We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duke of Gordon Hotel

Traveller (139)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (19)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Duke of Gordon Hotel is situated in the Town of Kingussie in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park. The hotel was originally a Coaching Inn built in the mid 19th century as a horse changing stop for coaches traveling between Perth and Inverness. The hotel was extended several times during the 20th century to the building you see today. The hotel is a traditional style Highland Hotel offering the comfort of a country house but with modern amenities. The hotel was used as a filming location for the BBC Series 'Monarch of the Glen' during from 2000 to 2005. The Clan Macpherson Gathering has been held at the Duke of Gordon every August since 1938. The hotel is a popular wedding venue and many family events have taken place in the Ballroom. All guest rooms are ensuite with flat screen Televisions, Direct Dial Telephone, Hospitality Tray and WiFi throughout the building. Ceud mìle fàilte (a hundred thousand welcomes)
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 257
  • 187
  • 71
  • 30
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We were allocated a double room which was basic but clean, the bed was very small and the mattress was an old style which made you roll together, There was a mattress protector but no pillow protectors so there was only the pillow case to separate you from other guest saliva.
Read more
An overall very happy experience mainly because of the extremely helpful and friendly staff. The food was far better than I had expected with many choices and very generous. My room was probably not the nicest in the hotel, could be time for an upgrade which I know they are
Read more
We were with family and friends for our 7th March arrival. The Hotel, rooms, food were good and the staff were all friendly, and always helped with special requests for our older age group. The coach driver WALT was again great and gave regular funny information during our
Read more
Amazed at the friendliness of all staff, the quality and choice of the ample food on offer, the lovely quant town of Kingussie and the good standard of both the building and internal decoration and furniture. Ideally located to enable visits to areas attractions.
Read more
Response from DukeofGordonHotel, Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit and for you kind comments about the team. We do hope that you will visit again and experience more of what this area has to offer. Paul & Team Duke
Read more
First of all, the plusses, and there were many. The staff were universally lovely, always smiling and helpful, particularly in the restaurant. Especial mention must be made of Lisa in the restaurant who always went out of her way to help with food for the gluten-free one of us.
Read more
Response from DukeofGordonHotel, Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We are sorry that we were experiencing problems with the WiFi system during your visit. Everything possible was being done to rectify the problem at the time. Sadly the technicians were unable to repair the system as quickly as we had hoped and it did take 2 days to get the WiFi back on line. It is unfortunate that you were disturbed during the night and we apologise for this. During adverse weather and high winds there can be noise from roof tiles and outdoor wiring which unfortunately cannot always be avoided. We put on a range of entertainers throughout the week that all offer a different style we are sorry that you did not find them to your liking. The entertainers are always happy to play requests for the guests and do their best to include everyone. We hope that you had a safe and pleasant journey home and trust that you will visit us again in the future. Paul & Team Duke
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Single room 352
Snow Covered Kingussie
The Duke of Gordon. Room 234
Large Beds Spotllessly Clean
View from room
Single rooms are available at the Duke of Gordon Hotel. If you are booking direct with the hotel our rooms are priced as Single, Twin and Double. There is a supplement price for a Twin/Double room for single occupancy. This rate varies depending on the time of year and availability. If you are traveling with a tour company/operator they will have their own supplement costs which will be explained in the 'Terms and Conditions' section of the booking forms. if we can help further please do not hesitate to contact the hotel reservations team, they will be only to willing to assist you. Paul
1 vote
Show all answers
Dress dinner
Hello bigpsimon. The dress code is smart casual for the hotel in the evenings. some of our guests do dress for dinner on their last evening and we prefer that guests do not wear jeans & tea shirt for dinner in the restaurant but with guest traveling we have to be a little flexible. However, Shorts are not acceptable at Dinner. Breakfast is very casual and most guests will be dressed for their day out. I hope that has helped answer your question. Regards Paul & Team Duke.
2 votes
Show all answers
Hi Do the rooms have hairdryers please? Toiletries? Thanks
There was a hairdryer, but only shower jel was in the bathroom. Lovely hotel.
1 vote
Show all answers
There appeared to be a few tables for two you can probably request these when you are booking.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi could anyone tell me if we have a feeder coach from scunthorpe please
Phone cairngorm travel in Google.they run coaches from that area
0 votes
Show all answers
"Ground floor is better for mobility impaired guests"
"Rooms to the front of the building have a more interesting outlook."
"Not the top floor"
"Ask forgo 118 - great views"
"At front in a lower floor."
US$103 - US$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
duke of gordon kingussie
United KingdomScotlandBadenoch and StrathspeyKingussie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing