We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Traveller (47)
Room & Suite (29)
Pool & Beach (4)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Bannatyne Hotel Durham provides quality accommodation at great value prices. If you need to stay in the North East of England on business or for pleasure the Bannatyne Hotel Durham will provide you with the facilities you need. FREE parking, FREE wireless broadband internet and FREE access to the Health Club
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Sauna
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
553Reviews
79Photos
9Q+A
75Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 177
  • 209
  • 88
  • 38
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My friend and I stayed here for three nights. The hotel is basic but satisfactory. We knew before booking that the meals were in the other building so that wasn’t a problem. Colin and Mandy looked after us really well on reception. One of the nights we had a large group turn up
Read more
Response from Matthew E, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear SueE1293, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review with regards to your recent girls weekend visit. The hotel can be very busy at times and the hotel team are required to manage this. I will be happy to share your comments with the rest of the team as I am sure they will be pleased to be mentioned. The team and I look forward to your return. Kind Regards Matthew Emery Resort Manager - Durham
Read more
+2
MINGING! MINGING! MINGING! Booked up for a night stay in this hotel. Me and my partner had room 37 on floor 2. When first walking in the room it smelt damp and foisty. The carpets are filthy and stained, the beds were dirty full of stains and had pubic hairs on. The house
Read more
Response from Matthew E, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear MarnieLS98, I am so sorry that the hotel did not live up to its normal high quality standards. I have discussed your comments and photos with the housekeeping team. I am really disappointed that you were given a room that required attention. I understand that your comments were discussed with the receptionist on checkout. If this had been mentioned on checkin then we could have moved you to a more suitable room. Kind Regards Matthew Emery Resort Manager - Durham
Read more
Instead of remembering a lovely chilled relaxing spa break, I remember a stressful, sleepless break in a mediocre room. We were supposed to get a complimentary drink on arrival for booking directly with the hotel, didn't happen. Glasses in the room were dirty. We couldn't
Read more
Response from Matthew E, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Sweet-like-cherries, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Bannatyne Resort Durham. I am sorry that the experience during your stay was not as relaxing as you had wished. The hotel is a very busy popular destination with guests choosing to return throughout the day and late evening. The Health Club is indeed in a separate building some 40 meters from the Hotel. I am sorry that you will not be returning. Kind Regards Matthew Emery Resort Manager - Durham.
Read more
Stayed at the bannatyne hotel durham as part of a spa weekend. Found the hotel room to be very modern and have a great feel about it. It then came to the night were things were more noticeable, first of all i didnt find the bed comfortable and hated the fact that the king size
Read more
Response from Matthew E, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Responded 6 Dec 2018
Dear Ian1990, Thank you for taking the time to share your review after your recent visit to Bannatyne Resort Durham. I am pleased that you found your room to be modern and have a great feel to it. The Sealy mattresses recently added to the rooms are highly recommended and our regular guests have been pleased with a comfortable night's sleep. Many budget hotels choose to use 2 single beds. This is simply so that hotel operators can choose to either use the room for a twin or a double offering. I find by adding a mattress topper that this does not give the feel of 2 mattresses zipped together. I will pass on your comments to Susan as I am sure she will appreciate the positive feedback. Regards Matthew Emery Resort Manager - Durham
Read more
It’s a fairly modern hotel next to a spa and pool facility. Lots of free parking, clean and comfortable room, very friendly and helpful staff. It’s a bit out of town near an American style strip mall, but good value for money.
Read more
Response from Matthew E, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Responded 6 Dec 2018
Dear John W, Thank you for sharing your kind comments after your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am happy that you found the hotel and spa facilities to be clean and comfortable with friendly helpful staff. The team and I look forward to your return. Regards Matthew Emery Resort Manager - Durham
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
Photo provided by managementBannatyne Hotel Durham
Bedroom
Room
Basic bedroom
Room
The bathroom
PreviousNext
123456
In spa do you get dressing gown and towels slippers
towel didn't get dressing gown or slippers.
0 votes
Do they have a restaurant? Can you post menu please
Not in the hotel itself no. There is one across the car park though but it's mainly healthy meals as it's part of the gym.
0 votes
Show all answers
Yeah there is a hair dryer in the drawer and tea and coffee facilities.
1 vote
Show all answers
How easy is it to get in to Durham centre without using a car?
You would need a taxi but costs less than £10 and doesn't take long at all... 5-10mins.
2 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"top floorbest location"
"We booked a Premier room at the back."
"Downstairs rooms are very spacious due to being newly refurbished"
"Try the Premier Inn (where I had to go for breakfast)"
"I was lucky with 21"
PreviousNext
12345615
PRICE RANGE
US$63 - US$89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
durham bannatyne hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDurham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing