We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glen Devon Hotel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 24: English reviews
Start your review of Glen Devon Hotel
 Click to rate
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Booked on the internet but when we arrived we realised that the room and bathroom facilities were not suitable for us as it was a shared bathroom - shared with a family of 5 with small children. We stayed, but even though this other family were the only other occupants of the hotel, we felt over charged (extra £20 per...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leyton h
Management response:

This room has now had a re-vamp on its ensuite bathroom, the bathroom was clean the comments relate to an old colour bathroom suite, (ie not white and modern) however the mistake was made by the customer who originally booked a non-ensuite room which was their choice which was £40.00 total including breakfast. They then moved to a twin bedded...

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We last stayed here in 2012, and said at the time that we would like to return.... Well, four years on, little has changed. One of the family rooms (still located, slightly unhelpfully, on the top floor) has been converted to a twin room, the profusion of notes dotted around the rooms seem to have been reduced, the welcome is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul-B4j
London
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Stayed one night here over bank holiday. We were lucky as it seems the whole of Devon was sold out! The warmest welcome ever, very comfortable rooms. Spotless. Excellent value for money in a very traditional and family run B and B that has certainly stood the test of time (not quite a hotel we didn't think). Great breakfast too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AKL43
Kiel, Germany
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The Glen Devon is just five minutes foot walk away from city centre and harbour. In spite of that it's perfectly quiet, all away from trafic noise. Enough (free) parking space directly in front. From the dining room you'll have a fantastic sea view overlooking the town. Especially in late afternoons and early evenings it's great to sit in front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeLoew
Well, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately I had to cancel a reservation I had made and gave over 2 weeks notice. The lady on the phone told me I could get a refund of any sort. Disappointed to say the least so I suggested I keep the rooms and try and find others to take our place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamF5635HY
Management response:

The booking was made for 1 night only for 2 double rooms to be used as singles. You called and said you had to cancel 8 days prior to your arrival. We informed you that your payment was non-refundable as the amount you paid was less than our deposit amount for each room. You asked if you could get someone...

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016

I have had several visits to this hotel in the last couple of years. It's basic, functional but clean and tidy. Very relaxing, excellent (home cooked) meals. Not all rooms are en-suite, however, this isn't an issue for me. Thoroughly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steelfixer55
bristol UK
Reviewed 3 April 2016

we stayed here having had a very reception at the symphony bluebird hotel who refused to acknowledge our booking. The tourist office helped us find alternative accommodation at the Glen Devon where we were made to feel extremely welcome. The afternoon tea and cake were excellent, as was a late night hot chocolate and breakfast the next day. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank astans
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

After a camping trip cut short ....and the end of the family tent, we took a leap of faith via a North Devon website and phoned Glen Devon. We took the family room with no en-suite but having just had to walk 100 metres at our campsite then 5 metres was nothing. It was a lovely room which our 5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at the guest house , Diane was really helpful and friendly , nice clean and homely room , good location only a few minutes walk down to the town centre. Great breakfast oh and very good value for money ! Thank you for your hospitality !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrey G
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

I've read the past reviews on here and feel any criticisms rather unfair. Glen Devon is wonderful traditional accommodation in a beautiful victorian building. Perhaps anyone criticising in a review on here should have booked a hotel more suited to their needs. I booked this hotel when I arrived in Ilfracombe, so took a chance on liking it. Diane, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.7 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gabriel House
Gabriel House
#7 of 52 in Ilfracombe
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Collingdale
The Collingdale
#3 of 52 in Ilfracombe
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Olive Branch
The Olive Branch
#9 of 52 in Ilfracombe
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a small family run hotel in a quiet position. Free car parking. Some ensuite rooms. Some sea views. Some rooms with shared facilities. Licensed Bar. Guests lounge. Evening meal available by prior arrangements. Same owners since 1989. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glen Devon Hotel

Address: 3 Hostle Park, Ilfracombe EX34 9HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Glen Devon Hotel Ilfracombe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glen Devon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family suite on the top floor. Not ideal for people who cannot manage stairs or hills.”
Paul-B4j, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't think they are all en suite”
AKL43, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“sea views at front. High up at back can see out over the graden”
astans, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Not all rooms have "ensuite". Cheap budget hotel”
DiB1806, 16 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Book early to get the best rooms with a sea view but don't worry if you miss out, the dining room faces that way.”
521sylviac, 21 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5