We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hamsteels Hall

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hamsteels Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Family of 5, mum,dad,two kids and grandad,couldn,t believe the size of the place, could sleep 8,you,d still have loads of room. Friendly hostess,well equipped,two shower rooms,great showers,lovely bedrooms, we had a four poster,great kitchen lovely view out of patio doors, all on one floor,great for grandad,couldn,t fault it,very impressed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjsjmurphy
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

A lovely stay in the Bull Pen. Everything you could need, very clean and tidy. Great location and quiet at night, so great nights sleep in a very comfy bed. A welcome bottle of wine left too. A nice touch. Would recommend if you want to explore the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2016

This was the second time we have stayed here and certainly won't be our last! The Bull Pen is such a lovely cottage...so comfortable with everything we need. It is always spotless and tidy. Hamsteels Hall is in a wonderfully peaceful area. This makes for a very relaxing break. Added to this the owners are very hospitable and helpful. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pennypook2015
June W, Owner at Hamsteels Hall, responded to this review

Thankyou for your lovely comments. It was nice to meet you again and we look forward to seeing you both again in the future. June

Chelmsford
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Our cottage was clean, spacious and well equipped. Ideal location for visiting Durham and surrounding attractions. Our host June was very welcoming. The cottage is in a quiet location but close to 'park and ride'.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnBChelmsford
June W, Owner at Hamsteels Hall, responded to this review

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your say in Dairy Cottage, and hope you will stay with us again in the future. Best wishes June

brentwood essex
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a cottage for a week with two grandchildren and the parents couldn't ask for anything except better weather🙂 place was clean, plenty of room and equipment. Would go back must be lovely on a summers evening after touring the North East.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Timmy5573
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend on the 18th to the 20th March, was very happy with the stay throughout. We were welcomed into the cottage with a bottle of wine which was lovely. And the owner June greeted us to make sure everything was satisfactory. The cottage itself was great, it had all the appliances that you would need for your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmilyySmith
Hamsteels, Owner at Hamsteels Hall, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us - it was lovely to meet you both. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes June

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We stayed in the Dairy cottage for 2 nights in February. We were a group of 8 girl friends having a reunion. The cottage was very well equipped and warm. Beds comfortable and showers excellent. The kitchen had everything we needed for self catering. We all had a lovely time and thank you to June and Frank for making us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn D
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2016

We went over Xmas was great June and frank were lovely helped us with anything we needed ....left my phone charger at home frank found me one. Bull pen very nice and plenty room for the dog to wonder around and space outside. We will be back booking for easter loved it ! Val Jim brown and ivy the dog

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank val b
Hamsteels, Owner at Hamsteels Hall, responded to this review

Thankyou for your lovely review - so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. x

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2015

We have just come back from a lovely weekend break at Hamsteels Hall. The accommodation was perfect and the setting was so peaceful. Our little boy, who is 3, had an amazing time. We had went down to go the Polar Express but unfortunately due to the bad snow, we were unable to make it. We were a bit worried...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank the3bs2015
Hamsteels, Owner at Hamsteels Hall, responded to this review

So happy that you enjoyed yoir stay - despite the snow!! I was disappointed that you missed out on the Polar Express because of the snow, but I think your little boy found the snow exciting anyway. Hope you all have a wonderful Christmas.x

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2015

We stayed at Hamsteels Hall in the Bull Pen in November 2015 and we were very happy with the accommodation. The Bull Pen is clean and comfortable and despite the cold November weather every room was very cosy and warm thanks to the numerous electric radiators. Overall the accommodation is great value for money and I would certainly stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DarranCashmore
Hamsteels, Owner at Hamsteels Hall, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed it, despite the weather. Hope to see you again soon, Best wishes June

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
6.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham
8.0 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,850 reviews
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#11 of 19 in Durham
336 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Self Catering cottages only 10 minutes drive from Durham City, varying in size from 1 bedroom to 3 bedrooms. Four Star Visit Britain award for each cottage. Short drive to Beamish Open Air Museum, Diggerland, Durham City, Hadrians Wall, Northumberland, Alnwick Gardens, North East Coast, Metro Centre, Sunderland. All cottages are built of stone, and are fully modernised inside. The small cottages sleep 2-3, and the larger ones with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms sleep 8+. Off road parking beside each cottage. Wifi. Owners live on site. Prices include heating and electricity cost. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hamsteels Hall

Address: Hamsteels Lane, Durham DH7 9RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Price Range: £44 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamsteels Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your Hamsteels Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hamsteels Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles amandacI3912HF, 12 Oct 2014 | Read review
“The farm is a little isolated and whilst you get a welcome pack of tea coffee etc and an excellent bottle of wine, ensure that you take supplies.”
 of 5 bubbles P1906ZUyvonnem, 31 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Stay in a converted barn”
 of 5 bubbles qtiepie2, 6 Aug 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay