Garleton Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Garleton Lodge

3 West Garleton Holdings, Haddington EH41 3SL Scotland
Traveller (172)
Dining (37)
Whisky and golf - a great combination!
Room & Suite (36)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 3 B&Bs in Haddington
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to Garleton Lodge – The Perfect Choice for Your Stay in East Lothian. Garleton Lodge is our luxury B&B/small hotel/restaurant/spa and home in the Heart of East Lothian. From our hilltop position offering spectacular panoramic views across unspoilt countryside, the Forth and Edinburgh, we offer our guests a choice of six en-suite rooms and full facilities including a residents’ lounge with fully stocked bar, restaurant, spa, hot tub, relaxation room, BBQ hut and golf facilities including practice bunker and putting green, golf club storage and drying room. Situated only 30 minutes from Edinburgh, Garleton Lodge offers a great location for your weekend getaway or longer stay. We provide an ideal base for golf parties playing the numerous courses on Scotland’s Golf Coast. We look forward to welcoming you to Garleton Lodge!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to VisitScotland standards.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
349Reviews3Q+A24Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 330
  • 10
  • 1
  • 1
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Margaret J wrote a review Mar 2020
Dunlop, United Kingdom34 contributions40 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I had a fabulous stay at Garleton Lodge. It is perched at the top of a hill with far reaching views of the river Forth on one side and rolling countryside on the other and offers peace and quiet along with 5 star facilities. David and Angela are wonderful hosts and go out of there way to make sure you feel welcome and comfortable.
The bedrooms are stylishly decorated in neutral tones along with contrasting tartan soft furnishings and mirrored furniture. The extra large bed was wonderfully comfortable and dressed with beautifully clean white linen. We loved the extra touches provided; fresh fruit and flowers, hand made chocolates, and taster of malt whiskey. All this along with a Nespresso machine, kettle, teabags, fresh milk in the mini fridge and a plate of home made biscuits! Delicious. The en-suite shower room was sparkling clean and I loved the high quality Arran Aromatics toiletries provided.
We had dinner cooked by Angela on the night we stayed. Everything was beautifully cooked (the homemade bread was delicious) and fresh and the views from the dining room are fabulous provided a lovely backdrop. There is also a very extensive wine list at very reasonable prices and an extremely well stocked bar in the lovely lounge area. David is very knowledgeable about whisky and has an extensive stock. He even managed to produce a bottle of our favourite, but quite obscure, malt whisky on request.
Whilst my husband enjoyed a round of golf on one of the many local courses, I made use of the on site spa and had a pre arranged massage and manicure and later we both had a dip in the hot tub which is situated to make the best of the views.
This property is definitely more than a B&B and we would love to visit again and highly recommend a visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GarletonLodge, Owner at Garleton Lodge
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Many thanks for taking the time to provide a review - this is really appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roadfartravelled wrote a review Sept 2021
Lanarkshire153 contributions93 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Garleton Lodge for 4 nights during a tour of East Lothian.
The hotel is well sign posted on the way.
First impressions of the outside didn't give a wow factor but everything inside is spotless. The rooms are well presented and the spacious bed is very comfortable.
Nothing was too much trouble including changing the towel linen daily on request. The highlight of the stay was evening dinner, which was first class Michelin Star quality, and chilling out in the lounge area with pre-dinner drinks (and what a fabulous choice there is).
There is plenty choice for breakfast and the 11 a.m. checkout means guests are not rushed on the final day.
The welcome tot of whisky was a nice touch and the mini bar is well stocked including fresh milk for tea and coffee.
If I could make any recommendations, it would be to offer guests some biscuits or shortbread in the rooms to have with tea.
It’s lovely to look out at the scenery from the French doors and decking area outside the bedroom but perhaps I would suggest some sort of partition between the bedrooms along the decking area, even just a flower pot so that guests from other rooms don’t walk directly past your French doors and look in the room.
All said, we would highly recommend to family and friends.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Cockerton, Owner at Garleton Lodge
Responded 9 Sept 2021
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review - this is really appreciated. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us - and we're really pleased that the food was one of the highlights of your stay. We hope to see you again very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rekchong wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The room is extremely cosy and clean with wonderful view. Nespresso coffee machine, filtered water, bowl of fruits are really nice touch to the overall experience. The owners are extremely helpful and friendly too.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GarletonLodge, Owner at Garleton Lodge
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review - this is really appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back again very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TaraFee6 wrote a review Feb 2020
Scotland4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was given a voucher for afternoon as a birthday gift. It was fantastic and served in a room with amazing views across to Edinburgh and across the Forth. The quality of the food was excellent, the atmosphere was lovely and the hosts were very friendly and welcoming.
Afternoon tea looks to be available roughly one Sunday each month and the details are on their website - booking required.
Would highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GarletonLodge, Owner at Garleton Lodge
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us - and on such a lovely sunny day! We have Special Afternoon Tea events for both Mother's Day and Easter Sunday - returning to our regular Afternoon Tea at the end of May. Details of all events can be found on our website.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sammie wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I stayed at Garleton Lodge and found that it truly is a 5* hotel with Angela and David going above and beyond any expectation you could have. The Lodge is decorated beautifully and has such a warm and friendly atmosphere as soon as you walk in the door.
The food was absolutely beautiful (and there was plenty of it to enjoy), the room we stayed in was so relaxing and comfortable I didn’t want to leave. The rooms come equipped with everything you could possible need including a fully stocked (and very reasonably priced) mini bar.
The hot tub with it’s amazing views is an added bonus.

I couldn’t find a fault with our stay even if I tried.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Cockerton, Owner at Garleton Lodge
Responded 24 May 2021
Many thanks for your kind review - this is really appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
allimcf002 wrote a review Oct 2020
Carluke, United Kingdom184 contributions69 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I booked an overnight stay through the 5pm website for our 2nd anniversary. There was only 1 negative during our stay- my main course during dinner (chicken with filo pastry) was very bland there was no seasoning or anything to make it taste nice.
There were lots of positives to make up for this.
As soon as we stepped in to our room it felt luxurious, very nice carpets, a huge bed, fancy dressing table, and a little taster of whisky each.
We had a lovely hour in the hot tub looking over the amazing views, we also enjoyed saying hello to the well behaved owners dogs.
Before dinner we had a couple of drinks at the bar and had a nice chat with David, one of the owners.
The shower in the rooms is one of the best showers we have ever had, loved it. Little things like this really make an overnight stay perfect. A=
We also loved the size of the bed as it made you feel as though you had the bed to yourself.
Thanks, we will definitely return at some point in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Cockerton, Owner at Garleton Lodge
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review - we really appreciate this. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. We are a little puzzled by your comments on the meal. The chicken dish is normally served with a cream cheese and herb topping but this was omitted at your request as a non dairy eater but was accompanied by the usual fresh tomato and herb sauce. You said nothing at the time so we were unable to address your issue. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lel wrote a review May 2021
Livingston, United Kingdom11 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from a 2 night stay at the Garleton Lodge. David and Angela are excellent hosts. Polite, very friendly! The Aberlour room was spacious, absolutely spotless and I just loved the decor and the colours of the whole Lodge. The outside space is incredible! And the 4 beautiful dogs, who I wanted to take home, made the stay even more enjoyable.. so gentle and well behaved. 😍 I totally recommend the BBQ hut - what an experience!!! Angela prepared a massive amount of gorgeous food for us. When we wanted more wine we just had to text, nothing was a bother at all. The views were outstanding, especially from the hot tub watching the sunset - pure relaxation! The 2nd night we booked a table in the restaurant and WOW! Angela’s cooking is just divine 😍 David was super attentive with much appreciated wine recommendations depending on our personal tastes. Great conversations too! The putting green is great fun … golf is a lot harder than I thought 😂 This morning we asked to eat breakfast outside as the sun was shining out in their courtyard and it was no problem at all. The service was great. We enjoyed our time at the Garleton so much and will definitely be going back!! Thank you so much Angela & David for a super relaxing couple of days.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Cockerton, Owner at Garleton Lodge
Responded 1 Jun 2021
Many thanks for sharing your experiences from your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ClanThomson wrote a review Jan 2020
Dalkeith, United Kingdom35 contributions59 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a fantastic property located just outside Haddington. We were lucky enough to stay recently as a celebration with friends. The owners Angela & David made us at home straight away, showing us to our lovely big room on the ground floor. Suites are also available upstairs. Our room was very well appointed with ample hanging space, a huge bed and lovely decor. A kettle and Nespresso machine were included, with ample, tea, coffee pods and sugar and a fridge beneath for milk. The en suite bathroom was well designed and the shower had great power. We had a lovely meal prepared by Angela, followed by drinks at the bar by David and in the morning, Angela prepared breakfast. The food was delicious and our stay was very pleasurable and we look forward to going back. We would thoroughly recommend this property to anyone looking for a B&B which is a bit more luxurious.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GarletonLodge, Owner at Garleton Lodge
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your review - this is really appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back again very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scubasteve647604 wrote a review Sept 2020
Northumberland45 contributions33 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Facilities and rooms have been completed to a high standard and the food was very good.
We arrive 5 minutes early for check in. We were checked in and shown to our room, upon entering the room David said oh, I can see there are some things missing, I was going to get them but you are 5 minutes early, which did not make us feel very welcome and that we were an inconvenience. He then went off to get the missing items and bring them to the room.
Cups & whiskey glasses were dirty and there were hairs in the sink. We had an issue with the toilet where the cistern was not refilling. We pointed this out to the owner who had a look, said he had fixed it but problem was not resolved, I reported it again and he informed us that it could not be fixed until tomorrow, we were given a jug to refill the cistern so the toilet could be flushed. After being out the next day, we returned to find no repair had been completed. When I spoke to the owner he did not apologise and said it was going to be tomorrow and was giving the impression that we should be ok with the inconvenience. At this point I requested a refund for the second night.
When we departed David got quite argumentative and somewhat aggressive. My wife was that intimidated she went to sit in the car whilst I resolved the refund and we were still charged full rate for the one night we had stayed.
David needs to understand that the customers are paying very good money and should provide better customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Cockerton, Owner at Garleton Lodge
Responded 3 Oct 2020
We always welcome constructive criticism from our guests as we are keen to learn what guests like about their stay with us and to also hear how we can improve. For the benefit of other travellers – and prospective guests – as owners of Garleton Lodge, we feel that it is important to highlight the following: 1) Until we read this review, the only issue that we were aware of was a problem with the WC cistern – see below - no other issues were raised by the guests during their stay 2) Shortly after their arrival, the cistern refill valve in the guest bathroom WC developed a problem with the cistern being slow to refill – taking c.2 minutes – the WC was otherwise perfectly functional 3) As the fault developed ‘after hours’ and could not be repaired until the following day, as a precautionary measure we provided the guests with a jug to assist with refilling the cistern if required 4) Had we not been fully booked, we would have moved the guests to an alternative room but with no available room this was not possible on this occasion 5) The following day, our plumber had difficulty in sourcing a replacement part but arrived c.4.30pm and completed the repair 6) The guests returned mid-afternoon from their day out before the repair had been completed and were advised that the plumber was on his way 7) As we had been unable to complete the repair prior to their return, we offered the guests a full refund on their second night’s stay – this was rejected by the guests who chose to check out instead 8) The guests received a full refund for the second night’s stay 9) Both guests were present throughout the check out and refund process 10) As part of our COVID-19 cleaning regime, all crockery and glassware is removed from each guest room upon check out and replaced with fresh items which have been cleaned in our commercial dishwasher. We are therefore very surprised to read the comments from these guests. We hope that the above enables the reader to reach a balanced view on this review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dale8009 wrote a review Jun 2021
Dollar, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is truly a place that has to be visited without a shadow of a doubt. From the moment me and my wife turned up we were looked after fantastically to the moment we left. Our accommodation room was stylish, clean and well presented. When we used the mini bar the drinks were replenished without delay. The facilities were great and we had a great view of the surrounding areas whilst we relaxed in the many chill out rooms we had available. What topped off our weekend was the variety and quality of food. This was outstanding both at dinner and breakfast with fresh bread was cooked throughout as well as fresh fruit for a healthier balance.

David & Angela were brilliant hosts and I thank them for the quality service they provided. This is Lodge that I will certainly return to in the distance future. My final point is Angela makes her own chocolates and it goes without saying you MUST give these a try to avoid disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Cockerton, Owner at Garleton Lodge
Responded 24 Jun 2021
Many thanks for your very generous review - this is really appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again very soon. Meantime, please keep a look out for news on the launch of our new ranges of handmade chocolates - classic cocktails and desserts inspired ...
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
angie752 asked a question Oct 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom95 contributions43 helpful votes
Is the Bothy suitable for a full time wheelchair user?
Answer from GarletonLodge
Unfortunately, as the cottage is a very old building its size and configuration means that it is not suitable for a wheelchair.
Answer from GarletonLodge
Haddington is less than 5 minutes by taxi ...
John T wrote a tip 12 May
Elko, Nevada10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The calm is unbelievable"
Read full review
ClanThomson wrote a tip Oct 2023
Dalkeith, United Kingdom35 contributions59 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lovely secluded hilltop location with 360 degree views over East Lothian, Fife & Edinburgh. Plenty of parking."
Read full review
Philip S wrote a tip Sept 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No evening meal service but everything about accommodation and breakfast exceptional"
Read full review
Carolyn R wrote a tip Sept 2022
Leicester, United Kingdom74 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Many great restaurants in nearby Haddington, Aberlady and Gullane"
Read full review
Sue wrote a tip Aug 2022
Crook, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ground floor rooms have doors opening onto decking with seating for each room."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Haddington area.
PRICE RANGE
£248 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEast LothianHaddington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GARLETON LODGE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Garleton Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Garleton Lodge?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of Flight (4.1 miles), Gullane Beach (4.8 miles), and Lennoxlove House (2.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Garleton Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Garleton Lodge?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Garleton Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Garleton Lodge?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Garleton Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Caffe Luca, Cherish Vintage Tearoom & Emporium, and La Potiniere.
Are there any historical sites close to Garleton Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lennoxlove House (2.7 miles), Gosford House (2.9 miles), and War Memorial (2.1 miles).
Is Garleton Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Haddington HotelsHaddington Hotel DealsHotels near Garleton Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire