Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#8 of 11 B&Bs in Appleby-in-Westmorland
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Internet
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Dufton, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6DF England
50Reviews2Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 16
  • 8
  • 6
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Julie E wrote a review Aug 2020
Dartford, United Kingdom104 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Brow Farm on the second night of our touring/walking holiday. What a charming place and set in beautiful countryside. The view from our bedroom looked out onto Dufton Pike (we were walking this the next day - our reason for staying).
We are somewhat surprised at the amount of negative comments written about Brow Farm . I think travellers need to be sensible and remember it is a working farm which runs a B&B and not a hotel. We received a very friendly welcome from Wendy and our room was good with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast the next morning was set in a spacious dining area and was very nice. Lots of choice.
Brow Farm has plenty of parking at the rear of the property and the village of Dufton is lovely. We walked to the nearby pub The Stag for our evening meal. This is a great stay for people walking The Pennine Way or doing local walks in the area. All social distancing was observed. We would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the back of the property have the view of Dufton Pike. Very nice.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ilovetravel wrote a review Oct 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom390 contributions77 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed recently whilst walking the Pennine Way. The room which I had was ensuite, with tv and spacious but decor could do with updating. There was also a lounge with books for communal use. Breakfast was good, packed lunch an alternative if you wish for an early start.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DorsetTravelmad wrote a review Sept 2011
Dorset68 contributions35 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Very well placed in Dufton, ideal for walking. For a 4 star B & B this is not up to the same standard as many others of the same rating. Although adequate, areas such the welcome and a make over for the room are desirable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2011
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wereonthemove wrote a review Oct 2010
Colchester, United Kingdom8 contributions15 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Welcome almost non existent. Room floor dirty and obviously not cleaned after previous occupant.Bedding suspect, en suite floor dirty. Dining room adequate with good breakfast
Read more
Date of stay: October 2010
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spacehopper9 wrote a review May 2016
the moon2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Horrible, the bedding smelt, the mattress was very sunken, the room was covered in dust, and the toilet had not been cleaned. We let ourselves in as no one there when we arrived. I believe that this is the only B&B in Dufton beside the Youth Hostel which may explain the lack of any care taken. The cooked breakfast was not very nice either. Such a shame as a really beautiful area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wendy S, Owner at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast
Responded 16 May 2016
Thank you for your response. I do find your comments very rude and upsetting. Re: not being here when you arrived. I left a note on the door explaining I had to go and pick my son up from work (who isn't old enough to drive yet) and that I would be back by 5.45pm, which I was and I came to see you as soon as I got back. We are a B&B not a hotel with a full time receptionist. When you were here you did not mention anything was wrong. As for the room being covered in dust that is an absolute over statement - it was not and as for the toilet not being cleaned that too I find extremely rude as the rooms are cleaned on a daily basis. Looking through our visitors book it bears no resemblance to your comments here. I am one of only two B&B's left in the village along with the youth hostel in the last 10 years the number of B&B's in Dufton have reduced from 8 to the two of us who are still here and my guess is it is down to glass half empty customers like you. Please feel free to use the youth hostel next time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erikerie wrote a review May 2012
Leerdam, The Netherlands22 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very pleasant, spacious ensuite room. Good facilities. Good service. Very recommendable for an overnight stay while hiking the Pennine Way. Packed lunch could have been better, but I must admit I did only ask for this the night of arrival and not while booking.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
walkerdawn wrote a review Jul 2019
Basingstoke, United Kingdom32 contributions28 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our visit was booked through our travel agent but we were asked to give a weeks notice for a packed lunch. Having emailed the requested week before and not receiving a response, we phoned and left a message to the same effect (including our phone number). Still no response. Surprise, surprise, no packed lunch provided. Fortunately we had sufficient provisions we could sort ourselves out. Very poor cleanliness and by today’s standards the en-suite having carpet is not acceptable and very old fashioned. Dead flies on windowsill. Having now read some of these other reviews, we question the bed changing and cleanliness. Wendy appears to have too many commitments. Don’t have the porridge! Having said all the above, Wendy was very accommodating in doing our breakfast for 6.30 enabling an early start for our very long and hard day on the Pennine Way.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Random_Person wrote a review May 2019
St. Albans, United Kingdom42 contributions71 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Not good at all. In fact, I can’t remember a worse place.

My room (a single) appeared to have been decorated in the ‘80s and not touched since. Everything was old fashioned and very well past its best. The mattress was saggy and uncomfortable, and the towels were thin, fraying and old.

The carpet in the bedroom and bathroom (yes, a carpet in the bathroom - as I say, all a bit ‘80s) was worn and fraying.

Standards of cleanliness were below par. There was plenty of dust visible.

The building’s central heating boiler was in a cupboard in the corner of the room. Every time it fired up (which was often) it was very noisy. Not conducive to sleep.

In summary: pretty terrible really.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lesley B wrote a review Mar 2019
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom13 contributions15 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms and and en suite very dirty. No bathmat provided. En-suite is situate in a cupboard and needs ripping out post haste. Bed and bedding old and dated. Need replacing urgently. Breakfast table setting without teaspoons, sugar, napkins. Chipped cup. Had to ask for milk on second day! Instant coffee poured into a coffee pot. No proper coffee; surely everyone has a cafetière these days. First breakfast swimming in grease, bacon paper thin and inedible.
Although Wendy was a nice lady I did feel her heart was not in this particular venture. We are well travelled people and this was just the worst. Beautiful views out of the window, if you can see them through the cobwebs. Wendy you need to clean, clean, clean.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay away if you like a bit of spit an polish!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynnep18 wrote a review Jun 2018
Lancashire, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
So awkward!! Hate to complain but the room was so dirty I had to ask the owner to clean it. I appreciate that this is a busy working farm and that the owner had another job as well as running a b&b, but if you can’t keep the room reasonable clean then don’t bother offering it out to customers. Even other walkers were surprised at the photos I took of the room. So annoying when your expected to pay full price for substandard accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MammaPea asked a question Aug 2016
Bristol, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
We having some cyclists camping with you tonight, will there we access to showers?
Debbie M asked a question May 2015
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom36 contributions28 helpful votes
Do you have wifi?
Answer from Wendy S
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom1 contribution
We have WiFi in our house which can be picked up in the dining room of the B&B. Hope that helps.
Julie E wrote a tip Aug 2020
Dartford, United Kingdom104 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms overlooking the back of the property have the view of Dufton Pike. Very nice."
Read full review
Lesley B wrote a tip Mar 2019
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom13 contributions15 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away if you like a bit of spit an polish!"
Read full review
Bob E wrote a tip Oct 2018
Wrexham, United Kingdom279 contributions115 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check the bedding on arrival!"
Read full review
stanleyharold p wrote a tip Jul 2018
Poole, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"room 3 is on the ground floor"
Read full review
travellingsteenz wrote a tip Jul 2017
Marrakech, Morocco, Africa94 contributions60 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"rooms facing away from the road have stunning views"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Appleby-in-Westmorland area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictEden DistrictAppleby-in-Westmorland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BROW FARM BED & BREAKFAST - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast
What are some of the property amenities at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, free parking, and free internet access.
What food & drink options are available at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
All Appleby-in-Westmorland HotelsAppleby-in-Westmorland Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire