We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Traveller (126)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (152)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Honest Lawyer Hotel, a 46 bedroom, 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant is a modern hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a variety of dining options, all ideally located less then 3 miles from Durham City Centre.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Room service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
HOTEL CLASS
1,132Reviews
340Photos
12Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 451
  • 419
  • 168
  • 58
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This hotel is called the Honest Lawyer which is quite amusing given that due to a very severe illness suffered to one of our party we could not make the trip to Durham. The hotel were contacted through Booking.Com and by myself, and point blank refused to give ANY leeway when
Read more
Response from HonestLawyerHotel, Front Office Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Responded yesterday
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am very sorry one of your party have suffered a illness and I hope they are making a speedy recovery;. When you book through a 3rd party your booking terms and conditions are with the 3rd party and not the hotel, we always try our best to work with the 3rd party and the guest in regards to cancellations and amendments. I have had a look into your booking and I can see you booked a advance purchase rate which due to the high discount is a none refundable and none transferable booking which is clearly stated upon booking. This also means the hotel have already paid the 3rd party commission on your booking. I can also see when the 3rd party contacted the hotel on the day your group was down to arrive we did offer as a goodwill gesture to move the booking to a different date. Kind Regards Leeanne
Read more
Third visit here in the last few weeks as I've been very impressed with the food and service. Without a doubt the best fish and chips around and an amazing Sunday lunch. The staff are always friendly and helpful and tonight we were served by Lewis who is an absolute credit to
Read more
Response from HonestLawyerHotel, Front Office Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Responded yesterday
Good Afternoon Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I was please to read you have enjoyed all your visits to the Hotel. I have passed on your comments to our chefs and to Lewis. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards Leeanne
Read more
Hadn’t been here for a long time ,we had been to a funeral we went here afterwards, very impressed there was a separate area for the funeral buffet ,staff we very nice on arrival .there was good parking which was helpful lots of people turned up.would like to go back again
Read more
We went for a relaxed girls lunch and we definitely chose the right place! Food was amazing and very fast friendly service by a young lady Called lauren she was well presented and couldn’t have done more, always nice to be served by someone who smiles and looks like they enjoy
Read more
1 night stay and very happy, the food was amazing the bar girls were super friendly, one downside watching the kitchen guys eat their food was a bit off putting, place is clean and well presented and the rooms are clean and the shower is good only thing I would say about the
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Honest Lawyer Hotel
The Twin Room at The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Honest Lawyer Hotel
The Suite at The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Honest Lawyer Hotel
The Four Poster Room at The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Photo provided by managementThe Honest Lawyer Hotel
Coffee facilities
Photo provided by managementThe Honest Lawyer Hotel
Courtyard Bedroom
PreviousNext
12345630
Is the hotel dog friendly? If so where in the hotel is he able to go?
Good afternoon Yes we are a dog friendly hotel, We have 15 bedrooms which we allow dogs to stay so you must let us know when booking so we can allocate you the correct room, there will be an extra £7.50 per night per dog. Dogs are also allowed to join you in the bar area of the hotel. If you have any questions or would like to book please feel free to contact us.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi Carol. Above answer is correct. It is maximum should take 20 mins. Kynren is in Bishop Auckland. it is very straight forward and easyly found from Honest Lawyer. Kindest Regards Unsal.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"Do not eat here"
"didn't stay and wont be"
"away from the road"
"Any of the motel style rooms."
"mid numbered courtyard (dog friendly) rooms furthest from road (not very busy at night)"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$62 - US$113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western durhamdurham best western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDurham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing