and the room wasnt ready, which we wouldnt have expected it to be. Although our bags were taken to the room and we were able to have a drink in the bar.

The check in process was smooth and we were shown to our room, which I have to say was amazing. The suite had a walk in shower room, an area to have a bath and to get ready, a walk in wardrobe section and the main bedroom itself. We had a Nespresso coffee maker (and of course - Yorkshire Tea) and the room welcomed us with snacks and biscuits.

You just couldn't ask for more. The breakfast in the morning was really nice, the staff were friendly and accommodating.

Our only issue is that we were not able to stay longer ... next time we will be coming for at least two nights.

I was advised on check-in of the noisy weekend bar downstairs, however, to be honest, we were in the bar until it closed, so it didnt bother us at all, in fact, we loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Go for the suite if you can - its lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Clapison, General Manager at The King's Head Hotel
Responded 14 Jun 2022
Dear Breezy101 Wow...what can I say, where do I start. What an amazing review!! I am so thrilled to hear that every part of your stay was pretty much perfect, We really do thrive for excellence and im so glad we met your expectations. Thank you so much for the kind words. We cant wait to see you again. Kind regards, Kora
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Graeme1873 wrote a review Sept 2021
Graeme18738 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights at the Kings Head at the start of our cycling holiday round the Yorkshire Wolds. We liked it so much we booked another night at the end of our holiday.

Both the rooms we stayed in were very large and spotlessly clean and were very tastefully decorated. The location is excellent and all of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The pub itself was also really nice and the lovely cooked breakfasts were just what we needed to set up as up for the day. We also had a Sunday Roast dinner in the Sunday night and it was excellent - we even received a discount for being a resident.

All in all we had a great stay and will definitely stay here again if and when we are back in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Clapison, General Manager at The King's Head Hotel
Responded 16 Sept 2021
Hi there Graeme1873, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. I will pass your comments on to the team! I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you back in the near future, Kind regards, Emily Piddington - Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DurhamSunshine_Sue asked a question Sept 2020
Durham22 contributions6 helpful votes
Do the windows in the rooms open ?
Answer from Declan K
Halifax, United Kingdom95 contributions104 helpful votes
Don’t stay here complete dump
Answer from Resort10745096027
Halifax, United Kingdom
We did book in at the King's Head in the end. The hotel answered our query promptly and we really enjoyed our stay there. We'd definitely go back there .
Mollymash asked a question Apr 2018
Bedford, United Kingdom18 contributions12 helpful votes
Are the hotel rooms dog friendly ?
Answer from Karen C
Filey, United Kingdom101 contributions50 helpful votes
Hi I am not really sure to be honest although they are allowed in the pub
Trevor B asked a question Mar 2018
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Do they have free parking?
Answer from HSBsMIssus
Northumbria108 contributions122 helpful votes
yes enough for about half a dozen well parked cars. once parked try and leave it till you check out.
Tim S asked a question Jan 2018
54 contributions39 helpful votes
Are dogs welcome?
Answer from KingsHeadBev
Beverley, United Kingdom4 contributions
Dogs certainly are welcome in our conservatory area. Hope to see you and your 4 legged friend soon!
Helen W wrote a tip 8 Apr
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pub car park is tiny but we did get a space, can use market place but very busy during shopping hours"
Read full review
Louise J wrote a tip Mar 2024
United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book the Longshanks room"
Read full review
Kevin B wrote a tip Feb 2024
5 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid weekend for noise!"
Read full review
murgyMountain wrote a tip Nov 2023
mountain3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lovely hotel, central location for Beverley. We used the bus service also which was really good for access to Hornsea and Bridlington. "
Read full review
Idyllic Italy wrote a tip Oct 2023
Driffield, United Kingdom4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Saturday has a really great Market and a lovely town with 2 great Church’s The Beverley Minster and St Marys"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Beverley area.
PRICE RANGE
£68 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireEast Riding of YorkshireBeverley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE KING'S HEAD HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Beverley)

Frequently Asked Questions about The King's Head Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The King's Head Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Rooms Beverley (0.2 miles), St. Mary's Church Beverley (0.2 miles), and East Riding Treasure House (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The King's Head Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The King's Head Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The King's Head Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The King's Head Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Central42, Chamas Rodizio Bar & Grill, and Whites Restaurant and Patisserie.
Is The King's Head Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Beverley.
Are there any historical sites close to The King's Head Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The White Horse Inn (0.1 miles), North Bar (0.3 miles), and Beverley Guildhall (0.1 miles).
All Beverley HotelsBeverley Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BeverleyHotels near The King's Head Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire