We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Show Prices
#9 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

866 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Honest Lawyer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 860: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this place for the first time today, superb welcome by a foreign male who seemed to be the manager. Great service and the side order of onion rings were really well presented in a fry basket. Paid a little more than planned for lunch..tuna jacket potato and a coronation chicken panini with one side of onion rings and 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cat P
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the Restaurant. I`m delighted you enjoyed your lunch with us. And I genuinely hope your lunch date was a success. Reading your review made my day. I just had a briefing with my team.And I was telling them. Yes. We are may little expensive than some other places. But , every guest...

Leeds
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Location of the hotel is good for travellers who have access to a car and want to stay away from the City centre. The reception was very friendly and registration a breeze. The main dining and bar area looked very appealing and our first impressions all positive. We stayed in 2 of the rooms which surrounded the car park, both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coolfish1961
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. All the point you have made on your review. I can assure you. I`m already looking in to them. Reading your review, I found it very constructive, We try to improve our standards on daily basis. and for that reason owners are committed to do some changes in the rooms....

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Helpful, easygoing staff when booking. We had a good corner room which enabled my son to have his own bedroom and television. Very clean rooms, decorated well but there was a definite strong musty smell. The rooms need better ventilation and the bathroom fan was either not working or too slow. We opened the windows but the locking mechanism did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1JNH
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. First thing Monday morning, I will get Eddie to look at plumbing in the room you were staying about the smell you have mentioned. Staff definitely makes the difference here at Honest Lawyer. Normally coffee is brewed freshly every morning. And this is get done regularly trough out breakfast service....

Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a motel but it also has an excellent restaurant. The food is delicious and the portions are perfect to leave you feeling satisfied. Beware the fish and chips, the fish is gigantic and not for the faint hearted! The staff in the restaurant are very pleasant and friendly and the decor is lovely, it's very relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the Hotel and restaurant. Yes. Our fish and chips is quite a large one. We do have some regulars come every week especially for fish and chips. As always, team here makes the difference. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the not too distant future. Kindest Regards...

Beetham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had dinner bed and breakfast at The Honest Lawyer and really enjoyed it, the hotel is clean, smart and welcoming. The food is delicious and served promptly. Best of all are the staff, well trained and extremely efficient, friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. I`m delighted to hear you had a great stay with us. I`m also very pleased to hear you enjoyed your dinner with us too. Team here at Honest Lawyer makes the difference. They are genuinely nice people.They are asset to the hotel. I`m so proud of them. I hope we...

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Honest Lawyr last night. Staff excellent and couldnt be more helpful. Room a little tired and bath room cold . However an extra heater was supplied within minutes of asking. Accomadation suitable for our needs. Also very practical for disabled access. The resturant was excellent, they have recently updated the menu and I have to say all 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lbw1w
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. I`m pleased to hear you found us value for money. Also just want to let you know. I had a meeting with the ovners. And I have promised new furniture for all the rooms in 2017. Also, new alacarte menu seems has been a big hit. We really do get...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

My friend and I decided to spend a weekend in Durham, and picked this hotel as it was cheaper than the others in town. We have been very happy about our choice: the room was lovely and the bus ride was approximately 15 minutes from the city center, with the bus stop just outside the hotel. Recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clelyssa
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. We always try to be good value for money. And also we try to improve our standards on daily basis. Especially in the rooms. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the not too distant future. Kindest Regards Unsal Aydin General Manager.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Good, location with a decent car park. The Honest Lawyer interior is very smart, with a good bar area ideally suited for bar meals. You can choose from the a la carte menu. The haddock with beer batter was a good size was well cooked and came with large chunky chips, along with minted mushy peas and a large dollop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geordie008
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the Restaurant. I`m sorry you found our fish and chips expensive. But same time a lot of our guest comes here on a weekly basis to have fish and chips. Because of the quality. When we do our pricing on the menus, we always think our customers first. Because we want them...

Durham UK
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Went with friends for Sunday lunch, went to see where we could sit and the f&b supervisor said "one minute" not a smile or hello in sight. Were told we could sit at the back which we did. No acknowledgement from staff for 10 minutes so we walked out. Will never return back there again. Disgraceful service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holi K
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the restaurant. I`m very sorry about your experience when you arrived here. As we speak I`m looking in to, who were working on that Sunday shift when you were arrived. I always tell my staff. Does`n`t matter how busy they are. They have to always acknowledge our guests as soon as they...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here one week ago as a family funeral was held at the venue the following day. After checking into our room in the evening, we spotted hair all over the bathroom and on the bed linen. After pulling the covers back, we realised the sheets had not been removed after the previous occupant had checked out. They were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. I`m really sorry to hear, you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I will certainly look in to all the points you made. But same time. I have to be very clear about the linen. We do change every linen and towels after the room been occupied. And I can`t...

285 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (34)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (159)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Double Room (17)
Viewed
Family Room (24)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Suite (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Twin Room (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,959 reviews
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.7 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.7 mi away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#11 of 19 in Durham
366 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Honest Lawyer Hotel, a 46 bedroom, 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant is a modern hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a variety of dining options, all ideally located less then 3 miles from Durham City Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Address: Croxdale, Durham DH1 3SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Price Range: £42 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Honest Lawyer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Honest Lawyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#5 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Honest Lawyer Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Honest Lawyer Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“motel style rooms at back 26 look out onto fields so it was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 713suef, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room without an inter-connecting door for less noise if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles MarkA685, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The hotel has rooms in the main building but is also a motel for there's an annex outside.”
 of 5 bubbles MarionM138, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“easy to locate”
 of 5 bubbles cherylg628, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the front of the hotel and were troubled by the traffic noise from the busy road below.”
 of 5 bubbles Aileen785, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5