We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Royal Hotel, Weymouth

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (413)
Room & Suite (141)
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
£120
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#13 of 20 hotels in Weymouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Evening entertainment
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Desk
Private balcony
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English
857Reviews46Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 240
  • 241
  • 189
  • 95
  • 92
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Matt K wrote a review 5 Apr
Birmingham, United Kingdom3 contributions
I stay a lot round the country with work and this is the worst place I have stayed ever. Starting as soon as I got in the door the receptionist was rude and very unhelpful, they did not have a card machine to even pay I had to hand over my card for them to take the details which was hard to do as my business card was via apple pay. I got to my room late and had to be out quickly to meet a customer, when I went into the bathroom there was faeces left in the toilet unflushed and uncleaned, the TV did not work and the bed was so hard I got nearly no sleep all night. Honestly how they are still open I will never know its in such a state of disrepair. I would advise to book some where else if you are going on holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Honestly awful
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Craig D wrote a review 2 Apr
Salisbury, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
After contacting the team, they had stated this was a free room upgrade! This was reported during the stay and their response was that they would add it to the maintenance book. The food was ready in 3 minutes just like a microwave meal! I was embarrassed to report this as well as the poor condition of the room.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Brian wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions
Very old but beautiful hotel opposite seafront. Booked a one night stay . Very friendly staff. Our room was ok parts of room looking tired window drafty. But beds nice and comfy and clean. Bathroom was ok . Nice clean linen tea coffee making facilities. Breakfast was very basic had to smile at the quarter slice of fried bread on the cooked breakfast. Healthy eating I guess. Bit surprised at the amount of tables left uncleared. But waiting staff very friendly. Would use this hotel again but depending on room cost.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Clear dining room tables asap
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
nishiki80 wrote a review Mar 2024
35 contributions5 helpful votes
We came just for 1 night for a funeral. The hotel got a lift. We upgraded our room to sea view which was great idea. We had a buffet breakfast there which was really nice, you have to ask staff for a poach Eggs but no problems although the breakfast is not included in the price. The place is clean and staff friendly, nice furniture in our room but windows needs changing as they were really old. I'd come back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Walking distance to souvenir shops and just maybe 50 metres to the sea if that.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Luana L wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
******WOMEN BEWARE! This hotel is unsafe and the staff is just as scary. We came into Weymouth for a one night state. We started off on a rough foot, when we were put into a smoke filled room "even though the hotel does not allow smoking." I did ask to be moved to another room and pay the difference and was refused and told the hotel was full by the manager. Upon our return, a different staff member was on and told me she could move us, and did. I thought that was the end of problems but after dinner, upon returning, we were followed to our elevator by two men. They asked "where the party was" and asked for our room and floor. I think they could tell we were caught off guard and then said they were security on duty. Strange to say the least. We went to our rooms, (we booked two) locked the doors and went to sleep. Around 1am, two couples came back from what appeared to be a long night of partying. There was screaming, yelling and fighting on both sides of us, until about 8am. Both couples were arguing and running between and up and down the hallways. Several times, our door was attempted to be accessed and people were trying to open our doors all night resulting in no sleep. At 8am, as we decided to pack up and leave (BTW we had no phone to call down and open connecting balconies with these people!! We put furniture in front of all the doors - both balcony and main door) the same rude manager banged on our door not once but twice and told US to turn down our music. We advised him it was the room nextdoor and not only did he not apologize for banging so loudly, he STILL did not go next door. We did attempt to reach out to the hotel upon check out and were treated with the same indifference. I cannot advise you enough - do not book here, do not stay here. It is unsafe.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: I would not recommend Booking here. Some of the rooms are absolutely filthy the stains on the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Collett, Owner at Royal Hotel, Weymouth
Responded 5 weeks ago
We were sorry to read from your review about your dissatisfaction on certain aspects of your 1 night stay at our Leisureplex owned Royal Hotel in Weymouth. We would like the opportunity to address the points you have made. The manager of the hotel confirmed that a complaint was received about the allocated room smelling of smoke, the hotel was busy and you were upgraded to another room as these were the only rooms available. You describe in your review that you entered a “smoke filled room”. We want to clarify that had this been the case the fire alarms would have been activated and the hotel evacuated. The Royal hotel in Weymouth has a policy in place where they only allow guests staying at the hotel to access the upper floors after 10pm. On seeing you enter the hotel and walk towards the lift the night porter approached your party to confirm you were guests asking for clarification of your room number. This conversation was witnessed by another member of the team who stated at no point were your party asked "where the party was". The night porter makes regular checks of the entire hotel throughout the night, he states that the only noise detected on your floor was music coming from your room. At approximately 1.15am the night porter knocked on your door to request the music be turned down to an acceptable level, he confirmed that there was no unsocial behaviour coming from the rooms either side of yours as you have suggested. As soon as a member of the management team started shift on the Sunday morning they were made aware of the issue and accompanied the night porter to your room. Music was heard coming from your room and they knocked on the door for the 2nd time to request that you respectfully turn the music down. The team at the Royal hotel did not receive a complaint from your party regarding the issues you have mentioned in your review regarding inappropriate behaviour from other guests that kept you awake all night. We want to reassure you that the safety of our guests is our priority and at no point were your party as you stated “unsafe”. Alfa Travel belief that all of our guests have the right to provide reviews based on their experience, however these should be based on facts as these platforms can be damaging to a business if the review is not factual.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Somerset Belle wrote a review Feb 2024
Somerset, United Kingdom26 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed at the Royal hotel at the weekend, and on the whole, we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is an impressive building, but it does look rather tired, especially the bedrooms, and could do with sprucing up. The staff were very nice, friendly and welcoming, especially the restaurant staff at breakfast. The evening meals were rather small, but nice enough. Saturday nights entertainment was very good with Bingo, and the singer was great. Although the hotel is looking tired and could do with sprucing up somewhat, I'd return again, but I'd pay for a sea view bedroom, as the view from the back of the hotel is quite grim. Thank you to the hard-working staff for making our stay pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Harry S wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
Visited this beautiful Hotel for a short break, as I arrived I was met with stunning Architecture. The lobby was beautiful with an old fashioned gated lift. My room was a good size with a stunning view of Weymouth Bay, my bed was really comfy, the storage space was ample enough for me. The Breakfast was delicious and tasted freshly cooked which was a plus. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and I will definitely be back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
martin Eldridge wrote a review Jan 2024
Weymouth, United Kingdom32 contributions26 helpful votes
Bitterly Disappointed by the new owners they have just taken over the hotel and looking forward to our break on Monday 22nd Jan for 4 nights just had a phone call from Shearings ( not their fault ) saying it had been cancelled, the new owners have also cancelled another company called Breakaways for this year ,so I fear they will do it themselves and the prices will probably go up ,shame its a lovely hotel. Let's hope the staff will be looked after
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Collett, Owner at Royal Hotel, Weymouth
Responded 19 Jan 2024
We are so sorry to hear that your holiday was cancelled. Our holidays are usually considerably better value than many of our competitors and we are more than happy to look at whether we can re-book you if you can provide the details of your requirements.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GoPlaces68366661846 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The staff at the Royal Hotel in Weymouth were excellent. We went for the New Year and we could not have enjoyed it more. All the staff were friendly and really helpful. They worked together as a team and they made our holiday. Our room, 103 was really good.It was clean and very comfortable.It was quiet and warm. The food was excellent, good choice of menu and all was very well presented. Hope to return in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dr Aaron B wrote a review Dec 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom152 contributions70 helpful votes
+1
Well where do I start. From the outside the hotel looks very grand. We arrived at 7pm by a woman who was unsure how to check us in. But to be fair to them they have just been taken over by a new company which meant that there was a new system. We checked in and paid for breakfast. We were in a standard room. Room 103. On first impressions it looked ok. But then we got into the room. Let me start by saying that if I wasn’t desperate for a stay as my mother in law was unwell we would have stayed somewhere else. I have added the photos to this review. I do wonder if the room had actually been checked or cleaned. So let me start. Bedding was grubby and obviously just needs putting into the bin. There was coffee that had been thrown up the wall and onto the ceiling. A side board with coffee staines and the windows were disgusting. 🤮 The beds were awful and totally unsatisfactory as a bed. I’ve slept on better comfier floors. The icing on the cake was that in the bathroom someone had obviously spat in the sink. There was something that looked like someone had left that for us. The lady at breakfast was lovely and very chatty. Breakfast was sub standard but edible. My only advice is this place needs shutting down. The manager needs to be trained on what a hotel should be. It doesn’t need to be brand new but it should be clean. Clean is the basics. Standard room should not need substandard. The best thing about this hotel is leaving. Do Not Book Here it needs revamping.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Weymouth area.
PRICE RANGE
£68 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal hotel weymouth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetWeymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
71
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROYAL HOTEL, WEYMOUTH - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Hotel, Weymouth
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Hotel, Weymouth?
Nearby attractions include Gladstones Family Jewellers (0.2 miles), Weymouth Beach (0.00 miles), and RSPB Weymouth Wetlands at Radipole Lake Nature Reserve (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Hotel, Weymouth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Hotel, Weymouth?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Hotel, Weymouth?
Conveniently located restaurants include The White Hart Tavern, Nicetta, and Cafe Blue.
Is Royal Hotel, Weymouth located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Weymouth.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Hotel, Weymouth?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nothe Fort (0.6 miles), Player Ready Virtual Reality Gaming, Racing, Escape Rooms & LaserTag Weymouth (0.3 miles), and The Tudor House Museum (0.5 miles).
Does Royal Hotel, Weymouth have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.