We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Marine Hotel

2-6 Adelphi Road, Paignton TQ4 6AP England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (129)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (9)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 18 hotels in Paignton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Situated on a level position, directly opposite Paignton Seafront and a short walk to the town centre, you couldn’t ask for a better located hotel in Paignton on the English Riviera. The Marine hotel is airy, modern and light yet highly comfortable with a warm and friendly family atmosphere. We are able to cater for most dietry requirements, please just let us know. We do allow dogs (daily supplement) to stay in our patio accessible bedrooms. After just one visit, you’ll want to adopt the hotel as your second home by the sea.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Free breakfast
Beach
Entertainment staff
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Evening entertainment
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
396Reviews16Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 288
  • 68
  • 20
  • 15
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
juicyfruit274 wrote a review 26 Feb
Plymouth, United Kingdom147 contributions76 helpful votes
Only stayed the one night in this hotel as was a deal with dinner and breakfast. Easily located right on the front with great views of the sea. There is a free car park which is also a big advantage. There are a lot of rooms all over the place and when we found ours it seemed a little old fashioned and didn’t smell clean and fresh. We had twin beds which were actually very comfy with nice bedding. The bathroom needed a clean and the lampshade was covered in dust. Also the taps were the wrong way round. The dinner was mediocre and the breakfast was nice. What made this hotel was the lovely happy accommodating staff. Think this is used for coach trips etc as a more mature clientele with a knitting club in one room and a sewing club in another room. Paignton itself is not the best with a lot of closed shops and quite run down. There is a lovely beer pub called The Upside Bar and one near the hotel called the Spinning Wheel. Don’t think we will be back but sure it ticks all the boxes for some people.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marine Hotel, General Manager at Marine Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased you found the location so good and our staff so happy and accommodating .All comments have been passed on to the relevant departments so that we can improve and move forward as a business
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kathleen J wrote a review 25 Feb
Bristol, United Kingdom1 contribution
The room was basic at best, cold and dark. A tear in the carpet, unhoovered carpets, cobwebs on the ceiling and lampshades that were well past their best. The radiator in the room didn’t work after the first evening at 16.00. The staff were lovely. However the overwhelming feeling we were left with is that everything is done on then cheap. The cooked breakfast while filling meant undercooked bacon and sausages. We would not recommend this hotel unless there was no where else to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not stay here unless there is no where else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marine Hotel, General Manager at Marine Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your review .All comments are important to us so we can move forward as a business .I will pass your comments on to the relevant departments
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DayTrip766003 wrote a review 22 Feb
1 contribution
Extremely comfortable single beds, clean bedding and very nice pillows. We only stayed one night with friends as it was a Groupon offer including 3 course Dinner Bed and Breakfast. The evening dinner was just fabulous and we all enjoyed it. The cost of a bottle of wine was very reasonable as we.The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff very welcoming I think it was Sue on the front desk very accommodating the dining room stafff were very quick and friendly including Mel the 16 rear apprenticeship girl was fun. In fact we will keep an eye out for winter spring deals again..maybe stay a couple of nights .. we only live in Plymouth so very close. Thanks to all the staff. And our thanks and compliments to the chef…xx We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you see it on offer then book it.x
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marine Hotel, General Manager at Marine Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your review .We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and i will pass on all your comments to the staff we look forward to your return visit
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lesley K wrote a review 17 Feb
4 contributions
A very clean and pleasant room, service very quick. Food extremely average, sadly menu is limited to either curry or ploughman's which is just lettuce ham cheese and a bread roll ( not really a ploughman's at all). Breakfast adequate but basic. Overall I would stay again but eat somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marine Hotel, General Manager at Marine Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your review. All comments are important to us so we can move forward as a business .We do hope to welcome you again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andy S wrote a review 16 Feb
Wigan, United Kingdom200 contributions176 helpful votes
+1
Marine Hotel Paignton We were on a 5 day stay with Grayway Coaches in mid February. It was a short holiday with themed evening meals: British, Indian, Italian and Chinese. On arrival at about 5pm we were welcomed with a Devon Cream Tea served with Coffee and Teas while our cases were taken up to our room. After being allocated our rooms 407 and 419 we got into lift to find the only options were Ground, Floor 1 and Floor 2. Very confused we had to ask a member of staff if the lift went to floor 4 and was told press 1 for floor 3 and 2 for floor 4. Perhaps a sign in the lift would help clarify this confusion Hotel location is good very central and within a 10 minute walk to the Harbour, Pier and Bus Station. Our bedroom and en-suite bathroom was quite small but recently decorated and fairly modern and acceptable for our short stay. It had all the facilities you’d expect, it was clean and warm. Our only criticism was the low water pressure in the shower which took a long time to run warm. Wi-Fi was only available in the public rooms on the ground floor with no reception in our bedroom. Our first evening dinner (Monday) was very average with typical hotel standard catering. They ran out of our choice of starters (fishcakes) and then ran out of cheesecake desserts so we had to choose other options. Tea and coffee is offered after dinner in the bar/lounge area. After dinner we were entertained by a very good female vocalist (Amanda) who sang a selection of songs through the decades. On Wednesday we had Wayne a singer/comedian who was both a good singer and very funny. Tuesday was a Indian themed dinner which was delicious, we started with Mulligatawny Soup accompanied by Onion Bhajis, Potato Pakoras, Poppadoms and Mango Chutney followed by Chicken and Spinach Masala, Bombay Potatoes, Pilau Rice and Side Salad. Dessert was Indian Rice Pudding. The Italian Menu on Wednesday was also excellent. We were on an all inclusive drinks package, the bar served Becks Lager, Boddingtons Beer, Smirnoff Vodka, Gordon’s Gin, Bell’s Whisky and Wine all included in our package, so thats pretty good. A criticism was the speed of service in the bar. The bar staff had to “multitask” disappearing to the restaurant sometimes leaving the bar unattended for ten minutes even after ringing the bell for service. I must mention Amy on Breakfast service who was polite, friendly and efficient. Overall the Marine Hotel is adequate for a short stay, the food quality did improve vastly after our first night but the speed of service needs improvement in the bar. Pros…Hotel location, Good Food especially the Indian and Italian menus, Good Entertainment. Cons…Sparse Fried Breakfast, Slow Bar Service after dinner, Poor Shower Pressure, No WiFi in Bedrooms. My Score would be 4 out 5 but good value for money and we enjoyed our stay at the Marine Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Buses no long run outside the hotel, it’s a ten minute walk to the bus station, we were told it’s...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marine Hotel, General Manager at Marine Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the detailed comments and are so glad you enjoyed your themed break we do hope to see you again at the hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
susanmoody89 wrote a review 16 Feb
Somerset, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Have just stayed at the Marine hotel again and staff , as usual, can’t do enough to help . We took a friend with us in this occasion and she was so impressed with everything she has booked to stay in September . Can’t praise the food and the staff enough .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marine Hotel, General Manager at Marine Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you very much for your kind review .We will see you later in the year
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mikee1112018 wrote a review 16 Feb
Winscombe, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Despite the fact that the staff were extremely efficient and friendly, sadly our visit to this hotel was one of the worst we have experienced. On arrival at the hotel we were told that we had to order our evening meal by 4 pm, and that the meal would be of Indian cuisine. None in our party wanted what was on offer, and we were told we could choose an alternative such as salad or ploughmans. One of our group, who had salad for dinner, also requested a salad dressing. We were told that there were no salad dressings available, save for tartar sauce or mayonaise. We were given a twin room which was small and dingy. We found that there was a very low flow of water from the shower, the shower door would not close, and in attempting to close the shower door, the door came off its upper track and fell back into the shower. We also noted that the layout of bathroom taps were in an opposite position than the British standard for tap positioning. Furthermore we also noted that power sockets outside our room were clipped to the wall, and unprotected by a secondary sheathing. During the evening we were sat in the lounge area playing cards, when a member of staff came into the lounge and offered guests the opportunity to play Bingo. During one of our games of cards, the member of staff who was running the Bingo yelled across the room and told us to keep quiet. This was a rude and an unjust comment because we were not making any loud noises, and were not interfering in the games of Bingo in any way. We asked for a room change due to the poor condition of our room, and was provided with the only alternative twin room available. The room was very small and difficult to get around, but it was bright due to the decor. The couple who accompanied us on our trip to the hotel were also unimpressed with the hotel. On arrival in their room the waste bin was full of rubbish. and there were no toilet rolls in the bathroom. Although their room was large and comfortable, like us, they also thought the food provided at the hotel was extremely poor. As an example the bacon provided at breakfast needed a steak knife to cut it, and the fried eggs were rubbery. The hot water delivered to our table was also slightly tainted brown and had to be changed. During dinner the cold water delivered to our table tasted horrible, and had a strong odour of chlorine. A photographer came to our table at dinner and took photographs of us eating without asking our permission. We consider that this was an intrusion into our privacy and should be stopped.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marine Hotel, General Manager at Marine Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mikee1112018, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review it is vital we receive both positive and negative feedback in order to improve as a business. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff extremely friendly and efficient. As you have explained, we were indeed offering a Indian & Italian themed menus, however you were indeed given additional choices not just a salad or a ploughman's like you have mentioned. Nothing we offered was to your taste, our staff went above and beyond offering additional choices, however we do not a buffet dinner like you had hoped. I can assure you all food is cooked fresh to order which is why we have a cut of time to pre order to ensure we are ready for service. If you had made us known at the time you were not happy with breakfast also, we could of always replaced this for you. The first room you had been allocated was a upgraded sea view twin room, with stunning sea views of Paignton seafront. I am aware you had a issue with your shower and thanked you ate the time for reporting it, this did get fixed that morning and we moved you to a additional twin room. I am sorry you felt you was being yelled at to be quiet whilst guest was playing bingo, i will speak to our bar team. Thank you for your feedback regarding photographer we will certainly pass this comment onto them. I am sorry your visit was not what you had expected and hope you find right hotel for what you are looking for.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kim W wrote a review 6 Feb
3 contributions
We stayed over 3 nights at this gem of a hotel on the seafront. Great location, sea views, 5 minutes walk from the old harbour and around the corner to the main shopping street. Crazy golf and a cinema across the road too. Fantastic staff who were always happy and friendly with great service. Nothing at all was too much trouble for them, their aim being to ensure we were all happy and enjoying ourselves. The dinner menu offered a good choice and was changed daily. The substantial breakfast, again with loads of choice, was something to look forward to. With efficient and friendly table service we couldn’t ask for more. Then an hour in the nice relaxing lounge to enjoy a few drinks before bed and a great nights sleep which rounded off our days perfectly. We would be very happy to stay here again. Thank you everyone at the Marine Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marine Hotel, General Manager at Marine Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you very much for your kind review .We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to welcome you again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
nick hennessy wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
The customer service at the hotel was second to none, the staff were friendly , approachable and could do enough for you. The food was good, with several selections for each course. The room was large and the beds were very comfortable, overall a very pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Great location, close to everything!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marine Hotel, General Manager at Marine Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope we an welcome you again to the hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Annette N wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
+1
Stayed for New Year , what a fantastic time we had , lovely room , food was excellent, entertainment good, we are gutted DJ Thomas coach holidays are Not going this year , the staff are great friendly/helpful , Stephanie the manager is brilliant , different theme every new year gives us all (including staff) a real good new year . We will be back for sure .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you have difficulties with mobility then ask for a room on reception level , I’ve stayed there...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marine Hotel, General Manager at Marine Hotel
Responded 9 Jan 2024
We are so glad you enjoyed your new year with us. A great time was had and we are so looking forward to your return visit .Happy new year
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Paignton area.
PRICE RANGE
£47 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonEnglish RivieraPaignton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MARINE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Paignton)

Frequently Asked Questions about Marine Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Marine Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Pirates Bay Adventure Golf (0.07 miles), Lollipops and Roses (0.2 miles), and Escape Paignton (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Marine Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Marine Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Marine Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Marine Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Scala, Mediterraneo, and The Local Gastro Bar and Grill.
Is Marine Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Paignton.
Are pets allowed at Marine Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Marine Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Torre Abbey (2.2 miles), Greenway (2.8 miles), and Friends Of Oldway (0.7 miles).
Does Marine Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Marine Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.