We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Cross at Kingussie

The Cross Tweedmill Brae Ardbroilach Road, Kingussie PH21 1LB Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (72)
Dining (20)
Room & Suite (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Kingussie
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A contemporary five star restaurant with eight comfortable bedrooms set in a converted tweed mill and situated in 4 acres of riverside grounds within Cairngorm National Park. AA three-rosette award winning dinners feature the highest quality fresh, local, and seasonal produce, all complimented by a 300 bin wine list and around 40 specialist malt whiskies.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
296Reviews0Q+A65Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 226
  • 45
  • 12
  • 8
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Fifer99 wrote a review Nov 2023
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom65 contributions17 helpful votes
We have stayed and eaten here previously both with current owners and previous owners.on this occasion had dinner only as we were based in Aviemore . I would rate the food as outstanding and hard to fault . Obviously we can’t comment on the rooms on this occasion but more than happy previously. We had the 3 course menu preceded by nice canapés and a cauliflower veloute . The scallops were superb as was the main course halibut .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ali_lum wrote a review Oct 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom16 contributions2 helpful votes
I gifted my parents one night as part of the Bedroom + Dinner package and they came back raving about the great experience they had. “Wow, wow, wow… and wow” was how it was described to me. “Usually there’s something to complain about but this was perfect”. The highlight was definitely the food. From the dinner, to the homemade porridges and condiments, everything sounded excellent. I was envious and hungry after hearing about it all and will definitely be planning future stays.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
libellulebe wrote a review Oct 2023
Namur Province, Belgium77 contributions39 helpful votes
Lack of maintenance of the rooms. extremely dusty (floor and horizontal support) as far as the rooms are concerned and no desire to improve the service. 200 pounds and no service between the two nights spent there. beds not made, no toilet paper for the 2nd night, mouldy shower mat, ... also the breakfast is the most basic we've had in Scotland: cornflakes, fruit salads, yoghurt. You have to order in advance, but the person has made a mistake on his announcement and 5 minutes later you are no longer served. Too bad for the restaurant in the evening, which is fine...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
eddi10c wrote a review Oct 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom433 contributions228 helpful votes
+1
This is exceptional food in a beautiful environment. The rooms are comfortable but the destination is the restaurant. Fine dining at its best and a short stumble after dinner up to the bedroom ...overlooking the burn and its plentiful red squirrels in the trees. It's a shame that the owner, Joe, has had trouble recruiting staff as that is limiting availability of rooms/dining....more people deserve to experience the hospitality and food!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mary Anne F wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I booked this event for my family months ago. I made several contacts with the owner Joe, who by his own admittance was somewhat tardy in his responses to me. He cancelled our trip last minute by email, with 72 hrs notice! Not a personal phone call, it was by pure chance that i even saw the email.No alternative suggestions or anything in way off support to find a solution. All I got was a feel sorry for Joe email. No real word about wrecking a long term plan for someone's official retirement which only happens once. Family all taken time of work, booked train etc, but all Joe offered was was feel sorry justifications, and citing things like how difficult to get staff, xenophobia in past situations to members off staff, wondering if he should sell up ect! I can honestly say that I have never experienced a business owner behaving in such a manner, no offer off a solution like helping me to ring round and find an alternative venue. I normally love to give very positive and helpful customer reviews, but sadly on this occasion I would not recommend this venue or Joe for any special events, as he is unable to problem solve, and unfortunately did not demonstrate any compassion or care for the fact that he destroyed months of planning and a surprise as if it was meaningless, just a onother day to him! Mary F.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Jouhal, Owner at The Cross at Kingussie
Responded 28 Sept 2023
Dear Mary, We are a small establishment in the Highlands. We, like most in the hospitality sector are operating on bare minimum staffing levels due to the shortages resulting from the exodus of European workers post Brexit. Our staff have been hit with Covid-19 and as a result we have had to cancel all our bookings this week and yours was sadly, one of many. Every other guest has been extremely understanding in this matter. However, your email response to us insulting our management ability and our failure at contingency planning, based on your past experience of running a hotel with your grand parents, has been the only negative response. Our actions were designed to give the maximum notice to all our guests, so that they could make alternate arrangements as many of them were travelling from Australia and North America. A number of them have already booked alternate dates with us. We understand your disappointment, but sadly we were not in a position to do more. We had residents to take care off as well as others to notify at an extremely understaffed period.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David C wrote a review Sept 2023
Boston, Massachusetts10 contributions
One of the most delicious & delightful dinners ever! Go for the full tasting menu with wine pairings to experience creatively prepared locally sourced courses with unusual, but perfectly matched wines. Your host, Joe, will provide fascinating background on food and drink, as well as the history & vision for this former tweed mill. The babbling burn that used to power the mill will lull you to sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
anne234 wrote a review Aug 2023
Kitchener, Canada8 contributions16 helpful votes
Truly a hidden gem. We enjoyed the most elegant dinner here, rivalling any 5 star restaurant. The rooms are lovely, the babbling stream below our window is very soothing after a day travelling. An old tweed mill.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
HongKongPhooey69 wrote a review Aug 2023
Ripon, United Kingdom20 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed at the Cross as part of our NC500 road trip. It was a special treat for our last night before heading back home. Did it live up to our expectations? Mostly. The room, food, wine and hospitality were brilliant. The setting is so peaceful and definitely delivers the relaxing ambience that the owners are seeking to create. It is an establishment that is aiming at the top end of the market and so everything should be perfect. This is where there are minor improvements to be made to ensure it is successful. In particular, the reception area needs a good tidy up - it’s your first point of contact with the venue and should set the tone in the right way. Relaxed needn’t mean scruffy. The bathroom fan didn’t work; which points to a lack of regular checks regularly to ensure everything works. So, all in all a lovely evening was had; the food is delightful and definitely lived up to expectations. Tidying up around the edges would elevate the experience to the level that is being aimed for. We wish you all the best!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ian J wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
Quite simply exceptional. Joe and Sarah are excellent hosts and the food is to die for, among the best we have ever tasted . Eating here is a real experience not just a meal. Thanks for a great weekend Ian and Jill
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JenintheAir wrote a review Jul 2023
Austin, Texas34 contributions
Our host, Joe, described his place as “a restaurant with rooms.” Meaning, come for the food and wine – and then crash upstairs, which is exactly what we did. Joe’s place won hands-down for the friendliest host and best restaurant. I accidentally left my camera tripod behind and was not able to go back for it. Joe mailed it to our final hotel so it was there waiting for me before we boarded our flight back home. Just the most thoughtful and kind person.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kingussie area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
the cross kingussie, the cross hotel kingussie
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsAviemore and the CairngormsKingussie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CROSS AT KINGUSSIE - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about The Cross at Kingussie
Which popular attractions are close to The Cross at Kingussie?
Nearby attractions include Service Sports (0.2 miles) and Memorial To The Men Of Force K6 (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Cross at Kingussie?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Cross at Kingussie?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Cross at Kingussie?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Cross at Kingussie?
Conveniently located restaurants include McInnes Restaurant, Cafe Bistro, and The Restaurant at The Cross.
Is The Cross at Kingussie located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Kingussie.
Does The Cross at Kingussie have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.