We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Burlington Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Burlington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 278: English reviews
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a fab time bed and breakfast and evening meal,fully stocked bar, with nightly entertainment also a half day day excursion into Ryde. Lovely bed linen and towels,nice size room number 11. We were allocated a table in the dining room, and a designated waitress who really looked after us well throughout our stay.The meals were served in good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carafantasticols
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

a long day getting there The hotel is very clean, staff very helpful Room was ok ,the dining room was fine with good and helpful staff Food was very good and like being served at table Concert room and entertainment was very good especially Stevie B

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank EdwinaEdwards
Wales
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Old hotel but brilliant, great staff, food, entertainment. We had so many extras, tea and cake, biscuits, brunch, bubbly, party poppers, great place, will definitely return. Very comfy beds, close to sea front.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendyhen
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

just back from new year break, with national holidays. Had a great stay, hotel was a little dated but very clean. The staff were great, very quick service and meals lovely. HAD HEATED INDOOR POOL, and nice dining room, also a nice lounge with pool table. Close to all the amenities. Only down side was lack of loos, one each...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gary s
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There were 16 of us in our group and we all had a great time. Can recommend the hotel, food and accommodation good and also entertainment. The staff were very helpful. The only downfall was heating in room, although on didn't heat the room very well. I would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ckoviak84
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from a Twixmas break at this hotel. Whilst it is a little tired we had a very pleasant stay. We had room 30. The room was very clean and the bed linen and towels were crisp and clean. The ensuite shower room was very small and in need of updating but was also very clean. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane L
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very tired looking hotel. Looks like it's being updated. Food was waiter service and really good.All staff were pleasant especially waiting staff.Room was nice withcomfortable bed and new bathroomwith lovely shower. Bar closed at 11 o'clock even on a Saturday night. Nice pub facing so a lot of us ended up there. Must have cost hotel money as only our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank angelasidd0ns
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this purely on price as we just needed a base to view an elderly parent. Have to say have been pleasantly surprised. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and professional. Check in was smooth and we were allocated room 46. Good size room with en suite and TV. Very quiet room and not too far to walk....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darby2105
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Room was small and cramped but clean overlooking the dog friendly grass square. The meals left a lot to the imagination,but the serving staff were friendly. The entertainment was very hit and miss and the seating poor.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Michael M
Martin H, Owner at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Not the best hotel check in fast but no lifts so had to take our own luggage up stairs room small very cold heating only comes on at set times but ours wasn't working shower took 10 mins to get luke warm toilet didn't flush properly have to flush 2 or 3 times drawers on cupboards 1 handle was hanging...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank June W
Martin H, Owner at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words June. I believe the rest of your party had a great time during their stay and that you were the only miserable person there. (They even commented on that to us. Nothing makes YOU happy) Sorry we could not offer you the 5 star service for your £1 Sun break. We will try harder......

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.0 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#34 of 54 in Shanklin
440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 31 in Sandown
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about The Burlington Hotel

Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range: £38 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Burlington Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Burlington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“best to try for downstairs room if problems with walking. Our room on 1st floor was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles ckoviak84, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No lifts but not a high rise hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles angelasidd0ns, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you have a walking disability book a ground floor room. As a retired HGV Driver i missed there food.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelmT8583XU, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Top floor quieter, room 3 (double bed) faces south”
  • Room at the top...not a bad view...
  • Nice new shower unit with lots of nice hot water
  • Needs bedside lamps...had to leave bathroom light on all night as it gets pitch black
  • TV signal poor, pixilation and freezing, however, tuned it in eventually on my last evening
  • Ample drawer/wardrobe space
  • Immacualte white bedding and towels
 of 5 bubbles minxy09122015, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are good but there is no lift so if you can't manage the stairs ask for a ground floor one.”
 of 5 bubbles 866suew, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay