We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
28/08/2017 29/08/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Oakfold House

    Oakfold Beresford Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JG, England
    Hotel website
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    28/08/2017 29/08/2017
    Traveller (49)
    Room & Suite (19)
    Dining (6)
    Overview
    • Excellent79%
    • Very good17%
    • Average2%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “b b” (78 reviews)
    “on arrival” (31 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Family Rooms
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Oakfold House
    Deals
    28 Aug29 Aug
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
    1,162 reviews
    #4 of 20 hotels in Windermere
     
    The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
    581 reviews
    #13 of 20 hotels in Windermere
     
    Windermere Hydro Hotel
    941 reviews
    #13 of 13 hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
     
    Hillthwaite Hotel
    1,449 reviews
    #11 of 20 hotels in Windermere
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (410)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 403 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    The location was good with parking available. The room was clean with comfy beds and a decent size bathroom. Breakfast was nice and hosts Max and Marnie were helpful advising local walks and places to eat in the evening.More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Bridget D
    Response from Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold HouseResponded 1 week ago

    Hi Bridget, Thank you for taking the time to review Oakfold House. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Marnie and I take pride in our cleaning standards as we clean our rooms ourselves, and we feel that is reflected in...More

    Innkeeper's Favourite Review
    Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

    Perfectly located about 5 minute walk to bowness promenade. Beautiful building and our room was nice, a decent size and well equipped. The breakfast was amazing an there is plenty of choice. Would definitely stay againMore

    Thank smurphy89
    Response from Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold HouseResponded 8 October 2016

    Hi, Thank you for your review of Oakfold House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfasts are all freshly prepared each morning and we use locally sourced ingredients and make our own bread, yogurt and fruit salads. The eggs...More

    A TripAdvisor Member
    21
    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    This property has a nice location but does not live up to some of the reviews posted here. Our bed was uncomfortable, the room was far from clean, the window was half-sealed shut, the WiFi was spotty at best, one could not look into a...More

    1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
    Response from Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold HouseResponded 1 week ago

    Hi, We are really sorry for your experience of Oakfold House. Unfortunately you left this as an anonymous review and we are unable to identify the Room, or date that you stayed. We are surprised about the cleanliness a little more detail could help as...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    Gorgeous room allocated decor was fabulous location was perfect for visiting the lower or higher parts of Windermere only slight negative is the check in was 4pm which is quite late compared to most hotels but we were allowed to park out car in the...More

    Thank andysmiff25
    Response from Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

    Hi, Many thanks for the review, we appreciate the time you have take to do this. We are very pleased that you liked the room that you booked, we have done what we can to make sure that the rooms are perfect, and from the...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    We stayed two nights in what ia a wonderfull family run b& b. Very comfortable. Good sized room en suite. Tea and cfee provided also tv. Bed and pillows very cumfy. Owners very friendly and knowleagable. They recommended places to eat places to go and...More

    Thank Michael G
    Response from Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

    Hi Michael, Thank you for taking the time to review Oakfold House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have done our best to make sure that the rooms are as comfortable as possible for our guests and we are...More

    Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
    1,162 reviews
    #4 of 20 hotels in Windermere
     
    The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
    581 reviews
    #13 of 20 hotels in Windermere
     
    Windermere Hydro Hotel
    941 reviews
    #13 of 13 hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
     
    Hillthwaite Hotel
    1,449 reviews
    #11 of 20 hotels in Windermere
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$94 - US$188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 8
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Oakfold House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Cumbria >
    • Lake District >
    • Bowness-on-Windermere
    • Also Known As
    • Oakfold House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere ,
    • Oakfold House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (49)
    Room & Suite (19)
    Dining (6)
    Hotel & Grounds (49)
    Bathroom (2)
    Nearby
    The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
    581 reviews
    .43 miles away
     
    Windermere Hydro Hotel
    941 reviews
    .22 miles away
     
    Hillthwaite Hotel
    1,449 reviews
    .23 miles away
     
    Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
    1,162 reviews
    .81 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Choccobar
    728 reviews
    .22 miles away
    Graze
    169 reviews
    .28 miles away
    0Fat Olives Brasserie
    1,056 reviews
    .19 miles away
    Rastelli Ristorante-Pizzeria
    845 reviews
    .16 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Lake Windermere
    2,920 reviews
    .66 miles away
    The World of Beatrix Potter
    1,886 reviews
    .30 miles away
    Brant Fell Above the Bustle
    98 reviews
    .75 miles away
    The Fun Factory Bowness
    117 reviews
    .76 miles away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Oakfold House staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "All the rooms are excellent"
    Read review
    "r double room was very comfortable."
    Read review
    "Lower number of room is generally less floors to navigate."
    Read review
    "Godd hotel for visiting the lake"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing