We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Coaching Inn Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Coaching Inn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel for one night through late rooms.com and was charged £125 for our double room. We had a family emergency followed sadly by a death in the family and had to get to Liverpool in a hurry. Late rooms.com found us this hotel after I had tried for hours to get somewhere as near to Liverpool as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie H
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2015

Stayed here for months with work. Value for money hotel, certainly worth the £30 a night! Comfy bed, clean bathroom with shower that works properly. Can't complain at all! The Rock Inn pub just down the road was worth visiting for a decent pint.

Helpful?
Thank vicky_hardwick
reception1, Owner at Coaching Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments they are much appreciated. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We wanted a clean budget hotel. The room was spotless with tea coffee and a kettle for our convenience. The breakfast offered a selection of cereals, fruit juice, toast ,lots of jams and spreads and a selection of tea or coffee. For a bit extra you could have a cooked breakfast. There was also a list of speciality coffees at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette2303
reception1, Owner at Coaching Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review about our hotel. Guests comments are very important to us and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Wigan. More 

lancaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

This hotel didn't seem that bad at first but what we didn't know was that there was a 1am curfew and wasn't told about it until we arrived, also I told the hotel we would arrive between 6&7, I received an email at 6.30 saying we have a 1am curfew, saying we are in one of the biggest party towns... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jadee402
reception1, Owner at Coaching Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing our curfew time to the notice of other potential guests who may not have read our hotel policies, like you hadn't. Unfortunately, the booking agent displays all our information where they see fit. If it were up to us it would be in big bold letters at the top of our page as we do not... More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Having just spent a night in this hotel, it will definitely not be on my list to return! Shabby,dated, neglected, the only plus side was secure parking, just glad I had a few drinks to help me forget where I was!!

Helpful?
4 Thank hilary s
reception1, Owner at Coaching Inn Hotel, responded to this review

I presume you arrived almost an hour early for check in so that you could consume the two bottles of wine you brought with you before you went out and that you checked out right on the last minute to allow your hangover to subside. More 

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2015

I stayed here for 1 night......by un-serendipitous circumstances as all other hotel rooms in Wigan were taken. The normal price is circa £39/night, or £15 per the taxi driver ( !! )......I paid £101 via Booking.com for this 1 star establishment. If I would have paid £39, I would have had no complaints as you pay for what you get... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian G
reception1, Owner at Coaching Inn Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay, but as you are aware the whole of Wigan was sold out due to two major events being held in the town. You booked our last available room and our price reflected that, I am sure you are familiar with the phrase "supply and demand". As you were an official at... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I write this review having carefully considered the reasons behind our recent stay in Wigan and weighing up whether we should have expected what we encountered or not for the price we paid and what was advertised on their website and reviews on TripAdvisor. We were visiting the area purely to support a relative who was competing in the Ironman... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Kate A
Chalfont St Peter, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I had forgotten that I had booked this place once before on my travels, and I now remember being pleasantly surprised last time too. You can hardly describe the Coaching Inn as a beauty: old red brick, decaying signage, nice view of the cemetery. If that doesn't put you off then I would suggest you go right ahead. The room... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ritorno
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and found everything to be ok. Hosts were very nice. Hotel is getting on a bit, but my room was clean and comfortable. Wifi available, secure parking. Dined twice for dinner food was very good. Breakfast is first class. Loads of choice. All in all a very goid reasonably priced hotel in a fairly... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Zenorac
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

stop there for 3 nights, we were made to feel very welcome ,and they went out of the way to help us .the rooms were clean and tidy .the food and drink were very reasonable priced would stop there again , had seen some reviews and it can't be the same place as found it more then ok . and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank teddy3252

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wigan hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan West (M6,Jct 26) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Coaching Inn Hotel

Address: (A 573 Warrington Road, Wigan WN3 4NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Price Range: £43 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Coaching Inn Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Coaching Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coaching Hotel Wigan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Coaching Inn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to town centre with bus stop for town centre adjacent”
 of 5 bubbles MarkN337, 23 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Twin room chosen! Propa blokes! Great hotel for gadgy men who enjoy the football or rugby league, a pint or two and a fry up in the morning - following some rice crispies!!”
 of 5 bubbles daveb937, 25 Oct 2012 | Read review
“I am not convinced there are any”
 of 5 bubbles AnthonyW678, 29 Sep 2012 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay