We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Russell Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Russell Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

583 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 583: English reviews
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Another good weekend at the Russell, despite the entertainment still set in the 60s. I suppose it suits the elderly guests. Disappointed that the two "new" acts were the same genre. Apart from that, room fine, food fine, staff really friendly. Must give special mention to Barbara, who has only been waiting on for a week. She was really friendly...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldjb2015
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

oldbury
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our first visit to The Russell Hotel and found it very comfortable. The food was good with a choice of meals to suit most people. The staff we found to be very friendly and helpful. Would recommend it to others.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dorothyw478
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your superb review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Redruth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good value .The room was clean and well presented. The food and service was delivered in well organised way.The staff always pleasant and helpful . Excellent location on sea front. Entertainment adequate.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annszoka
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Portskewett
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Self drive Thursday/Monday mixed group of pensioners b&b + evening meal although it was extremely cold the Hotel was pleasantly warm rooms very clean and well maintained. Meals good choice service excellent. Entertainment better than expected, reception helpful. Bar staff good unfortunately no draught real ale. On the whole an enjoyable experience at a very reasonable price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tony G
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel room and the food was just first class.We had two good nights of entertainment and two nights of very pool entertainment too. Me and the wife arrived on 26th January 2017, but we was not told about all the building works that was ongoing, when I booked this holiday by phone.. The coffee shop and the reception was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank philfox_01
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Russell Hotel. Please accept our apologies again for the over-running building work. We had anticipated finishing before the hotel re-opened which is why you weren't informed when booking. We hope that you still managed to enjoy your stay overall and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Ok so we got this hotel on cheap last minute through Diash coach holidays Resort Great Hotel Location Great Hotel condition Very tired Room clean but poor standard Shower non existent Food edible very British served all too fast although no room here for romance over a shared table with stranger, we believe had we gone self drive we might...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve_sue_48
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Russell Hotel. We are sorry to read that you did not like the dining experience. We do try to provide every guests requests but those booking a last minute special offer are less likely to have their requests met over our guests who booked earlier. We hope that you will enjoy your upcoming...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We got a good deal on this hotel food. Was very nice nothing to much trouble for the staff in all areas of hotel room was nice and clean but could do with updating there was building work going on so no reception or phones or wifi at the time of arrival had to use the regent hotel breakfast was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank geraldineburgin
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us despite the on-going renovations and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel room warm but very basic and work going on. Generally very scruffy and our room had a non existent view - wall and roof of close buildings. No toiletries in bathroom. Don't forget yours if you venture here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josephine T
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff and food very good but the room was like staying in a fridge shower almost none existent no heating in bathroom which has a stone floor radiator dose not work had a small electric heater which we left on when we went out but cleaner would turn off so room was always cold on our return this was due...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith G
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Russell Hotel. We are very disappointed to read of your experience at our hotel. We hope that you made the management aware of your issues during your stay so that they could do their best to rectify the situation.

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

we only booked this 2 weeks in advance for £89 each, 4 nights 5 days so didnt expect too much,but what a wonderful surprise,good journey down from nottm,clean and tidy,comfortable room,very helpful staff,nothing too much trouble,food was great,entertainment every night,having a new reception and cafe area built while we were there but that didnt cause too much trouble and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
0.6 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#9 of 22 in Weymouth
438 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
433 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
956 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Russell Hotel is perfect for short & weekend leisure breaks in Weymouth – ideal for adult-only, half-board breaks. The coastal hotel is an ideal base for a holiday or short break to Weymouth, boasting easy access to the surrounding countryside, the town centre just a short walk away and the Channel Islands reachable by Condor Ferries' state-of-the-art hydrofoil. The spacious hotel restaurant serves a traditional English breakfast and a three-course dinner followed by tea or coffee. After this, why not retire to the lounge bar and relax with friends or enjoy the great live inclusive entertainment provided every evening by a variety of local musicians? The more energetic can even boogie the night away on the dance floor. The Russell Hotel offers a variety of short break packages throughout the year, including Nostalgia breaks and the ever-popular Tinsel & Turkey breaks during November and December. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Address: 135-138 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Weymouth, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Russell Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Worcester, United Kingdom

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Russell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms 4 and 6 unless you want to hear the entertainment until it finishes.”
 of 5 bubbles oldjb2015, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“from looking at lower level rooms these are the best sea view side”
 of 5 bubbles steve_sue_48, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't think there is any front view”
 of 5 bubbles 845KeithG, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“sea views are available”
 of 5 bubbles V939EWsteveb, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try for an upgrade to a sea view on 1st floor”
 of 5 bubbles 507alann, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5