We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Channel View Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Channel View Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 237: English reviews
Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

bus trip 18 girls I know some of the people on the bus had a bit of a problume and some unhappy with the manager but I found her ok she wos friendly to me and my room mate /we had a nice clean room { a bit to hot for me but open windo and it whos ok}food ok...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked in as we had insurance claim on roof of our property. All in all food good friendly staff excellent location for beach town and local bus links... only gripe is bit of redecorate rooms and common areas like stair and reception..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barry b
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival with a coach party of 56 had to line up to get keys Rooms were small but clean With. very small single beds Our first meal was nice and owner stated there was to be a happy hour between 7.30 and 8.30 as we usually do in our group we have a kitty so buy all drinks off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
channelview, Manager at Channel View Hotel, responded to this review

we would like to begin by saying that in a coaching hotel , when 57 guests arrive in a coach all at the same , you have have to queue up to get your keys its not humanly possible to give keys to everyone in 5 mins . the check in was quick and efficient secondly the happy hour was...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were on a coach party, with 18 of us in our group, our rooms were all ready when we got to hotel, our room was very clean and tidy, the breakfast and evening meals were good and well presented, our waiter Alex was first class and nothing was too much trouble, sea front was minutes walk away, really enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
Paphos
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 night and found it very nice room very clean and modern hotel just 5 min walk from Sandown Pier and very close to the bus route the hotel is under going up grade the staff we found very helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harry C
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

This was the worse hotel I have ever stayed in. The best thing was the bed was very clean and nice white bed linen. BUT being told had to order our evening meal before our morning coffee could be served was ridiculous, its not my fault said the waiter they are the rules. Then at dinner having to order our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marionwhite143
channelview, Manager at Channel View Hotel, responded to this review

hi firstly you travelled on a coach trip with the cheapest company in the market. i would not like to disclose the price the company pays the hotel. however in order to order fresh food for same day delivery we take pre-order. any budget coaching hotel takes order and the company you booked is aware of it. there is a...

Reviewed 1 November 2016

The place was clean and tidy, though could do with some more work to the decor i.e creaky floor boards need seeing to. Walls were thin as you could hear every word the next door guest was saying and we were woken up by the bathroom fans going on at 5.30 in the morning. Food and entertainment was o.k. for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret T
channelview, Manager at Channel View Hotel, responded to this review

hello firstly i would like to say where and when did you see the manager bullying a staff member. if you had a bussiness and knew that training non-experienced new staff member ( waiting staff especially ) is not bullying its called teaching/ training the hotel service quick , efficient and polite way not the guest way of doing things...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Arrival ok , Given local info . Room fine warm , clean and cosy , Floorboards creaky as with any older property. zero atmosphere or staff only saw someone on reception for a while. no bar staff or entertainment breakfast only availiable on 1 day of stay. , I know out of season .but an effort for paying customers, would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank neilludgate
channelview, Manager at Channel View Hotel, responded to this review

fiirstly you came on 21st - 23rd october - 2 nights ( bed only ) booked via booking.com we offered you breakfast on sunday and you paid and then came down and said i have to catch the ferry early and the breakfast time didnt suit you , so you asked to refund your breakfast - which we happily did...

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

We didn't even make it to the room! The receptionist was nowhere to be seen 20 minutes after check in and there was already a cue, she was rude and tried to justify her whereabouts, rather than offering a quick apology. At this point my partner and I decided to go elsewhere. I've been in the catering industry for some...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PaulRoney
channelview, Manager at Channel View Hotel, responded to this review

hello you didnt stay at the hotel , so your review is highly unaceptable we have reported it to tripadviosr and they will take action for it stop making up a story thats doesnt exsit , we will diclose to trip advisor only we do not know who you are and where you from its your 1st review on trip...

Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

This is a rather difficult to review. Overall the hotel is clean. I was in bedroom 9 which needed updating (as pics will show). Everything was squeaky, the beds were so worn that the mattresses appeared to have lost all their filling. The floors were very very squeaky and every noise outside our room and in the room above could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzy0217
channelview, Manager at Channel View Hotel, responded to this review

hi thanks for the review . we apprecaite your input about cleanilness and clean bedding and good service in restaurant and other things mentioned about your room. we are in the process of refuirbishment of changing to new beds but as you know it takes time and money , we continously are updating every year , we have had new...

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
1.5 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 31 in Sandown
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 31 in Sandown
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
677 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#12 of 31 in Sandown
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Channel View Hotel

Address: 4-6 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range: £31 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Channel View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel View Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Channel View Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Channel View Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't go to this hotel if you want a nice atmosphere”
 of 5 bubbles christinedG3135KJ, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Hotel has a second floor but lift only goes to 1st floor try to get ground or 1st If stairs are a problem”
 of 5 bubbles 959trevorb, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a ground floor room if elderly or disabled as lift only goes up one floor.”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“hide any evidence of contraband or risk being chucked out !”
 of 5 bubbles neilludgate, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms facing the road have good sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles 249bobf, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay