We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melville Hall Hotel

Traveller (22)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (129)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Deserve some pampering? the friendly Melville Hall Hotel & Utopia Spa is the number one choice for a relaxing holiday with lovely bedrooms, excellent restaurant, indoor and outdoor (summer) swimming pools, free Wi-Fi, free car park, cinema, mini gym, conference facilities and all just a few minutes walk from Sandown beach and High Street.
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Sauna
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Quiet
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
76Somewhat walkable
Grade: 76 out of 100
19Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
7Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
64Reviews
254Photos
1Q+A
13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 19
  • 13
  • 6
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Unfortunately there were so many problems with this hotel unclean problem with hot water windows bang all night with a huge draft (ended up using my coat and scaff as a draft excluder manager response was it it what it is no refund or reduction offers
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This is the second time we have been here and for the most part it was very good. The food is fantastic, generous portions and very tasty. Our room was good but getting hot water seems to be a problem, you have to run it fast for ages until it comes through. The only other
Read more
I have never,ever stayed at a hotel where you have to request the room to be cleaned! We missed bed making,towels.soap,toilet paper and coffee/tea because we didn’t put the card on the door!Room good,excellent bathroom jacuzzi great
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Very friendly and welcoming. The pool and sauna facilities were very good and added to our enjoyment. The breakfast was excellent, although an option of some fruit would have been welcome, but it was a quiet time. The dinner menu was good and the food was lovely. We also had
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
+2
This place was like our second home. But this visit was sadly not the same. Don't get us wrong,,,,it was a good deal with the car ferry to the IOW, lunch, treatment each, 2 course evening meal, bed and breakfast. But it was like a ghost hotel. There was only us and a few other
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMelville Hall Hotel
The Twin Room at the Melville Hall Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMelville Hall Hotel
The Superior Room at the Melville Hall Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMelville Hall Hotel
The Spa Room at the Melville Hall Hotel
The four poster bedroom overlooks the front of the hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMelville Hall Hotel
The Twin Room at the Melville Hall Hotel
PreviousNext
12345625
During our stay there were no children, but there were very few guests generally as it was mid-week, mid-January. Only the hotel itself could really answer this one!
1 vote
Show all answers
"Don’t forget the card on your door!"
"The room was comfortable, clean, well stocked and had a bath! Run the hot tap for a while to get the hot water for a lovely relaxing bath."
"Clean, comfortable room. You get to it by stairs as there are no lifts. The lovely staff however assist with luggage where necessary."
"I would just add that a box of facial tissues and a chair would be useful although it didn't ruin our stay "
"Avoid this hotel there is better hotels"
PreviousNext
123
PRICE RANGE
US$107 - US$186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
melville hall sandownhotel melville hallmelville hall hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightSandown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing