We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Russell Hotel

135-138 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NG England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (296)
Room & Suite (95)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#9 of 20 hotels in Weymouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Russell Hotel is perfect for short & weekend leisure breaks in Weymouth – offering half-board breaks on the sea-front. The coastal hotel is an ideal base for a holiday or short break to Weymouth, boasting easy access to the surrounding countryside, the town centre just a short walk. The in-house coffee shop serves a selection of drinks and snacks throughout the day. The spacious hotel restaurant serves a traditional English breakfast and a three-course dinner followed by tea or coffee. After this, why not retire to the lounge bar and relax with friends or enjoy the great live inclusive entertainment provided every evening by a variety of local musicians. The more energetic can even boogie the night away on the dance floor. The Russell Hotel offers a variety of short break packages throughout the year, including Gameshow Getaway breaks and the ever-popular Tinsel & Turkey breaks during November and December.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Beach
Entertainment staff
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Public wifi
Restaurant
Evening entertainment
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
1,658Review56Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 460
  • 567
  • 372
  • 142
  • 118
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jane C wrote a review Yesterday
Goa, India4 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel reception, coffee shop and bar areas are all clean and welcoming. The rooms needed refurbishing as they were out dated, with paper pealing, mould in the bathroom, dirty windows and woodwork. The floors above were extremely creaky so much so that we were woken several times a night and early morning when the occupants of the upstairs room moved about! The food was a bit hit and miss, and was edible at best most days, the risotto that was served was a gloop of rice that tasted of celery on the plate completely inedible! The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we had a great weekend celebrating a special anniversary. I do think that Daishs could take some time to refurbish and this would make a big difference. Parking was good, prime location.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: try not to get a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Geoff M wrote a review 16 Apr
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Visited on 12 April 24 have visited other Daishs hotels before so new what to expect. Meals OK Room 125 looked like it had just been done up and had a brilliant view over the sea, beds very comfortable bit of noise from the traffic on the road in front of the hotel but never bothered me entertainment good concert room a bit quirky in 3 separate sections can only see the artist in one room fortuanetaly Daishs own own the hotel next door and and able to use the concert room in that hotel which has just been refurbished and is large and fantastically decorated well worth a visit
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gill B wrote a review 13 Apr
1 contribution
Disappointed with the the cleanliness of the rooms Only 1 cup and spoon and no milk on our arrival The food was never hot and very slow coming ,served mainly by front of house staff in the same clothes as they wore on the reception desk To be honest the evening entertainment was the best thing going for this hotel The evening entertainment was very good
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If you like cold food and slow service this is for you Cleanliness!!!! The lift was a nightmare
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Green, General Manager at Russell Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that some elements of the holiday were not up to our usual high standard. We appreciate the feedback and will do our best to address the issues raised.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Charlotte A wrote a review 13 Apr
1 contribution
Great location, hotel is quite old but clean, room was nice although the shower wasn’t good. Evening meals were awful, food was bland with frozen veg claiming to be ‘seasonal veg’. Portions were really small so my husband had to go and buy some food. Understaffed, the staff are run ragged and 6.300pm for the evening meal is too late when you have to wait for it to be served to you.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Green, General Manager at Russell Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that some elements of the holiday were not up to our usual high standard. 6.30pm is the standard time for all meals and has been in place for many years, I apologise if you found this too late. We appreciate the feedback and will do our best to address the issues raised.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Eileen M wrote a review 9 Apr
1 contribution
We have just come back from the russel hotel Weymouth i must say all the staff were very friendly and polite and nothing was too much for them, the rooms were in a state of repair needed to be brought to date , the beds were manageable , the breakfast was good and the evening meal was ok the plates were hot and the food was hot to , I will return as it’s good value for money and a base to stay , there was entertainment every night some were better than others, overall I would give it 2 stars
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Green, General Manager at Russell Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with some elements of the holiday. We have a programme of refurbishment in place and are working on updating the rooms and communal areas. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John R wrote a review 5 Apr
3 contributions
This hotel is in a great location right on the sea front. The staff are great and the rooms are spacious and clean. Yes, here and there could do with a coat of paint but that didn't bother us. The main dining room is big, we were located in a small room off it and it felt a bit enclosed. The entertainment room is big but unless you get in the area where the stage is, you can find yourself having to watch the entertainment via a tv screen. Get in early!!! The acts were ok and there was bingo and a quiz nightly. The drinks are quite expensive so take advantage if the 2 for 1 nights. All in all the Russell Hotel is a great place to stay, would definitely go back again. 😁
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book a sea view room. Get into the entertainment room early.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Green, General Manager at Russell Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. It is always to hear lovely feedback from our guests. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Trude W wrote a review 5 Apr
1 contribution
Took my assistance dog with me,and we were put in a room at the top of the building which was very hot.The window didn't stay open unless propped up.We had 2 fans and were still melting,my poor dog had to be wrapped in a cold wet towel whilst in the room to cool him down.The room was tiny,outdated with low ceilings which you could easily bump your head on and the floors sloped.This really spoilt our holiday.I worried about my dog constantly. Food was bland,but staff were lovely
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michael O wrote a review 3 Apr
1 contribution
Very dated hotel. Everything creaks, shower dirty, water pressure so low it dribbled out of shower. Food not too bad but service was slow and having half board we didn't receive our meal on the last night, had 3 excuses as to why not. Had to pay for pub meal. Not impressed, very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Green, General Manager at Russell Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry to hear that you found issue with the decor of the hotel, we have been working to update the communal areas. Any concerns with regards to the bathroom should have been raised with the Reception team and they would have ensured that this was addressed. I am sorry to hear that you did not receive your evening meal on one night, this is very unusual to hear.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tracy M wrote a review 2 Apr
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Everything was good apart from choas in the dining room slow waitress we had early morning breakfast day of departure had to be on coach at 9 at 8 in breakfast was not served breakfast until 8.45 so didn't have time to eat that and even evening meals was coming out slowly due to waitress and was luke warm when it got to us
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Green, General Manager at Russell Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry to hear of the delay with the departure morning breakfast, we have got some new staff in place who require additional training. I do hope that aside from this issue you had a lovely holiday,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Beverley M wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed in a single room 329 which was the top floor serviced by a lift. The room provided everything I needed but does have low ceilings in some parts. This wasn’t a problem for me as I am only 5ft 2. The staff were all polite and helpful a special mention to our waiter Glaf. My only concern was the heating. The radiator either had to be turned on by staff with a spanner or off the same way as the thermostat was broken. The shower was new and worked very well and hot water was always available. This hotel provides a great location and value for money for a 3 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If the weather is windy the room is noisy so bring ear plugs
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Green, General Manager at Russell Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I apologise for the issue with the radiator and that this could not be rectified during your holiday. We always love to hear such positive feedback and look forward to seeing you very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Weymouth area.
PRICE RANGE
£68 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
russell hotel weymouth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetWeymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
87
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RUSSELL HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Weymouth)

Frequently Asked Questions about Russell Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Russell Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Greenhill Gardens (0.3 miles), Weymouth Beach (0.2 miles), and Weymouth Portland Railway Walk (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Russell Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Russell Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Russell Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Russell Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Seabeats, Hamiltons, and The Dorset Burger Company.
Is Russell Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Weymouth.
Are there any historical sites close to Russell Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nothe Fort (0.7 miles), Player Ready Virtual Reality Gaming, Racing, Escape Rooms & LaserTag Weymouth (0.6 miles), and The Tudor House Museum (0.8 miles).
Does Russell Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Russell Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.