We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Higher Moor Farm

Nottington Lane Nottington, Weymouth DT3 4BW England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (386)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (8)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 17 campsites in Weymouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
We are a family orientated farm campsite catering for tents, caravans and motorhomes offering pitches on one our 8 acre level fields with views over the beautiful rolling Dorset countryside. We are only a short drive from the town of Weymouth with its famous Golden sands. The isle of Portland, Dorchester and the famous jurassic coast are close by, so there is always lots to explore and do. We now hire out fully furnished Pod Lodges all season. During the Summer Holidays we also hire our furnished Bell Tents.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bicycle rental
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Convenience store
Wifi
Billiards
Table tennis
Shops
Private check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
664Reviews11Q+A48Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 566
  • 66
  • 17
  • 9
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Cathybrownstar wrote a review Mar 2024
14 contributions9 helpful votes
Would like to thank Daniel and his team for a lovely stay. Welcomed and settled into our pod very quickly and given all the local information we needed. The pod was fully equipped with everything you need. Shower was amazing and beds very comfortable with plenty of bedding and towels. Couldn't fault our stay definitely 5 stars. Welldone higher moor farm we will be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Smy, General Manager at Higher Moor Farm
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your amazing feedback. We are so thrilled you had such a great stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lau wrote a review Sept 2023
Essex, United Kingdom24 contributions12 helpful votes
This is the 2nd time we have stayed here in a lodge. It is a lovely campsite. All the staff are friendly and nothing is ever too much trouble. The lodge itself was okay I like that there is always a little welcome box with bits in like washing liquid, tea,coffee and a tea towel. This was good as I had forgotten some bits. Thanks for a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Smy, General Manager at Higher Moor Farm
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased to read you had a great stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bkcontessa6 wrote a review Sept 2023
9 contributions5 helpful votes
2nd time staying here in a lodge . This time we felt quite disappointed . The lodge was dirty , bedding had black “fly” marks on . Frame on toilet door broken . No amenity pack provided ( like last year ) so lucky I had brought some washing up liquid and a sponge / cloth . I don’t understand how you provide washing up liquid on the touring facilities but nothing in a £600 lodge ? Water pressure was quite sporadic in the lodge . Ended up having to go to the touring facilities to shower as was hotter and water available . The decking area on lodge was really dirty , dusty , cobwebs and could really do with a decent clean . The lodge had all the pots and pans etc but just need to be more thorough in the cleaning . Also please put a 40 inch Tv in these lodges as 24 inches is just too small for the position of the tv . No fault of the site owners but we were also plagued by wasps ! Used the pizza van and horse box bar but just as the party started getting going it was all shut up and back to the lodge it was . Amusement area has gone downhill even more from last year . Half the games don’t work and takes the kids money . Also why close it before 8pm when you have entertainment on in the field till past 9pm ? I think the location is great , Daniel and the team are very friendly and the lodge was comfortable but standards have definitely slipped since last year . We didn’t use the shop but it Seemed to have all the basics . We would return and would recommend a stay but not at £600 values worth for a holiday weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Smy, General Manager at Higher Moor Farm
Responded 3 Sept 2023
We are so sorry to read this review about your pods. Our welcome boxes were late in delivery so sadly we were had one change over without them. With regard to the pod cleaning I will be speaking to our Cleaning team to ensure they are being properly checked before signing them off. We take pride in our cleanliness and sadly I do feel you have been caufght in an isolated incident. Please accept my sincere apology for this. We will look into the games room, sadly with the bad weather this summer, we had a lot of vandalism. However we will look at freshening it up over the winter. Kind regards Daniel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Clare wrote a review Aug 2023
London, United Kingdom10 contributions7 helpful votes
A very good family friendly campsite. The site itself isn’t too big, so the kids can be confident to go to the toilet without getting lost on their return. Facilities are clean, staff are very friendly. Well stocked shop, external food vans and music frequently which is a nice touch. The only small niggle I would have is that the games room could do with some updating. Some of the arcade machines don’t work, two looked they worked but swallowed our children’s money, the blower for the air hockey isn’t particularly powerful anymore and the pool cues had no tips. Other than this, we really enjoyed our time, however, whilst the non-defined pitches allows for flexibility for tent sizes and locating people as groups, it does mean that your tent runs the risk of being very close to others. Ours had someone elses ropes overlapping ours and their social area set up at our heads when in bed. Luckily we were so tired that we fell asleep quickly regardless
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Smy, General Manager at Higher Moor Farm
Responded 3 Sept 2023
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We will take on board your feedback about the games room and see if we can make some improvements.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mervyn R wrote a review Aug 2023
Bristol, England, United Kingdom67 contributions21 helpful votes
Lovely campsite, our 3rd visit & will be returning again. Spotless facilities, great food trucks & entertainment. The owner was very helpful & pitched us next to our family & close to the other family member in a pod.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Smy, General Manager at Higher Moor Farm
Responded 3 Sept 2023
Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased to read you had a great stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Danielle G wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
On arrival the lady was very friendly and showed us our pitch. We have three young children and the site was lovely for them. Football goals, games room and a nice clean contained green site. We stayed in a camper so did not use the toilets but showers where good. Dog friendly, family friendly. Well stocked shop on site. Would highly recommend and would revisit if in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Perry family wrote a review Aug 2023
5 contributions2 helpful votes
It was our fist stay at higher moor farm campsite, but it won't be our last. The campsite is situated in a quiet area with easy access. From the time we arrived to the time we left we were made to feel welcome.  Oue caravan pitch was spacious, level and hard standing. For once our electrics never tripped. The shower blocks and wash areas were well presented modern and very clean.and over the weekend entertainment was provided and was really gòod.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Smy, General Manager at Higher Moor Farm
Responded 3 Sept 2023
Thank you for your amazing feedback. We are so pleased to read you had such a great stay with us at the farm.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hayley A wrote a review Aug 2023
16 contributions5 helpful votes
Initially, we thought we'd struck it lucky. The grounds well maintained, nice clean toilets, seats in showers etc. Shop, park and games room onsite. Was told to pitch on a very muddy pitch. Ok, that's fine. Weather had been horrendous the week before and luckily I had a footprint for my tent. Then we were asked to scooch over a few feet to give neighbours a little more room. Fair enough. But then not entirely possible because of the state of the pitch. Worked with what space we had. Went out the next day and upon arrival we noticed new neighbours on otherside. So close that guy topes were overlapping ours! Felt like people were being crammed in. Where's the bloke to ask them to live over when needed! Fully set up when we got back so I didn't want to complain. Although I was VERY nervous about how close their campfire was to their tent, gazebo, windbreaker and MY tent. Toilet paper in toilets kept getting stuck inside the dispenser, so best off taking your own to toilets with you. Shower cubical flooded with the water from the person showering to the right of you. So out of the row of 4 choose the far right one or the 3 rd one along. But at least theyarr all equiped with big flat headed mop things to try and push the water down the drain. Kind of felt it was a never ending battle though if the shower on the right was occupied. Drinking water not correctly labelled. Some taps said drinking water. Some said not drinking water. Some said nothing sat all. Had to walk the whole site to double check what was safe and what wasn't. Some campers using water from washing up area. Dog food clogged the plugs of the washing up area. (Although a nice touch of washing up liquid and sponge at every sink) massive electricity pylon that made a racket of buzzing in the field. Shop not very well equipped. Grounds over all well maintained, just a shame we were placed on the slanting bit at the top of the field over the mouldy / stinky pitch (not all of them were bad) When taking the tent down the stench was AWFUL and felt like we'd been camping over an overflowing sewerage system. Now have the fun task of trying to clean off the equally smelly groundsheet. I paid £30 a night for early bird prices. My friend paid £50 a night. Not worth that money in my opinion. First campsite over the 5 years that I've been camping where I've said "I wouldn't want to go back" worst part of it for me was how we were all crammed in and we were placed over a stinking pitch. Shame because overall it's a good little location and has a lot of potential. Oh. And they had fish and chip night, pizza night, pop up bar and an entertainment tent which gave it extra points. However..... I would choose clean, basic and spacious pitches over that any day.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Smy, General Manager at Higher Moor Farm
Responded 3 Sept 2023
We note your lengthy feedback and are so sorry o read you did not have a great stay. Sadly, it seems you booked in when the weather was particularly bad and this did affect our pitches. This summer has given us some very challenging conditions but we have tried our best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BusinessMumOf4 wrote a review Aug 2023
113 contributions73 helpful votes
+1
The farm is tucked out of the way, and looks beautiful. We were given a friendly welcome by the female manager, and shown to our electric pitch. Pitch - there was no specific place to put the tent or car, and we were given no suggestions as the male manager whizzed off quickly after showing us to the pitch. The pitch was water logged, we didn’t realise how badly until we were all set up. Our entire week was spent sinking into the ground, and the pitch was on a hill which made our time in our tent disorientating. The entire section surrounding the tent was muddy, and smelt of manure. It became quite overwhelming. We couldn’t sit outside of the tent comfortably due to this. The toilets and shower block seemed pleasant, but they seemed to only be cleaned once a day which didn’t seem enough given the footfall. The showers were warm, but seldom hot. Dogs seemed to frequent the shower/toilet block, and as someone with a severe respiratory allergy to dogs this was a concern. The food stalls in the evening were a great idea. The paella was an exciting thing to arrive to, the staff were super lovely as were the staff on the bar. Curry night was lovely, we heard good things about the pizza but missed out (they’re super popular so be sure to order early!). The etiquette and rules are clear in the terms, to maintain a quiet site between 10pm and 8am. This seldom happened, as we experienced drunken behaviour from neighbours well into the early hours along with couples arguing loudly, there is no one policing this and so it was quite scary for our children who haven’t experienced this sort of thing before. All the female staff were lovely; super friendly and helpful. There is a very very noisy electricity pylon next to the camp - this kept us awake and provided a general annoyance throughout the trip. The play area was basic but our children had a great time making friends there, as they did at the indoor games room too. All in all, pretty surroundings and great ideas but lacking in cleanliness and did not provide a restful enjoyment of our holiday. I’m afraid we won’t be returning 😢
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for specific suggestions about how and where to pitch your tent on the grounds. Order food...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Smy, General Manager at Higher Moor Farm
Responded 3 Sept 2023
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry our site did not meet your expectations, but we are pleased the mass majority of people, many regulars continue to come and stay year on year.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mobile14749147206 wrote a review Aug 2023
Llanelli, United Kingdom1 contribution
On arrival we were greeted with a smile and friendly face, once booked in we got taken to our pitch which was Spacious. Once settled in we had a look around the site and checked the amenities out, the showers and toilets are kept to a good clean standard. The reception and shop was well stocked with local products. The evenings had something on every night weather depending, local vendors would turn up for hot food if you fancied a treat.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Smy, General Manager at Higher Moor Farm
Responded 3 Sept 2023
Thank you for your amazing feedback. It is so nice to read you had such a great stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Weymouth area.
PRICE RANGE
£69 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetWeymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HIGHER MOOR FARM - Updated 2024 Reviews (Weymouth)

Frequently Asked Questions about Higher Moor Farm
Which popular attractions are close to Higher Moor Farm?
Nearby attractions include Gladstones Family Jewellers (3.2 miles), Stuart Wiltshire Glass (3.3 miles), and Jurassic Safari (2.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Higher Moor Farm?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Is parking available at Higher Moor Farm?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Higher Moor Farm?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Les Enfants Terribles, EBIKE CAFE @ Deheers, and The Old Schoolhouse.
Are pets allowed at Higher Moor Farm?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Higher Moor Farm?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nothe Fort (3.7 miles), Player Ready Virtual Reality Gaming, Racing, Escape Rooms & LaserTag Weymouth (3.3 miles), and St Catherine's Chapel (4.5 miles).
Is Higher Moor Farm accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.