We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Ocean Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ocean Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just got back from a weekend stay here with a friend. We received a very warm welcome from Abbie and Chris, and even had a few drinks with them on the Friday and Saturday nights. Excellent kitchen and really comfy beds, and also perfectly placed for surfing around North Devon. There was also really handy secure storage for our boards...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Michael! Thank you for your fab review!! Great to hear our facilities for surfers are top notch!! We look forward to welcoming you again at Ocean Backpackers next season!!

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms were clean and functional. We were pretty self sufficient but when needed help it was there. Absolutely fabulous location for exploring. Found a delicious, well priced full english at Adele's cafe around the corner that set us up for the day. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aytok
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Aytok! Thank you very much for your great review! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially enjoyed the fantastic location that we are in! We look forward to welcoming you again at Ocean Backpackers in the future!

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We stay at Ocean Backpackers for one week in a privat room. The room itself was okay. The shower had mold in the joints, that was the only disadvantage. And the Winter picture on the wall ;) Very kind and helpful staff! - big thanks to marc for showing us the Ilfracombe "nightlife" The kitchen was very well equipped, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Caroline! Thank you very much for your great review! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your weeks stay with us! We are going to be closing for a couple of months this winter-giving us time to give all bedrooms and bathrooms a freshen up so that we are looking fab for 2017! Hope to see you again at...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We booked out the Ocean Backpackers for a large family holiday in August. We had a great time here, it's a really central location in Ilfracombe close to the harbour, shops and restaurants & a choice of supermarkets nearby. We were given a very warm welcome and found Abby & Chris to be extremely helpful and friendly throughout our stay,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vee7100
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Vee! Thank you very much for your fantastic review!!! Abby and I were so delighted that you all had a really enjoyable week's stay at Ocean Backpackers and that we proved to be the ideal place for your large family holiday!! It was such a pleasure to accommodate you all and we hope to see you again at Ocean...

Yateley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Staff were friendly , kitchen was ideal. There were plenty of facilities a Play station with games, computer which worked with internet access & printer available. Board games & a stereo with a choice of music , t.v. which we didn't use , 2 cloak rooms on communal ground floor which were clean & well stocked. Rooms were ideal for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melindawilli
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Melinda, Thank you very much for your review! We are really pleased that you and your family had a great time at Ocean Backpackers and that you enjoyed all the facilities we have on offer! We hope to welcome you all another time soon!

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Pros: I couldn't afford a hotel so I opted for this as it was cheap. I was very lucky to be staying the same time as other lovely and friendly people, the guests and staff helped make my stay more enjoyable. They shared their meals with me and were very helpful with local knowledge. Free car parking out the back....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blade T
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Blade! Thank you for your great review! It was good to meet you and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Ocean Backpackers! Thank you for providing some great tips for others who may be planning to stay and I hope you are able to come and visit again someday soon!

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

£20 pounds the night I think was a bit overpriced, the hostel is not that great, cleanness is just about ok and staff are a bit disinterested, unfortunately there are not many hostels in the whole coast of North Devon, making this hostel the only 'budget' option available. I was traveling alone, but I think that if you are traveling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

HI David, Thank you for your review. We value all our guests feedback and wish to apologise if you were a little disappointed with your stay. Even though we are a backpackers with hundreds of self-caterers coming through our door during August, we do still try to maintain a very good standard of cleanliness and customer service and sorry once...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Basic accommodation has basic things you would need. But lounge not very clean and stinky. Bunks congested but good value for money we paid only 11£/night pp. Very good location. Had the complete property for ourselves so had good time. And kids were amused with the guinea pigs, rabbits.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monty4969
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Monty. Thank you for your review. We are a bit bemused as to why you suddenly decided to review us as your stay with us must of been a very long time ago!! We were temporarily looking after some rabbits who were in need of re-homing but they have not been with us for probably three years!! If you...

UK
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Pleasently suprised on arrival - lovely communal area with computer, tv, music centre and a well equipped kitchen. Bedroom very nice, quiet and comfortable if a little faded. Unfortunately there was no management on site overnight and the fellow hostellers decided at 1:30 in the morning to party on down in the living room below our room. I asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DevonTravellers
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We were very sorry to hear that you did not have a great stay at Ocean Backpackers-due to one group of guests who were obviously very disrespectful to you and all the other guests staying at the Hostel. We do not condone this type of behaviour at all and we are sorry that this...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Rob met us on arrivial and was a great help giving us tips on places to go etc . the rooms were spotless and the views too. the property has a Kitchen on all floors plus a tv room we couldn't ask for more... parking was easy as we are right near the harbour also a pay and display car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 145David145
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi David. Thank you very much for your review. Great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at Ocean Backpackers and that you would recommend us to all!! Hope to see you again soon!

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.0 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 55 in Ilfracombe
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Olive Branch
The Olive Branch
#8 of 55 in Ilfracombe
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ocean Backpackers is a contemporary hostel situated close to Ilfracombe's picturesque fishing harbour. Nestled in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Ilfracombe has many shops, galleries, cafes, pubs and restaurants and is filled with curious coastal charm. The harbour is home to Damien Hirst's 20m statue Verity and trips to Lundy Island, coastal cruises, sea-life safaris and diving are available from the quay. Local attractions include Ilfracombe Aquarium, and the award winning Tunnels Beaches. Surfers' favourites Woolacombe, Croyde and Saunton are a short drive away. Adventure swimming, sea-kayaking, quad biking and horse riding are also available. Ilfracombe is the start of the NCN route 27 Coast to Coast ride and the South West Coast Path provides wonderful coastal walks with stunning scenery. Facilities include a lounge, free Internet/WiFi, self-catering kitchen, surfboard/bike storage and a free car park. Weekly discounts and large group whole hostel bookings are available on request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Backpackers

Address: 29 St. James Place, Ilfracombe EX34 9BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Price Range: £20 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Backpackers Ilfracombe, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you don't want to share make sure 8 of you go , but we didn't have any problems.”
 of 5 bubbles Melindawilli, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms available if privacy is preferred. Rooms on top floor quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles bladet2016, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No lift for disabled”
 of 5 bubbles 145David145, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ok to stay if your not spending much time in.”
 of 5 bubbles BubblesnJJ, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Talk to Abby she is really helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolamT5958PX, 10 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay