We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Victoria Lodge Hotel

5 Alexandra Road, Shanklin PO37 6AF England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (36)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#25 of 45 hotels in Shanklin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Alysa Shirley, the proprietor of Victoria Lodge Hotel, guarantee personal service. Situated in its own grounds with ample parking, in one of Shanklin's premier positions. Close to Keats Green, beaches, town and beautiful Old Village. Relax in the spacious lounge bar which has delightful sea views across Sandown Bay to Culver Cliff. Some bedrooms also have sea views.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
116Reviews2Q+A19Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 77
  • 25
  • 5
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
B P J wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
We were very happy to stay at this lovely local little hotel. Friendly, great location well catered for and extremely helpful. We were told of exciting ideas and projects for the hotel ahead, we would love to visit again! Well done for going plastic free and offering such a wonderful service. Thank you for helping make such a memorable trip.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alysa Shirley, Owner at Victoria Lodge Hotel
Responded 22 Apr 2023
Thank-you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to host you! Look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
suzytimabella wrote a review Aug 2022
camberley17 contributions1 helpful vote
As always Aylsa has welcomed us with open arms! She makes every visit as if you are friends coming to stay. Great location, fab breakfast, no stress atmosphere they really do go above and beyond and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel location is so perfect for visiting the town or amazing Shanklin beach and the Chine, you do need some leg muscles if walking up and down the hill though! We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Hotel has parking, maybe look into the parking app if you want to use a lot of public parking.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alysa Shirley, Owner at Victoria Lodge Hotel
Responded 14 Aug 2022
Aww thanks for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jackie P wrote a review Aug 2022
23 contributions17 helpful votes
Omg, absolutely loved our stay here, what a warm welcome we got on arrival and throughout the stay, nothing was to much trouble. Millie our saluki absolutely fell in love with Camaron ❤ Alysa don't ever change, we felt so at home from the second we walked through the door. The bed was soooo comfy, we slept so well, beautiful views from our room and everything was a stones throw away. We can't wait to return and we can't thank you enough for being so accommodating with the extra help and support you showed after Rich had completed his 24hr 70 mile walk.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alysa Shirley, Owner at Victoria Lodge Hotel
Responded 9 Aug 2022
It was an absolute pleasure to host you guys, and to support you with your charity walk! Thankyou so much for your comments, I am very touched. I do my best to create a family, relaxed atmosphere. Enter as strangers, leave as friends. Can't wait to see you again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
257sunshine wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom17 contributions9 helpful votes
Don’t try book here if you have a voucher! Told she had space but as soon as I said I had a voucher she didn’t reply back to any calls or email! They shouldn’t join the scheme if they can’t accommodate you … sent numerous emails and called many times to be unresponded to after being told to call back. And they do have availability when you check on the website! Waste on my time !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alysa Shirley, Owner at Victoria Lodge Hotel
Responded 4 Jul 2022
Morning, Many thanks for your review A few things to note here, your booking was taken and made back in June. An email was sent to confirm following your calls. You have since sent 1 email not lots. Secondly vouchers are subject to availability as the scheme explains however we did book you in Lastly, reviews like this can really damage a business that is already fighting a difficult economic crisis. Covid and the increased cost of living has had a huge impact on the businesses. We are not ones for ignoring bookings. You could have called. Our last call from you was back in June. As you can see from other reviews, I take pride in my small family run business. We would like to resolve your issue but publicly and incorrectly shaming a business on a platform such as this, when we have done all we can, is not fair. Please feel free to call us anytime. Kind regards Alysa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
to10pin wrote a review Jun 2022
St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada6 contributions3 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in June2022 and found both the owner and the property delightful. The price was very reasonable, the room spotless, and the breakfast excellent. No complaints whatsoever!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from alysa shirley, Owner at Victoria Lodge Hotel
Responded 6 Jul 2022
It was a pleasure to host you and we hope the rest of your trip was magical.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
trinityfym wrote a review Aug 2021
London27 contributions22 helpful votes
When we called to find out availability , we received a very , warm welcome and Alysa was extremely helpful . It was extremely last minute and managed to get the 2 nights we wanted (the next Day so very last minute). In addition , she also booked our ferry for us which was very , very helpful and saved us time and money . I haven’t ever had anyone offer that before and that’s even before we got there . Arrived the next Day after our day trip to needles and Alum bay and Simon checked us in . It was great and suitable for us , trampoline outside with sun beds etc and fish too ! 2 cats and a dog - out son was over the moon . Very family friendly, room size very good and just felt very unfussy and if it could be like home . Downstairs in lounge area you can relax , play chess, game boards around and have a drink in the evening . Breakfast - you can grab your cereals, toast , juice, yoghurt , tea/coffee etc or order from cooked breakfast menu which includes vegetarian and cooked breakfast option as well as others such as beans on toast , etc, etc . Our son even with Simon to feed the fish outside and just overall made us feel very welcome . You can walk to the beach which is only 10 mins walk away and the disappointment was ...... we wanted to stay longer !!! Gréât stay !! Big thank you to you both and the person serving breakfast
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There is also parking available
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from alysa shirley, Owner at Victoria Lodge Hotel
Responded 6 Jul 2022
it was a pleasure to host you and we appreciate the review, we try and be a home form home and very relaxed. Stay safe in these crazy times x
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Amy and Zelda wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
This hotel is lovely, so welcoming to my child and our dog. They are friendly and this place has a "visiting family" feel about it. Plus.... they rescued me at 22.30pm from a spider that could bench press Bane from the Batman movies.... seriously, I swear.... it was a monster.... which I think came in on the beach stuff.... OK it was smallish, but it was dark and upclose, so it looked bigger .... either way they saved me from it and that is above and beyond service! Also the rooms are clean and the food is yummy, really close to the beach and some lovely food areas. There is even a place around the corner to walk the dog!!! 10/10 Hotel and staff..... 100/10 spider removal technique!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alysa Shirley, Owner at Victoria Lodge Hotel
Responded 12 Aug 2021
So glad we could not only make your holiday worthwhile, but save you from the evil jaws of the spider!!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
robandbrenda wrote a review Jul 2021
Colchester, United Kingdom20 contributions33 helpful votes
After recent personal changes in m y life I needed a place to stay that would be suitable to my needs .This hotel was perfect. Alica was the perfect host and I felt very comfortable staying here. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
penguin001 wrote a review Jul 2021
St. Lucia76 contributions36 helpful votes
I was recommended by one of the opposition skippers to book in at this hotel. I'd tried several others without much success or communication. I was after around 30 various tourers to be put up for 4 nights or thereabouts. Alysa and her staff were very accomodating and the comms were very good. It helps that the hotel is unfussy and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. Its very pet friendly and homely. Prices are competitive and sure, some things may not suit everyone, but for me, and our party it was spot on. Thank you. See you next year
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
shaneD151 wrote a review Jun 2021
East Grinstead, United Kingdom175 contributions48 helpful votes
+1
Just returned from a night stay at Victoria lodge Alysa was very welcoming host the hotel is well presented and tidy and In a perfect location five minutes Walk down the hill to the sea front and five minute walk to the old village of shanklin on a quiet road. I stayed in a twin room 6. The room was large with a private toilet and shower room tea and coffee was provided but milk was kept in a glass jug in the fridge in the communal dinning room but from my understanding the hotel is plastic free as the tea coffee and sugar are in clip jars. The only small issue is the room had a white window blind that failed to keep the light out. I had a full cooked breakfast that was tasty there was also a breakfast bar with Cereal Bread and tosters with tea, filter coffee. From what I saw they cater for different diets very well. I would stay again but bring an eye mask
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Try and get a first floor room as the room I was in was on the car park side of the building so...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Shanklin area.
PRICE RANGE
£108 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
victoria hotel shanklin
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightShanklin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VICTORIA LODGE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews (Shanklin)

Frequently Asked Questions about Victoria Lodge Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Victoria Lodge Hotel?
Nearby attractions include JURASSIC JIM (0.1 miles), Shanklin Theatre (0.1 miles), and Shanklin Beach (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Victoria Lodge Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Victoria Lodge Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Victoria Lodge Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Victoria Lodge Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pendletons, Pencil Cottage, and Amici.
Are pets allowed at Victoria Lodge Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Victoria Lodge Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Godshill Church (3.5 miles), Arreton Barns (4.6 miles), and Appuldurcombe House (2.6 miles).