We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Shanklin Guest House

Traveller (55)
Room & Suite (30)
Pool & Beach (2)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Opened in 2011 Old Shanklin Guest House is owned and run by Gareth and Sarah James. There are five en suite rooms. We have sourced local artwork for you to enjoy and local produce for you to eat! The guest lounge is available morning to evening with local information, local magazines and board games. Breakfast specials change daily, with Full English always on the menu. Parking for Bonchurch Suite, St Helens Room, Tennyson & Godshill Rooms. All rooms are booked by name, so you know what you are paying for.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
95Great for walkers
Grade: 95 out of 100
49Restaurantswithin 0.25 miles
12Attractionswithin 0.25 miles
Reviews & more
432Reviews
69Photos
1Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 412
  • 18
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Second time visiting OSGH, Sarah and Gareth are lovely hosts, the room was clean and with nice decor. The walk in shower.. So nice! Really good breakfasts with plenty of choice. Wish we could have stayed longer!
Read more
Response from Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House
Responded 28 Nov 2018
Hi Michael, Thank you for your review. You are welcome to stay longer! See you again & Merry Christmas Sarah
Read more
Amazing visit. Nothing was too much. Fully accommodating and breakfast was delicious. Definitely reccomend. Although most attractions are closed this time of year it was very festive and plenty of places to eat and visit. Shanklin house have vouchers for money off tourist areas
Read more
Response from Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House
Responded 28 Nov 2018
Thank you for your review. We do indeed have vouchers for attractions and restaurants and more coming soon. And yes the festivities get earlier and earlier! Kind regards Sarah
Read more
A friend and I enjoyed a lovely week on the Isle of Wight. We spent 4 very comfortable nights at this delightful bed and breakfast which came highly recommended to us by friends who have stayed there several times. We were not disappointed. Sarah & Gareth are great hosts and
Read more
Response from Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House
Responded 28 Nov 2018
Thank you so much for your review. It's always nice to welcome friends of guests. You certainly made the most of the walking trails on the Island. We are very lucky to have so much walking accessible without a car. Hope to see you again Kind regards Sarah
Read more
Sarah and Gareth were excellent hosts and made our stay really enjoyable, so much so we stayed an extra night. Tennyson room was clean, bright and airy with nice walk-in shower. Breakfast was amazing, with different specials available each day, plus lovely homemade bread, sauces
Read more
Response from Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House
Responded 28 Nov 2018
Thank you for your review. We would love you to visit again! Really glad you enjoyed yourselves. Kind regards Sarah
Read more
We had a throughly enjoyable 4 day break on the Isle of Wight at the end of September enhanced by our stay with Sarah and Gareth at OSGH. I read many glowing reviews of the hospitality that we could expect on this site and we were not disappointed: friendly welcome,
Read more
Response from Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House
Responded 28 Nov 2018
Hi Brian & Jean, Thank you for your review. The Cottage is a new restaurant and becoming very popular. We are very fortunate to have such a mix of restaurants in Shanklin. Gareth does seem to get stuck in the kitchen sometimes! We have had all sorts of cars in the car park. Cars are getting bigger and bigger and our entrance is not! Hope to see you again. Kind regards Sarah
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
Photo provided by managementOld Shanklin Guest House
Photo provided by managementOld Shanklin Guest House
Bonchurch Suite
PreviousNext
123456
Do you allow pets? 10lbs. Terrier
Sorry no pets.
0 votes
"St Helens is a lovely room with a great shower."
"All rooms are excellent"
"Captain’s Room best suited for people 5’ 9” and under due to low beams."
"All rooms are well thought out and very comfortable"
"All rooms are quiet, clean and nicely furnished."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$86 - US$115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightShanklin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing