Fort Holiday Park
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Fort Holiday Park

Fort Holiday Park Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BD England
Same Vans wen flooded - very pretty
Traveller (38)
View from No.39
Room & Suite (18)
kitchen-3bedroom caravan
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 5 campsites in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
We are a family run static caravan park, with 46 1, 2 or 3 bedroom caravans for up to 8 people. We are the closest park to both Sandown town and beach, only 5 minutes walk (400m). Sandown zoo (and Sandown pier in the opposite direction) are both only 15 minutes walk away, and you can hear the lions at night. Visit Fort holiday park on the Isle of Wight.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Game room
Billiards
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Paid wifi
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor furniture
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Kitchenware
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Modern

Location

Fort Holiday Park Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BD England
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 81 out of 100
81
Eastleigh Airport
22.1 mi
See all flights
Bournebouth Intl Airport
31.3 mi
See all flights
111Reviews2Q+A22Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 28
  • 8
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JRMEssex wrote a review Jun 2011
Essex51 contributions101 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Went on a SUN weekend break. Very good location close to the town, beach and restaurants. Clean and tidy family run site with about 46 caravans. All caravan had a picnic table outside and there were BBQ's scattered around the site for you to use. We stayed in an older caravan and although some of the window fittings were a bit rusty the caravan was very clean and fresh . Good kitchen with Fridge Freezer and microwave and plenty of blankets and duvets. In the bathroom was a mini bath come shower which was adequate for our needs. Caulkheads Pub, I believe is owned by the family and offers good value for money with a discount if you are staying on site - eat after 8 if I don’t want too many children running about. We were warmly welcomed when we arrived and would definitely recommend this site if you want a quite location within walking distance of a beautiful beach.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2011Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jill190927 wrote a review Jul 2011
Isle of Man, United Kingdom1 contribution6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
During the Island Games the Isle of Man team completely took over the Fort Holiday Park. Everything was ready for us all arriving. During the week nothing was too much trouble We had a wonderful time. Full marks to both Dave and Jane!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2011Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ekhaya wrote a review Sept 2011
Brighton, United Kingdom8 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
very warm welcome !, caravan clean, well equippped apart from a toaster ! grill took ages to toast the bread, perfect location for beautifull beach, restaurants etc, we went on a daily mirror deal and it only cost us £30.00 pp for 3 nights including the ferry ! cant go wrong really, we thoroughly enjoyed dinner and lunch at the reef restaurant, would visit gain
Read more
Date of stay: September 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jean B wrote a review Apr 2015
London, United Kingdom6 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I visited Fort Holiday Park in Sandown during the Easter holidays 2015. I travelled by coach,Red Funnel ferry and through Southern Vectis buses with my 3 children aged 15,7 and 6 from London.We left at 9.30am and arrived at 5pm. Along day of travelling. I booked the Harlequin 4 for £109 for 2 nights stay, through Red funnels ferry and accomodation link. I also paid seperately for my coach and ferry. on arriving at the park I was very suprised to see that the park was opposite a housing estate.i have been to caravan parks many times and never one that was positioned in a built up area. Expected green and country look. My van was number 23. It was opposite a public skate park which is not mentioned at all in the info telling the customer about the surrounds and things to do. It does show a small square on the map. Nothing about the noise that this entails for the customer.
I have never been to a public skate park before and was horrified with the amount of noise that was thudding across the van, imagine numerous teenagers slamming their skateboards on and off of a metal curved ramp. I immediately complained to the site owner who responded with this is our cheapest caravan, and that their map of the park shows the skate park. Shame it makes no mention of the proximity so close to a group of their vans, and that the noise is unbearable.
I explained that I have 2 young children to go to sleep and was offered an upgrade in another position at my expense. I declined. Felt insulted. I was also told that the skate park closed at 9pm. Not true, it depended on the site man and when he arrived. Also the football pen directly next to the skate park which wasn't mentioned in the brochure had grown men kicking a ball around after 10pm on my second night. Thank God I only had to suffer 2 nights with my young children,imagine if I had booked 7. The least they could of done was moved us away from the noise as I have young children, no customer service care. Many of the vans looked turnt upside down inside, maybe getting decorated but an eyesore. The shower and sink water flow was terrible. The van was freezing, forget it unless it is hot summertime. We had to all sleep on the living room floor on cushions next to the fumes of the one gas fire.
The window lever in the living room was broken on one side leaving a cold draught coming in and our belongings unsafe. I didn't bother to report this after the first response from the owner, although I stated all of this on my unsatisfaction card.
The beach is a good 8 min walk as you cannot access it without going through town. The owner has said that they are awaiting permission for a fence around the park to seperate the skate park, but this will do nothing about the horrific noise that belts through the park. I know that these people are trying to scrape a living but the dishonest description of the park re the noise should be addressed. £109 or not, people should be told about his clear abuse to ones tranquility that one looks for on a caravan hoilday. At least state about the noise, as to not rip people off and ruin their hoilday. I feel this park should be made into homes for the homeless and got rid of. Sandown needs a lot of investment. I have stayed in shanklin,Ventnor and ryde and never experienced this. I will also be complaining to Red Funnel as they are selling their park through their site. also the noise of the clicker that lights the gas fire is crazy, and the cutlery drawer on opening falls down. Harlequins should be made obsolete. Greed it seems keeps these owners from being honest about their park. shut it down!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FortHolidayPark, Owner at Fort Holiday Park
Responded 25 Apr 2015
Very sorry you feel you had to write this review, when you were not given a free upgrade to a heated caravan. On the two occasions you telephoned prior to booking, you were told of the caravan position, details of the park and facilities and the fact the caravan had no heating in the bedrooms and could be cold at night. A fully heated caravan was offered at £22 extra in a prime postion on the park, which you viewed and declined. Our brochure, and website show the housing estate at the entrance and the skate park. Whilst every effort is made to make sure our information is correct. We have to rely on the customers to read it.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
traveller2go_12 wrote a review Oct 2012
notts13 contributions20 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Really disappointed in the allocated caravan. We did not mind it was very old, but one of the outside doors was completedly unuseable as a large bush had overgrown and blocked the door frame. Once inside all the windows had been left wide open, but even this could not get rid of the very old stale smell of smoke, even though it was supposed to be a non smoking caravan. We just looked at each other and realised we could not stay here. If we had stayed we would have smelled the same as the caravan, as it would have made all our clothes smell as well. We locked up the caravan and went and stayed in the Travel Lodge instead. We could not recommend this caravan at all. Whilst I am sure there are much better caravans on the site, this one should be urgently upgraded or completely scrapped as it is not fit to be let out at the present time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you are offered caravan 19, do not accept, as in our opinion it should be upgraded or scrapped.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FortHolidayPark, Owner at Fort Holiday Park
Responded 7 Oct 2012
We were very sorry to have you leave straight away. It would have been a very quick and easy fix to cut back the bush at the time. This has since been done. Our policy is that ALL caravans on Fort holiday park are non smoking as per the total ban on smoking in commercial properties since 1st July 2007. However, this is very difficult to police, and on the odd occasion it happens, we do our very best to clean the caravan and leave all the windows open to air for as long as possible. Hence why your windows were open on your arrival. As we stated at the time of booking this was the last caravan available on the park as in booking this caravan we would be 100% full for one of the last weeks in September. This was our last caravan due to the fact it is one of our older caravans in one of the less desirable positions on our park. As you were aware the prices of all our caravans had been reduced down to £159.00 for a full week for any caravan on our park. So with prices like 3 nights for £84 for up to 8 people (£3.50 per person per night) we did fill up for the whole of September. For 2013 we are investing in 8 replacement caravans all with full central heating. 6 of which are three bedroom and two are two bedroom. These will be replacing some of the older caravans on the park. Over the past 3 years we will have replaced 23 of our total hire fleet of 45. As I'm sure you can apprieciate this takes time and is an ongoing process.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cliffmand wrote a review Aug 2012
basildon179 contributions83 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here in june and had the same problem with flooding that the people staying in july had encountered, the trouble is this place is basically set up on a marshland and it doesnt take a lot to of rain to make it very difficult to get around, i had to get a luggage trolley to get my 2 young children from the caravan to the car park, we couldnt even get the children to the so called play area , not without waders anyway.
This was not the only problem we encountered, our caravan door refused to lock, we did go to reception and report this but nothing was done which meant everytime we went out we had to take anything of value along with us, not ideal, we had also paid for linen and bedding before we came out but it wasnt in the caravan when we arrived, nor was it offered when we checked in at reception, so it meant another trek through the water back to reception to pick it up.
We felt abandoned here with all the problems with the flooding at no point were we ever asked if everything was ok, or did we need assistance, obviously they are used to the flooding we were not.
I have seen in previous reviews the words peaceful and perfectly situated mentioned im afraid this isnt the case at all on one side you have an estate and on the other side you have a skate park, the swearing and shouting from the skate park would start at 9am and continue until 9 pm, this place doesnt give a good representation of the island, i have been coming to the island for 25 years and there are far better parks around.
I will give a quick mention of the pub on the grounds, which i think is owned by the same people, the childrens play area was great, but the food was very average and im being kind by calling it that to be honest, again travel out of the park to find much better for the same price.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FortHolidayPark, Owner at Fort Holiday Park
Responded 7 Oct 2012
We are sorry to hear the problems you had with you van were not sorted quickly as our aim is to rectify problems as and when they arise. We have reviewed our system and taken steps, so hopefully simple jobs like this don't get missed. The linen again must have been an oversight in reception and we are constantly reviewing are systems so this doesn't happen. The problems we have had with flooding have been caused this year with the extreme and unusual amounts of rainfall and we do try to offer assisstance when asked and give out information from the environment agency when we get it. Fortunately we managed to stay open unlike some parks on the mainland who lost their livelyhood due to flooding. The noise from the skatepark, which is clearly mapped in our brochure, was at the time of your visit being left unlocked. We have had meetings with the council and they now lock the skatepark.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob B wrote a review Oct 2014
North Walsham, United Kingdom305 contributions252 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Fort Holiday Park at Sandown offers clean, basic accommodation for those content to have a caravan holiday without the frills. We chose it on this occasion for our Sun Holiday break because it looked like a pleasant change from the loud, glossy, vulgar accommodation on offer at the bigger parks. There is just so much "Let’s all have fun, fun, fun!!!" that a body can take, after all.
In the end, though, we found ourselves missing many of the facilities that the big parks have to offer...like a camp shop, a choice of bars and restaurants and yes - even the option to sample some of that brassy entertainment before bedtime.
Fort Holiday Park is run by a family who work hard to give satisfaction. They are friendly on the phone, and willing to do what they can to make your stay pleasant once you arrive. They are battling against the odds some of the time, though. The location of the park is not scenic. Sandown itself is a rather tired, run-down sort of place, and the area where the Fort Park sits is close to a whole row of Victorian guest houses scheduled for demolition. Although you are not far from the centre of town, you still face a ten minute walk down to the beach, made all the more frustrating because the park is actually sited quite close to the sea - you just can't get at it without a long detour through the town and around a large public park. Worse, this public facility sports a large skate-board arena, situated right against the boundary of the caravan site. The noise from this popular attraction echoes loudly around the Fort Park during daylight hours.
If you stay here, your car will be parked at a distance from your van, and you will have to drag your luggage down narrow concrete paths, piled onto a rickety hand-cart. (Maybe several times, if you don’t travel light.) Allegedly this is in the interests of safety, but actually the vans are positioned so closely together that there wouldn’t be room for roads between them. You would not want to arrive here at the start of your stay in the middle of a downpour, or - Heaven forbid - after dark.
Some of the vans are quite elderly, and the exterior coachwork of many of them supports outcrops of green mould. A day on site with a pressure washer would pay dividends. Internally, however, I am pleased to report that the van we stayed in, at least, was extremely clean. We had paid for an upgrade which meant that the interior dimensions were very generous. This itself, though, caused a problem, because the TV set had such a tiny screen that you needed to be up close to see any detail at all. The seats, however, in this 12 foot wide van were benches, fixed to the wall, so could not be moved closer, and the set could not be brought closer to the seats because of its being tethered to the opposite wall. I found myself, not for the first time on a caravan park, wondering why even a top upgrade does not entitle one to upgraded equipment? Bottom of the range TVs, toasters and kettles do not add to the pleasures of one’s stay. No DVD player was provided, although one could be rented. Remembering that there is no entertainment on offer here, including a DVD in the hire cost would not be too much to ask, surely? Wi-fi was available in each of the vans, but again the cost was high. I found it cheaper to use my mobile phone as a hot-spot.
This park has a loyal following, and the proprietors work hard to make a success of it. It might be some time, however, before this reviewer is tempted to sample the simple pleasures of a small holiday park again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Upgrade if you can afford it. Ask for a van as far removed from the skate park as possible!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FortHolidayPark, Owner at Fort Holiday Park
Responded 10 Oct 2014
Thank you for your very detailed if slightly inaccurate review. Please allow me the honor of amending a few details. Yes, Sandown is undergoing a slow change with some wonderful new planning applications being passed. Just waiting for them to get started to enhance our area. We are only 5 minutes walk from the beach (400m) and not 10 minutes. unless you stop off at one of the pubs en-route or the local shops. From the furthest caravan on our park. The most direct route (the main road) is only 550m from caravan door to the main central beach. Past 5 places to eat and 1 Co-op and 2 tourist shops. All closer than on a large park if your caravan is located in their 'quieter zones'. Within 10 minutes walk there are at least 30 places to eat in the form of a cafe, pub or restaurant. 9 attractions in Sandown, 5+ hotels offering entertainment most nights and over 60 shops, plenty for most people to find something to do without paying for, as you state, a "loud, glossy, vulgar accommodation on offer at the bigger parks". Yes, a public park with skatepark and play area are next door as shown in our brochure. This is because we are very close to all Sandown amenities. This can be a little noisy which is why WE are paying for a fence to be placed around the council facility for the benefit of our customers, When the council finally make there decision. Again in our brochure, we state all cars are parked in a car park. All our caravans are in excess of the minimum distance required to be apart and on parks that allow cars, this even smaller space would be taken up with your car, leaving minimal area for you to sit outside. We sell over 1100 holidays a year and have been doing so for over 14 years, everyone gets a comment card and the vast majority like the fact there are no cars, One of the main features for choosing our park, many of whom are multiple repeat customers. Over 210 have already booked for 2015. We do agree that some of the caravans do require the external paintwork to be washed again. Usually the rain helps with this but it has been a fantastic sunny summer. Although this week is a bit wetter, the first bit of real rain for many weeks. Our televisions are 19" to 24" in a 10' lounge. DVD players are available to rent (£2.00 per stay) and Wifi (73mb Fibre) is available at a cost of £12 for a week (2014). For 2015 we are investing in some larger televisions for our top of the range caravans. If you had upgraded to one of them, which you declined. You would have had... better fittings, central heating, double glazing, a larger televison, moveable seating and a view across to culver. This was all available for only £25 extra on your total holiday price of £108 for 4 nights in September 2014. Bringing your total price to...I think a still very respectable... £16.63 per person per night for the two of you. I hope this answers your review in full.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jjw789 wrote a review Aug 2013
3 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am writing this at 0230 listening to what I can only describe as a caravan full of yobs singing, shouting & banging just across the site from where our van is located. This has been going on for a couple of hours and nothing has been done despite the 'no noise' policy. I am presuming they have spent the money in the pub also owned by the park and therefore this is ok behaviour in the etes of the owners? No one hss been unable to contact anyone. Apart from that the van is tired & old but you get what you pay for. The site is clean. It is such a shame as the location is great. Sandown looking very tired to what it used to be. Would give this place a wide berth if this is the type of clients it attracts! Now to try and sleep!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FortHolidayPark, Owner at Fort Holiday Park
Responded 2 Sept 2013
sorry you had 1 night out of your holiday disrupted by a family with three older teenage children making too much noise on Friday night / Saturday morning. Unfortunately, our phones switch to silent after 11pm and we didn't get the message until 8am Saturday morning, but as we do live on site as stated in the caravans and do have a no noise policy as you also stated a simple knock on our door would have the meant we would have known about the incident when it was happening. You came to us the next morning (the only compaint about the noise and we apoligised to the neighbouring caravans, who did not hear anything) when we went to the caravan in question and asked them to be quieter in future. They were mortified and did not realise they were making so much noise inside the caravan as the doors were open but curtains drawn as it was such a warm night. You also state that the caravan is old...yes.it is old as stated in our brochure and online. we don't hide this fact and actually make sure people are aware of what they are spending their money on hiring. Our budget vans are 1989. 24 years old but have been refurbished many times and are fully up to spec of our budget range. They are also a lot cheaper than our top of the range vans allowing us to offer a caravan holiday to suit all budgets. I don't feel that your one and only review about one incident is representitive of your holiday as on leaving you said you had a 'nice time' but an immediate knee jerk reaction to a small minority of people accidently over enjoying their holiday. Who on reflection were very apologetic. I am sorry you had to write this review. It is not a normal occurance on our park. Whilst we don't state we are quiet in any of our literature as we are only 5 minutes from the town centre. The vast majority of the time the only thing you can hear at night are the crickets and the occasional roar from a lion at the Isle of Wight zoo... only 10 minutes walk away.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elaine B wrote a review Sept 2014
Pewsey, United Kingdom5 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived on the 31 Aug 2014 we had been before but had missed a couple of yrs.Caravan had been cleaned although bathroom had been sprayed but not wiped down not a problem quick wipe down and sorted. Staff were very friendly.We did have one of the older caravans but accepted you get what you pay for.Bedrooms were quite tiny but next time we will get a newer caravan.The only downside to a good holiday is that on the 5 Sept we had youngsters move in to the caravan next door and the music was loud and there was a lot of alcohol.There was another caravan with youngsters as well with music blaring.We decided that to avoid any problems we would leave that evening.I know the park has a no noise policy but when alcohol is involved things could get nasty.I do understand that they need to make money but unfortunately those of us who want peace and quiet do suffer.I will be visiting the park again but will avoid the festivals and get one of the newer caravans.A shame about Sandown looking so run down
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet avoid the music festivals and it is worth upgrading to the newer...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FortHolidayPark, Owner at Fort Holiday Park
Responded 16 Sept 2014
Hi, Festival time is a noisy time for the island... We have three weekends of the year where large scale fesivals happen on the island June with the Isle of Wight festival, August bank holiday with the scooter rally and September with the Bestival. As you mentioned if you do not wish to attend these the island can be a bit noisy and the busses and taxis are permanantly full or not available. We do have a lot of festival people on the park at these times and in the early hours of the morning when they are returning even people speaking can seem rather loud in the dead of the night. Music is still banned after 10pm and before 8am and to our knowledge when I walked around the park around midnight was being adheared to. Sorry if your holiday was spoilt but this was not mentioned when you left and you said you had a great time and were leaving to beat the traffic.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louise B wrote a review Sept 2014
United Kingdom49 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for in August and were unfortunately very disappointed. The caravan (which was not an economy one) was in desperate need of refurbishment. The cleaners had done a good job with what they were given but the carpet had a large stain and all of the upholstery was so shabby it looks very grubby.
The rooms are extremely small and also unfortunately smelt damp. The lounge area had a very nasty smell as well. The shower really needed replacing
We were hoping to sit out in the evenings but unfortunately it just isn't that kind of place. The caravans are very close together, you can't drive to them to unload you need to use a pull along trolley.
The staff all seems very nice although when we asked for something to be fixed they did let themselves into the caravan when we were out without asking us first which I didn't think was great.
The location for Sandown is good but unfortunately Sandown itself is looking very rundown which is such a shame because it is a really beautiful spot.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FortHolidayPark, Owner at Fort Holiday Park
Responded 16 Sept 2014
Hi, Your pictures are absolutely disgusting, This caravan should never have been handed over to you in this state. I have no excuses, our cleaners will be shown this review and the photos. Luckily we can work out which caravan it was from the photos and the dates given we know which cleaners are to be spoken to. I just wish you came and showed us this at the time as we request on our comment and job sheet cards given to you on your arrival as it was a simple fix. One you should not have had to but all the same something that completely spilt your holiday to the point of wanting to write this review. From your review, you did however,come to us with another fault in the caravan and we came along and fixed it. You were out at the time and as with any establishment we used our pass key to enter our caravan and make good the problem, this is standard practice. Not sure how the caravan smelt damp with the lack of rain over the summer, also the room sizes are standard caravan bedroom room sizes, enough for a bed or two, wardrobe and room to get into the beds. You have shown a picture of the closeness of the caravans, these are all greater than the minimum allowed distance and infront of this caravan is a large area and 60' to the next caravan. Also no cars onsite between the caravans or roads mean there is far more room around our caravans than on most parks.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew S wrote a tip Mar 2016
Starcross, United Kingdom63 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I had caravan 38"
Read full review
penny19752015 wrote a tip Jul 2015
Sandbach, United Kingdom2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book one of the larger vans if you have children"
Read full review
pierater wrote a tip May 2015
United Kingdom86 contributions34 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"A caravan upgrade to a more modern one may suit some but did not worry me."
Read full review
Bob B wrote a tip Oct 2014
North Walsham, United Kingdom305 contributions252 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upgrade if you can afford it. Ask for a van as far removed from the skate park as possible!"
Read full review
Elaine B wrote a tip Sept 2014
Pewsey, United Kingdom5 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want peace and quiet avoid the music festivals and it is worth upgrading to the newer caravans"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sandown area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
fort holiday park hotel sandown
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightSandown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FORT HOLIDAY PARK - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Fort Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Fort Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Steve's Beach (0.2 miles), Dinosaur Isle (0.3 miles), and Dino Islands - A Golf Adventure (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fort Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, laundry service, and internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Fort Holiday Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fort Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Fort Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fort Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bandstand Restaurant, The Reef, and The Caulkheads.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fort Holiday Park?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Fort Holiday Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Arreton Barns (4.5 miles), Bembridge Windmill (2.9 miles), and Appuldurcombe House (4.7 miles).
Is Fort Holiday Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Sandown HotelsSandown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Sandown
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire