We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Furness Railway Hotel

Traveller (79)
Room & Suite (17)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A newly opened 50 bedroom hotel in the centre of Barow in Furness. Close to railway station. All rooms en suite with air conditioning, free WiFi, hospitality trays, complimentary mineral water.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair access
Room features
Air conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business

Location

Full view
96Great for walkers
Grade: 96 out of 100
56Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
8Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
440Reviews
79Photos
13Q+A
38Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 342
  • 90
  • 5
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here as we often eat at Wetherspoonas and wasn’t disappointed. Room was lovely and clean. Went for a meal in the evening in the bar which was lovely followed by cocktails. Breakfast was great as you would expect with a spoons. Definitely go again
Read more
Response from David H, Night Shift Leader at The Furness Railway Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Kelloggs, Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and hope to see you again on your next visit to Barrow. Kind regards
Read more
+3
Just come back from our wedding anniversary away at the Furness Railway Hotel. Cost us £49.00 per night per room. Was well worth the money. Hotel looks like its been recently modernised. Lovely big bed and so comfy. Big modern room and bathroom was lovely. Overheard shower was
Read more
Response from David H, Night Shift Leader at The Furness Railway Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Nat, Thank you very much for your fantastic review, we are delighted to hear that we helped you have a lovely weekend and congratulations on your wedding anniversary, we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Barrow. Kind regards
Read more
We booked this hotel as a little cheap get away. Didnt expect much from the price so was very impressed when we checked into the room! Very stylish and modern and comfy beds. Tv with satalite channels and aircon in the rooms make it a comfortable stay. With guest access to the
Read more
Response from David H, Night Shift Leader at The Furness Railway Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Swood, Thank you very much for your fantastic review, we are delighted to hear that you were impressed with our hotel and hope to see you again on your next visit to Barrow. Kind regards
Read more
Ok ... so I was dreading staying here when my husband said he had booked it for a wedding we were attending just up the road. The hotel is a budget hotel and on a main road. You get a basic room however our room was really spacious- much larger than your average Premier Inn.
Read more
Response from David H, Night Shift Leader at The Furness Railway Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Mrs Spinks, Thank you very much for your review we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope that we see you again on any future visits to Barrow. Kind regards
Read more
Our 3rd time here and again Fantastic room spotlessly clean couldnt fault anything, good check in polite and welcoming , Looking forward to our next visit. Great location within walkin distance from some local bars and clubs..
Read more
Response from David H, Night Shift Leader at The Furness Railway Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Mick and Trish, Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted that you have had another great stay with us and look forward to seeing you when you return. Kind regards
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & Suite
bathroom not cleaned when serviced
cup stain on the sink in the bathroom
blood from a very sore toe!! no change of sheet bed just made with the existing bedding
Huge access room with ensuite wet room
Huge access room with ensuite wet room
PreviousNext
1234
Are pets (small dog) allowed?
Yes
0 votes
where to park
There's a car park round the back free after 3pm
1 vote
Show all answers
do we get breakfast
Hello Ruggeddave, We charge room only in the hotel, however there is a Wetherspoon public house attached to the hotel which serves a varied and reasonably priced breakfast menu from 7am through to noon 7 days a week. I hope that this helps. Kind regards
1 vote
Show all answers
coming tomorrow is there parking
Hi, sorry I missed your question, been away. There is parking behind it in a Public Car Park, free between 3pm and 8am.
0 votes
Show all answers
How far away from Lake District
Hello renniehil.. We are about 40 minutes to an hour in the car. I hope this helps Regards, Danielle
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"N/A as we only stayed one night"
"Top floor is quiet."
"Ask for a room nearer the reception area."
"We stayed in a ground floor room. View of the car park in the back street! But so quiet"
"we stayed in 337 and found it to be large and airy, full of light."
PreviousNext
1234568
PRICE RANGE
US$51 - US$111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLake DistrictBarrow-in-Furness
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing