We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Mullacott Cross, Ilfracombe EX34 8NB England
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$138
View deal
Travelocity
US$138
View deal
Orbitz.comUS$138
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (129)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (7)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#16 of 35 Specialty lodging in Ilfracombe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Stunning Locations, close to all amenities, such as Woolacombe Beach, Ilfracombe & Exmoor. Our Lodges offer Luxury to everyone, with a selection of meadow views, hot tubs and VIP plots.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Fireplace
Sofa
Microwave
Oven
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
190Reviews14Q+A37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 92
  • 53
  • 20
  • 14
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alex wrote a review Sept 2021
Alresford, United Kingdom79 contributions47 helpful votes
We came in 2020 and had a regular 2 bed lodge and had a brilliant time. We decided to come again this year with extra people and decided to book the deluxe/luxury 3 bed lodge with a hot tub (26 Ocean View) and it was far from luxury!!! We had to ask someone to bring us a hoover on arrival as there was sand all over the carpets and sofas, which then got us thinking had the lodge even be cleaned before our arrival, not acceptable in covid times! None of the TV remotes worked for either of the TVs, and there was no aerial for the TV in the bedroom. There was not enough glassware for all visitors, there was sucken parts of decking which made it dangerous around the hot tub area, there was no gate on the entrance/exit from the decking area which then made it unsuitable for children as you couldn't contain them. Talking of unsuitable for children, the cover of the hot tub, all the securing clasps were broken so it was not securely closed when the lid was down. Luxury is not flimsy plastic garden furniture that only sits 4 people when the lodge itself sleeps 6. Luxury is not providing a bashed up parasol, and no base for it to sit in. The front door was impossible to use so we used the back door the entire holiday. The seal on the fridge was damaged/broken as the sensor alarm was going off the whole week unless you closed the fridge with force. On the hoseasons website, this lodge is described with 1 shower en suite and 1 family bathroom with shower over the bath. This is NOT the case! There was no shower over the bath which then meant all 4 adults were sharing the ensuite shower, which was not ideal! For £1000 for 6 nights, the above is frankly unacceptable and I can assure we will find another park to visit next year. Mullacott Park have proved in their lack of commital replies to our emails that they couldnt care less. Explaining covid and the owner having to go back to work is not an acceptable response, the owner should not have the lodge if he cannot maintain it and mullacott should not be renting it out!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this park!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
David R wrote a review Aug 2021
9 contributions9 helpful votes
We've had about six separate visits to Mullacott Park and have also recommended the site to different groups of friends who have visited over the past few years. This stay was very disappointing and we won't be going back or recommending the site again to our friends and family. Having been assured that we would be staying in a particular lodge close to two groups of our friends when we booked the previous year, we found out on our arrival that this wouldn't be the case. We were given the excuse that lodges can't be guaranteed even though our friends were placed in the lodges that had been requested in 2020. None of this had been communicated to us by the Park prior to our arrival. The lodge we were placed in was a decent size but did not have a working fridge or dishwasher. We realised the fridge wasn't working when the food we'd brought in was at room temperature the next morning. The team on site did find a replacement fridge but when there was an issue with the replacement fridge, the response was fairly woeful. This included the offer of using a fridge in another lodge for storage (which wasn't an acceptable solution for us). In general, we've seen the park look more and more tired on our return visits whilst the customer service has deteriorated over the past few years. It's a shame as we've had some great holidays in the past with Mullacott Park as a base. On a positive note, the experience encouraged us to look around and we have now booked much nicer accommodation for our holiday next year.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
neil wrote a review Aug 2021
Tamworth, United Kingdom32 contributions4 helpful votes
Nice pleasant stay,the croyde 2 lodge was clean and of good quality very spacious,a few items of furniture were a bit tired but can’t complain overall. The site is nice and quiet with a few large open areas for kids to play. Would definitely recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
judian2462 wrote a review Jul 2021
Hartlepool, United Kingdom8 contributions
Where do I start?......we arrived after a 9 hour journey to check in, only to be told that the hot tub (the main reason for us booking a 'luxury' lodge) was broken and would not be available for the length of our stay. We were told that the tub had been broken for two weeks and that we should have been contacted to let us know. No communication of any sort was made by either the park management or by Hoseasons who we booked the holiday through. We were offered and accepted a discount as a form of apology, but this by no means made up for the disappointment we felt, particularly by our grandson who was looking forward to the hot tub most of all. The park owners took no responsibility at all for this, and just blamed anybody but themselves. The lodge itself was average at best and by no means luxury. The cleaning leaves a lot to be desired. There were numerous cobwebs and crumbs on the sofas and carpets. There was no vacuum cleaner so we were unable to improve things ourselves. After asking, we did eventually have one delivered by the staff, after they told us there should be one already in the lodge. There were no provisions at all on offer, and the only cleaning materials to be had were two dishwasher tablets, a single dish cloth and one tea towel. For a 6 berth lodge, this is totally inadequate. Whilst I understand that guests are not expected to clean, is it too much to ask that the basics are provided so that we can keep on top of things during the stay without having to visit a local shop to buy the necessary materials? The remote for the (very old) TV did not work even after us buying replacement batteries, and after speaking to reception staff, I was promised a replacement but unsurprisingly, this never arrived. There was insufficient crockery and cutlery etc for the six occupants. There were just four wine glasses, none of which matched. There were four chairs on the patio, again this is a 6 berth cabin so where are the other two occupants expected to sit? Again, to repeat, this is a 6 berth lodge so there should be at least 6 of everything so that all occupants can sit, eat and drink together. This is not the case in this lodge (Ocean View number 26). To cap everything off, the weather was atrocious throughout the week which meant that we decided to cut our holiday short by one day and head home. Needless to say, we will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
kathyandsimon wrote a review Apr 2021
pontypridd13 contributions7 helpful votes
The owner of the park has refused to refund deposits paid for 2 chalets in April 2021. Government lockdown meant we couldn't legally go. He is refusing any form of communication and is acting illegally
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Service
Room Tip: Do not go to this site without risking problems
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from The Ruby Country Lodge Park, General Manager at Mullacott Park
Responded 11 May 2021
Hello, I'm sorry for your problem you're having here. Our business has not had any grants or loans from the government up to now, yet we have had to pay all the returning staff to prepare for the opening of the park. Consequently the financial impact has been dramatic to say the least. But we are rapidly returning to normal and have already started to make refunds in a fair and responsible way in chronological order. You will therefore be receiving this very soon. It would have been more appropriate to have discussed this with us first to save giving off the wrong impression. - Bill Wilson (Park owner)
Read more
SuMo wrote a review Nov 2020
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Can not fault accommodation, we were warm, comfortable, clean and cosy. Had great views of farmland and sea in the distance (on a clear day). Staff very polite and helpful. Weather was absolutely awful, rained every day, very windy and even had hail on a couple of occasions, but lodge also had a range of board games for rainy days, haven’t played monopoly in ages. Always ask myself would I book here again? Yes I would, was initially put off by negative reviews, but lodges are privately owned and therefore vary, but very happy with the one we had.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Mullacott Park, General Manager at Mullacott Park
Responded 12 Nov 2020
Thank you for your lovely review; we are glad you had a great time, despite the weather! Please do call us direct to book again and we will endeavour to make your stay even better next time! Fiona Park Manager
Read more
Pixiebob265 wrote a review Oct 2020
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom21 contributions14 helpful votes
Booked here at the 11th hour as we were supposed to be going to Wales. Upon arrival the receptionist was very friendly and helpful trying to find my husband and son somewhere to watch the football. In the end they watched it on their phones as surprisingly the WIFI was good. Our lodge was at the end of a very narrow driveway and it was awkward to park our long car as the lodges are so close together. Also, whoever was in 25 parked their car very inconsiderately on the corner so we couldn’t actually get round without turning round to come in back the other way! On entering the lodge, first impressions were very good but on closer inspection things went downhill. Long black hairs all over the bathroom floors, on the bedding and the cushions in the bedrooms. The bathrooms were very tired and in dire need of a refurb. Bedroom furniture very tired and dated too, paint coming off the furniture and divans looked old and shabby. Valance on double bed was filthy on the bottom and was actually a sheet, not a fitted valance sheet. Beds were quite comfortable though. The lounge and kitchen areas were better and cleaner, sofas seemed new and it was a comfortable area. In the kitchen however the knives were very blunt and the sharpener didn’t work. I had to ask for a vacuum cleaner to Hoover the lodge myself, it definitely had not had a deep clean. Again the lady in reception very accommodating and had a vacuum brought round to us. The heating in the lodge was good, warmed up very quickly and was very cosy, also had a sea view from the dining area. The Depot Eatery is overpriced however the staff were very friendly. The park itself is well positioned to visit the nearby areas and there are some beautiful coastal walk nearby. We particularly liked Croyde, Woolacombe and Lynton We went for a walk around the park to see what the lodges on the front were like, to be honest I think ours had a better view as they just had a huge hedge in front of them! Also I was disappointed that no one responded to my two messages asking if we could checkout a little later. We didn’t get the cream tea on arrival either. We were a day late but we gave an arrival time. I’m presuming this may be because the coffee shop wasn’t open. As I said the lodge was comfortable, it was a great base and we had a lovely holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Mullacott Park, General Manager at Mullacott Park
Responded 29 Oct 2020
Good evening, and thank you for your review. We are sorry the lodge was not what you expected; all our lodges are privately owned and this year the owners have not been able to visit to do their usual refurbs before the season began. I have forwarded your comments to the owners for them to address once things die down and they are allowed to leave their homes and come to the Park. Unfortunately we could not provide cream teas this year due to covid restrictions, and we do hope you understand why we had to take such steps. I'm glad you enjoyed the holiday despite this and should you return we would be happy to ensue you are in a lodge which is not so restricted in parking area. Fiona Park Manager
Read more
Lucy M wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
We’ve had a brilliant week away at Mullacott park! The park is close by to great facilities. The lodge was spotless, the hot tub was great too! and staff were brilliant! Would highly recommend! Will definitely be returning!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Mullacott Park, General Manager at Mullacott Park
Responded 21 Oct 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review; we enjoyed having you to stay with us and are glad you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Fiona Park Manager
Read more
Rachel L wrote a review Oct 2020
6 contributions
+1
Booked through hoe seasons and am currently stopping in one of the mini lodges on site. Some of the negative reviews before coming made me wonder whether we would enjoy however there is absolutely nothing to worry about! This is a perfect base for exploring north Devon. Really clean upon arrival and contains everything you need for a short break away! Reception have been helpful anytime we’ve been in. Really peaceful site. The depot eatery is pretty much next door and a lovely pub for either or drink or a nice meal out. Only downside is the traffic noise due to the close proximity of a busy road, I imagine lodges further into the site wouldn’t have this issue. The mattresses are quite hard however that it down to our personal preference. Couple of days left but would definitely recommend and would definitely return in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Mullacott Park, General Manager at Mullacott Park
Responded 14 Oct 2020
Good evening and thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you are enjoying your time awith us and I am delighted that you have been well looked after by our reception team. Please do talk to us on departure about your next break and how we can make it even better for you! Many thanks, Fiona Park Manager
Read more
Corrine M wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
We have just spent a few days at Mullacott Park and were really happy with the service & helpfulness of the staff there. The location is ideal for exploring the coast of North Devon. We will definitely be recommending this accommodation to friends & family.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Mullacott Park, General Manager at Mullacott Park
Responded 12 Oct 2020
Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely having you stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family and friends again soon. Do let us know when you are next visiting and we will put a little something in the lodge for you! Fiona Park Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mullacott park hotel ilfracombe
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonIlfracombe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mullacott Park
Which popular attractions are close to Mullacott Park?
Nearby attractions include Walk - Morte Point Trail (3.2 miles), Borough Farm Sheepdog and Falconry Displays (2.0 miles), and South West Coast Path Walk - Ilfracombe and the Torrs (2.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mullacott Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Mullacott Park?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and an additional bathroom.
Is parking available at Mullacott Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mullacott Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Antidote, The Beach House Restaurant, and Nelly May's Parlour.
Are there any historical sites close to Mullacott Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room (2.4 miles) and Chambercombe Manor (1.9 miles).