We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

397 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 397: English reviews
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very good holiday room 214 very good big and near lift food very good and staff effecient only downside was on the day of leaving no cooked breakfast provided only cereals and toast and the fact that one of the toasters burnt the toast and several slices got stuck wasnt good if we had been informed earlier the bus people...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gwen432
yeovil
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a sea view room and a better grade. It was superb .Tastefully refurbished with new bathroom facilities and plenty of new power points The powerful showercan be removed from the wall and is over a new bath so it was quite accessable even for our arthritic joints. . Very roomy with a coffetable and chairs by the window....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pamela c
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your Christmas break here at the Royal Hotel, Weymouth. The team will be delighted with your comments and the knowledge that their hard work was all worth it. I hope to see you again very soon and wish you a very happy New Year. Regards Steve....

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel for newyear with friends been here many times. Food excellent great entertainment just a tad a bit loud but very good. Room very clean bathroom had shower and was clean little bit small and payed for sea view. Could do with chest drawers in bed room and shelf in bathroom. But. Would return again Reece was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda L
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for taking the time to give us your feedback, I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your New Year break with us here at the Royal Hotel, Weymouth and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Regards Steve Steve Stott General Manager

Warminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent Christmas here and had a lovely time plenty of food with a good range of choice. Entertainment was good. The staff were very nice and the dinning staff were kept very busy trying to make sure we were all fed. We had a nice sea view room. Parking is the only problem as we could only park in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cargie19
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Happy New Year! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your Christmas break with us here at the Royal Hotel, Weymouth. I'm so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming back in the very near future. Hopefully the next time you visit the town wont be as...

Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I have just returned from "The Royals" christmas festivities 23rd--27th inclusive and what a wonderful xmas presentation it gave to all who stayed here, many thanks to ALL members of staff from Steve the general manager, to the reception, bar and restaurant,and the domestics,for giving 110% and not forgetting 'Reece'who was brought in to manage the entertainment...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carmenwestsussex
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of the entire team here at the Royal Hotel, Weymouth, Thank you so much for taking the time, so soon after your Christmas break with us to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the team will be equally pleased with the recognition you have given all of them,...

liverpool
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Just spent four nights here the staff were excellent, the food very good and the entertainment was very good, Only one complaint the the shower was not very powerful, but we were on the fourth floor. The room though small was comfortable and well decorated.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anndec
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I'm so pleased to hear everything was to your liking and I will certainly look into the water pressure situation in your room. I do hope we did not impact too much on your stay with this problem and I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Myself and my Husband stayed here last weekend from 9th to 11th December 2016. Absolutely adore this hotel - superior room facing the sea with a large balcony - heaven. Second time staying here and would recommend to anyone to visit - you wont be disappointed. Hotel beautiful, location fantastic and the staff warm and friendly

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisforster1952
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the lovely feedback and I am delighted to hear your stay was as enjoyable as your last visit. I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Weymouth. Regards Steve. Steve Stott General Manager

Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Freezing cold hotel! Reception staff told us the heating was on during the evening. This grand old building gets very very cold during the day considering the sub zero temperatures outside but the staff expect guests to be comfortable after the heating has been put on. The building is vast and will surely be cheaper to keep warm all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your views and I apologise sincerely for the inconvenience caused by the poor heating, especially in the Ballroom. You are correct when you say the building is vast and given the extremely cold spell we have had these last few weeks, we have had the heating on 24 hours per...

Tipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Stayed here on a shearings break, nice hotel shame about some of the staff especially the reception staff wasn't very friendly, but the one lady receptionist did like sitting in front of the fire to eat her dinner didn't matter that the guests would like to sit there, the staff in the bars and restaurant work very hard and are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback which I assure you will be addressed with the entire team, especially the Reception team for the poor service you received from them and for this I sincerely apologise, this is not the image we wish to project to any of our guests. I also apologise for the inadequate heating in...

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Oh 'deer' Shearing’s where has all your Christmas spirit gone? Our annual jaunt to the Royal hotel Weymouth for our Turkey and Tinsel break started with a very rainy journey and continued to be a bit of a washout for our stay. We've been going to Weymouth and staying at the Royal for Turkey and Tinsel, for many years, but...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nora H
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share your views from your recent Turkey & Tinsel break. I am so sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay and for the bad weather we had whilst you were here, the weather I'm afraid I have no control over. It seems there has been...

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.4 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
433 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Address: 90-91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Price Range: £44 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
rhyl north wales
over a year ago
Hampshire, United Kingdom

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles Gwen432, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 321 was nice but could be bigger”
 of 5 bubbles lindalZ661YI, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a sea view some of the rooms have been modernised. If you want it quiet you would need a room at the rear.”
 of 5 bubbles cargie19, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best rooms are the superior and premier, obviously you may more for the sea view, but well worth it”
 of 5 bubbles chrisforster1952, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sea views are incredible”
 of 5 bubbles NoraH958, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay