We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Channel View Hotel

Visit hotel website
Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (23)
Pool & Beach (4)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Channel View is a highly respected family run 3 star hotel that prides itself in offering high quality customer care, exceptional service and excellent value for money. Situated on the cliff overlooking the bay, the hotel offers an unrivaled position within walking distance of both the seafront and the town.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Sauna
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
79Somewhat walkable
Grade: 79 out of 100
66Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
21Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
477Reviews
64Photos
15Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 377
  • 80
  • 14
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My friend and I love staying at the hotel.. The staff are very kind and caring. My friend loves the pool, and can't wait to come back and keeps asking when we are returning. The hotel is spotless, a wonderful sea view, I have been coming on and off for over twenty years. The
Read more
Response from GillGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel
Responded 2 Jan 2019
Many thanks for your complimentary review, lovely words to finish the year. Great to hear the hotel is a gem! Happy new year from us all Gill
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
Myself and 5 friends have just returned from this lovely hotel. I can honestly say that we had the best time and felt so welcome! The food, staff and prices were exceptional! The rooms were spotless and well equipped for all our needs. The hotel is in a great location to. A big
Read more
Response from GillGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel
Responded 24 Apr 2018
Really pleased to hear the "boys walking tour" enjoyed so much about the hotel and you had the best time. What more is there to say. except we hope you will return one day. All the best keep laughing Gill
Read more
We have just had another enjoyable stay at Channel View where we have been regular guests 2 or 3 times a year for the past 20 years, and the hotel never disappoints. Each year, we take my Mother with us for a short break in November, and staying at this hotel in a lovely cosy
Read more
Response from GillGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel
Responded 21 Nov 2018
Many, many thanks for your wonderful review. All the best Gill
Read more
I stayed in the Channel View Hotel recently as I managed to get a good deal. In this respect it was good value for money but you would certainly need to think twice about paying full price. My room was small and had an en-suite shower. The quality of the shower was very poor;
Read more
Response from GillGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel
Responded 12 Nov 2018
Thank you for reviewing the hotel. We are sorry you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay. Just to let you know all our rooms have been awarded the AA 3 Star standard. Apologies for the shower heads poor performance we do change them regularly. Over the many years we have been here we have taken great care to keep the hotel traditional adding modern facilities and twists. We are sorry to hear you found it looked tired we work hard to keep everything up together and have a lot of pride in our hotel. None of us would like to walk past other guests smoking undesirable substances had we been aware of this we would of asked them to leave the hotel immediately. We have never come across this before. This is how actions of others can tarnish a hard earned good reputation. Thankfully all in all you found the hotel good value so thank you for that.
Read more
The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast and service was very good. We were made very welcome and the host and team couldn't do enough for us, even finding out where my husband could join in the Park run on the Island ! Lovely sea views and close to spectacular scenery
Read more
Response from GillGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel
Responded 29 Oct 2018
Thank you for giving the hotel service, breakfast and the team a lovely review. Sorry to hear you were able to hear the guests nearby as you mentioned total soundproofing is difficult. We hope you will wish to return and try the Park run again. Kind regards Gill
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
View from Room 61
No faded pictures here
Our room
view from our room looking toward Sandown
our room
PreviousNext
12345
How many rooms have stand alone showers?
Hi we have 9 rooms with free standing showers Regards Gill
0 votes
Show all answers
Thank you for your concern, the rating shown is not correct and we are trying it get it changed. We have been inspected for the past 30 years and have always had a score of 5 until the last inspection when we scored 2. We now have to wait for the next inspection which should be due later this year. The inspectors come when they come according to their workload. We wish to reassure our guests that we abide and adhere to all regulations appertaining to running a hotel and their safety and enjoyment is paramount to us.
1 vote
Show all answers
My husband uses a disabled scooter for days out tho fine in hotel. Is there somewhere to park it in the hotel?
Hi Yes we have somewhere to park and charge a scooter, you will also need an easy access room. Please ask at the time of booking. We look forward to meeting you both Regards Gill
0 votes
We had a superior room but with a double bed, best thing is to talk directly to the hotel, they are very accommodating and friendly
2 votes
Show all answers
Are small dogs allowed
Dog Policy Dogs are only accepted at the hotel by prior arrangement, there is a charge of £8.00 per day. Guests are requested not to leave them unattended in their bedrooms unless they are in a show cage they are not permitted in the public rooms of the hotel.
0 votes
PreviousNext
123
"Just ask, the staff are very accommodating"
"Select a front or side facing room which has lovely views"
"Pay the supplement for a seaview room."
"all rooms that we have had have been very good"
"Premier Room is very good excellent views"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$115 - US$168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightShanklin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing