We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Arrandale House & Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Arrandale House & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 249: English reviews
cumbria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my husband recently visited the Isle of Man for a few days as neither of us had been since childhood, I can honestly say I wasn't to enthusiastic about it but went with the flow. My husband had booked the guest house and when we arrived we were greeted by the owner, a lovely friendly lady who gave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Friendly, helpful staff. Clean, comfortable accommodation, albeit outdated but that led to the charm. Breakfast was prepared to order. We had a mix up about one of our rooms, but the owner, Rose resolved it quickly and to our satisfaction. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

A basic B&B Rooms are small and tired but clean and adequate. Ensuite was the same. The bed was a bit small for us and we didn't find it very comfortable. Breakfast was good with a reasonable choice, but finished at 9am. Most places now recognise that people tend to want a later breakfast on the weekend! Only saw the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Necia J
wirral
Reviewed 10 October 2016

arrived late was shown to room 104 very nice all you could need for a short stay very clean room and shower room, went to breakfast next morning good choice, great ingredients ,pleasant helpful staff, all in all a very nice place and will recommend very highly. Big shout to owner rose always smiling and helpful and dani the lady...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fouraway
Rose F, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, I will make sure Dani reads this. I know it took you a long time to finally make the trip across the water (!)but hopefully, it wont be your last and we look forward to being of service to you again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Great hotel The staff were very friendly and helpful Perfect location for our work Rooms were comfortable Good customer service after we had left the hotel swell as while we were there Parking facilities and Wi-Fi

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lsesecuritysystems
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Very warm welcome from Theo. Typical B&B with a great selection for breakfast. Theo was available for anything we wanted or wanted to know. Just be aware that there isn't a lift and the stairs are quite narrow. Rooms clean with good views shower/toilet a bit small but it is a B&B. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rocco43
Rose F, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Our guesthouse is an old, characterful building which unfortunately doesn't lend itself to a lift. However, we are always happy to help with luggage.

Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

We arrived on the 23rd September and we wasnt expected to arrive until the afternoon but Rose got us into the main building and we got a sea view room and was very impressed. We where made to feel extremely welcome the entire weekend and had a great time. Theo helped us with the printing of our boarding passes before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyHilton89
Rose F, Manager at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we hope to be of service again to you in the future.

Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I am a business traveller and need desk space, parking and good Wi-Fi. Imagine my disappointment on arrival at getting a room, not in the hotel (it's not a hotel its a guest house), but in the overflow building some 100yds away. The room was inadequate, very small and with no workspace. Car parking is subject to the 2 hour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ballymenapaul
Rose F, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review

We were glad to be able to help in solving the mis-booking issue. We understand it can be problematic when your accommodation is booked by an agent who doesn't necessarily choose the correct option to meet your requirements. We are registered with the Isle of Man Tourist Board as a 3 star guesthouse and self catering apartments so fortunately can...

Reigate
Reviewed 13 September 2016

we stayed in an apartment with a bedroom and a lounge/bedroom which was huge. the kitchen was nice with appliances etc.It was about 10 minutes walk to the seafront, and another 10 minutes into central Douglas. However as we had a car, it was very convenient for leaving Douglas whilst avoiding the town centre. Free unrestricted parking is about a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scubajonb
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights, room was on the top floor with a view of the harbour Breakfast was very nice everyday, we arrived early and Rose still gave us a breakfast which was much appreciated Our room had a large double bed, was clean and comfortable Tea and coffee facilities in the room Shower room was ok, shower cubical...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
Rose F, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your for your review, nearly all our rooms have some seaview. We don't have a lift so we do recommend requesting a lower floor room if you don't like stairs. However the climb to the top floor is worth it for the fabulous views!

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Admiral House
Admiral House
#13 of 22 in Douglas
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Edelweiss Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range: £42 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Arrandale House & Apartments staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
merseyside
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Arrandale House & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“am sure they will accommodate you if asked.”
 of 5 bubbles fouraway, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“304 great view”
 of 5 bubbles rocco43, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms small but self catering apartments spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles Ballymenapaul, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The sea view may not be worth the climb - depending on your fitness levels”
  • Sea view from top floor
 of 5 bubbles alistairh841, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Trudging up to the second floor can be arduous for us seniors after a hard day exploring!”
 of 5 bubbles albertw770, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay