Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hele Valley Holiday Park

Traveller (191)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 13 campsites in Ilfracombe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hele Valley is a multi award-winning Holiday Park based in the quaint seaside town of Ilfracombe on the beautiful coast of North Devon. The Park has been owned and managed by the Dovey family for over forty years and is situated in a picturesque valley and is the perfect destination for relaxation, peace and tranquillity. Our accolades consist of two Silver Awards at the Devon Tourism Awards, David Bellamy Gold Award for Conservation, Trip Advisor Excellence Certificate, Britain in Bloom Gold Award and the AA and Visit England five star gradings. With a wide range of modern and affordable luxury caravans, superior lodges and holiday cottages, there is accommodation perfect for families, friends, couples and pets. Our peaceful, green and well maintained 5-pennant campsite offers a wide range of tent pitches, touring pitches, Camping Pods and state of the art camping facilities. Limited free Wi-Fi is available throughout the park.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
597Reviews8Q+A59Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 478
  • 82
  • 18
  • 7
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
D W wrote a review Nov 2020
Bournemouth, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
Having had TWO previous holidays cancelled due to Coronavirus restrictions we were delighted to be away to accommodation we'd stayed in before and knew was of good quality.
We stayed in a holiday cottage which is very comfortable and had been cleaned and sanitised to a high standard. Some facilities at the site were unavailable due to Coronavirus restrictions which we fully understood, but the lack of a washing machine in the cottage made things a bit difficult for us as we had a toddler with us. There is however a laundry on site for normal times. Other than that the cottage has good facilities and a great hot tub for non-coronavirus times. The nature trail (still open) is a real bonus and our toddler loved it. Limited WiFi is free although, like us, you can pay for 24hr access, but this did have a habit or dropping out and you had to keep signing in again. In a short walking distance there is a well-stocked minimart, a pub that serves meals and the Hele Bay beach. On both occasions we've visited we've had a great time and we are very impressed by the care being taken regarding our health and welfare in these Coronavirus times which is the reason we've given the site top marks. We will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phipps40 wrote a review Aug 2020
Horsham, United Kingdom34 contributions14 helpful votes
We booked this campsite for 6 nights for our family of four including two children aged 10 and 6 as well as our dog. My parents booked one of their studio pods as well. Whilst we could have probably paid less to go camping in Devon we looked at the reviews and decided to go for it as we left it a little late to book anywhere. We booked a 6 night stay.
When we booked we received plenty of instructions of what to do and what to expect so when we arrived we were able to go straight to our pitch which was at the opposite end to the entrance at the back without having to go to the reception. Despite being pretty much right at the back of the site the toilets, showers, washing up area and the communal freezer were only a minutes walk away which was nice. To get from one end of the site to the other probably only takes two or three minutes.
The facilities were very clean and even though they shut the facility areas for longer and more frequent because of the coronavirus it didn’t cause too many issues and we were glad they we very diligent. The grass pitches were of good size and were on flat ground which was good as not all camp sites are flat. The children’s park was closed due to covid but that’s understandable.
We can’t give any feedback about staff as we had very little contact with them.
All in all we were pleased about our stay and would recommend it to other people. The only issue we had was with another family who for the last two days of our holiday would make derogatory comments about our dog barking (no more than others on the site), but camping does attract all sorts of people but thankfully it didn’t ruin our holiday and it actually provided us with some light entertainment towards the end of our stay. Just a good job we are not offended by swearing!
My parents loved the studio pod and it had everything they needed. They particularly liked the pull down bed. They even researched about buying one for themselves!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Hele Valley Holiday Park
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad to hear that you felt you had clear and helpful arrival instructions. Obviously everything is a little different this year and it's so reassuring to hear that guests are understanding of things like the necessary temporary closure of toilets for cleaning etc. We're also really glad your parents had such an enjoyable stay! We hope to welcome you all back to Hele Valley again in the future. Best wishes from all the team @Hele Valley
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wc6744a wrote a review Jul 2022
70 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
Stayed in a 6 berth caravan on site. £1300 for a week Ok van all bedding provided spotless tea towel bath mat hand towel full cooker microwave toaster pots pans even found cling film foil hairdryer airer for clothes. Not much room in the main double bedroom to get around the bed only 1 toilet shower which was the last door by the kitchen. Not really great layout but we managed balcony table chairs thought the van was a little overpriced. Site quiet very peaceful. A short walk 10 mins into the harbour. Hele bay hotel food excellent thatched inn George dragon in the harbour food all excellent starter main for 2 average price £80. Coffees around £3 on the harbour did find a weather spoons £1.20 a coffee. Refill on that as much as you can drink meals very cheap so you can go cheap the beach down from the camp site is shingle and a lot of dogs not ideal really for children they do ask for a £100 Cleaning deposit only take it if you don’t leave it clean all they ask is strip bedding off. Vent windows on leaving
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Hele Valley Holiday Park
Responded 7 Jul 2022
Good morning. Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us at Hele Valley. We are pleased you found the site to be quiet and everything clean/well stocked van and also in a good location to enjoy the local towns and beaches. Our local beach to us at the park is dog friendly but there are plenty of beaches in the area which do not allow dogs. Thank you for the five star review of our park and for the details you have left which will help others looking to stay with us. We are sorry you found the van to be overpriced but we do keep our prices competitive and we are a five star park. We hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
laney87 wrote a review Aug 2020
Bournemouth, United Kingdom35 contributions44 helpful votes
We stayed for 3 nights recently and I was a little disappointed. We had an awful pitch near the toilets. It is a dog friendly site but there isn’t actually anywhere to walk the dogs, except the road through the campsite. Personally would be better off not being dog friendly as our poor puppy was tied up a lot as there was nowhere on the site to walk him.
I think it’s great with Covid that extra cleaning steps had been taken, however the toilets and showers were closed 8-10pm every night(aswell as other times throughout the day). Having a pitch near the toilet block there was young children waiting around for the toilets to reopen when all they really wanted to do was probably go to bed. There is a family room which wasn’t the nicest, but if you didn’t catch the door on someone coming out it locked.
With only a handful of ladies showers it did mean that at 10 every night there was a lot of people gathering to have showers all at the same time, which kind of defeated the point.
Some cleaning staff were a little rude(the gentleman was extremely polite and friendly) and felt we constantly had to plan our day around whether the showers and toilets were going to be open. We have been to another site recently which seemed to handle it a little more efficiently and closed only a few showers at a time so people could still use them.
The Thatched Inn up the road was a great pit stop for a drink in their beer garden.
The park was not open due to Covid (we did not travel with our children) but to be honest it looked extremely tired and in need of a bit of a revamp.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JET057187069 wrote a review Aug 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom33 contributions24 helpful votes
Not my favourite site, pitch was too small for us, toilets/showers always flooded but cleanish. Trying to get in was an experience , don't remember a mention in the email sent as you have to do a very sharp V from the main road, no chance, so had to go to petrol station and turn around (that wasn't easy either with an 8' wide caravan). Thank you to the Premier shop attendant who stopped all the traffic. Then you have to negotiate another sharp turn once you are in. By this time we were very stressed. Play park was shut although no refund, at least the CM club had the decency to do that. Wanted to stay another night (not because we loved it!!) asked if we could stay on the same pitch, no, and we had to move pitches and it was £50 a night. Ilfracombe is lovely and this site is cashing in on that. Won't be going back
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Hele Valley Holiday Park
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Thank you for your review. We are sorry we could not accommodate you on the same pitch for an additional night, this was because it was already booked. We did our best to find another pitch on site which you accepted. We do send in-depth information about our check in procedure, including directions onto site and pitch, free WiFi etc, as well as information about our enhanced cleaning schedule - times when facilities are closed for sanitizing misting etc. In these difficult and unprecedented times, we as a team are doing everything we can to maximise cleanliness and adhere to all government guidelines,keeping both our guests and our staff safe. Many guests have contacted us to say how clean the facilities are and how safe they felt on site. Our playground has remained closed as part of our stringent and site-specific safety precautions.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
josh’s family wrote a review Sept 2022
Bargoed, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
We visited this site for a family holiday for a week in August 2022. We have to say this is one of the best touring caravan sites we have ever been too. On arrival we were greeted by Jeff, we were immediately impressed by his friendly and welcoming persona. Such a lovely chap with nothing too much trouble and always willing too stop for a chat and ask if everything was ok.

As we have a disabled son we explain that we needed a disabled wet room and he showed us where and how to access the facilities. Our own ablutions were always spotlessly clean and fellow campers always cleaned up after themselves.

A 20-30 minute walk into Ilfracombe harbour, but be warned if is very hilly, but once there lots of lovely attractions and great places to eat and drink. Just a 10 minute walk from the campsite is another pub which served meals, although we didn’t try any, and lots of outdoor seating which we made the most of due to the fantastic weather. A lovely little cove with a beach just around the corner from the pub.

Please follow the directions the campsite give you on your confirmation email. We wondered if we were going the right way on a few occasions, but when we arrived Jeff explained to us that it was to avoid Coombe Martin high street and after having a day out there, you definitely don’t want to be going through there with a tourer.

We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our holiday here and will be definitely going back in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Hele Valley Holiday Park
Responded 11 Sept 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review which does help our future guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kaced wrote a review May 2022
uk29 contributions20 helpful votes
We stayed in I Pod.
The pod has electricity, a heater, a double socket and 2 slim single beds. The mattress are really comfy.
The pod had a small decked area directly outside, complete with 2 chairs and a fire pit A good amount of kindling & wood are provided and the lid becomes a base for the ash to collect making clear up easier.
The pods, 3 in total are located in a gravel area and parking is next to the pod.

The toilet & shower block is a stones throw away and they are kept very clean. There is a mop & rubber broom on hand to help keep the puddles on the floor to a minimum. The showers run a little hot which I loved but my 8 year not so much. The wash up area is also in the block along with a freezer for food storage.

The campsite itself was nicely spaced out, clean, peaceful and wildlife friendly. It was great to spot so many different birds and the nature walk was fun.

We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Hele Valley Holiday Park
Responded 2 Jun 2022
Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in detail here at Hele Valley - it is truly appreciated. We are pleased that you found the pod to be comfortable for your stay and that you made use of the fire pit/wood provided and that you found the facilities clean and peaceful and you enjoyed the nature walk. We try to keep the water temperature to an average temperature that suits most people and sorry your 8 year old found this a little hot for their liking. We are really pleased you are looking to come back to the site again and look forward to seeing you again here at Hele Valley
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jerome Hughes wrote a review Aug 2020
8 contributions14 helpful votes
My first time here but not my last. I can't fault this lovely campsite. All the facilities were spotless and all possible measures taken to ensure guests safety during these strange (covid19) times. Really helpful staff who helped us with our car problems. The pitches were spacious and in well maintained grounds in a beautiful setting. Possibly my new favourite campsite! Thanks for a lovely time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jenny Dovey, Owner at Hele Valley Holiday Park
Responded 2 Aug 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Hele Valley and felt safe and comfortable in these strange times! We very much hope to see you here again soon! Best wishes from all of us here @ Hele.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Drew Butters wrote a review Aug 2020
Stafford, United Kingdom30 contributions29 helpful votes
We had a great week here, peaceful, just what we needed as have both worked through this pandemic
. The facilities were clean, pitch was large enough for awning and motorhome and a vehicle if we had towed one.
Within walking distance of a small beach, pub, tea room, shop that was well stocked and a small cafe close to the beach that sold good pasties.
Cannot fault the site.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Hele Valley Holiday Park
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - it's lovely to hear you had a nice time and were able to finally get some peace and quiet! We hope to welcome you back here to Hele Valley in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
leicestershirelisa33 wrote a review Jun 2021
leicestershire60 contributions23 helpful votes
Just had a Monday to Friday stay here at Hele in Willow Lodge with a couple of friends. The lodge itself is immaculate light and bright with en-suite main bedroom. The outside space was decked with private screening and rattan furniture which was a beautiful sun trap. The lodge itself is in a lovely position and gets the sun morning and afternoon. The grounds are beautiful and well kept and all the staff, particularly gardeners/grounds men were friendly and helpful. The camping/touring area further up looked lovely too with all facilities needed and a lovely kids play area. Would love to come again and would highly recommend for families with kiddies and adults too. Nice short walk to Hele pub.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Hele Valley Holiday Park
Responded 4 Sept 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at Hele Valley and that you enjoyed your stay in Willow Lodge! It certainly is a sun trap where it is situated! We strive to keep the accommodation and the park itself to a very high standard and it is so appreciated when we get such lovely feedback for all the hard work our house keepers and maintenance team put in!. We hope to see you again at Hele Valley in the future
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GraJas99 asked a question Aug 2019
Bicester, United Kingdom46 contributions66 helpful votes
Hi, is there premium Wi-Fi available, and how much please. We are coming the week after for 6 nights camping?
Answer from HeleValley
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi We do offer unlimited Wi-fi at a price. These you will be able to purchase from Reception on arrival and see the different options available....See you soon
Show all answers
Virginia M asked a question Mar 2018
Weymouth, United Kingdom50 contributions24 helpful votes
we are coming in May with our own caravan,was just wondering if there is a shop on site please?
Good afternoon Virginia, I'm very sorry for the delay in responding to your enquiry, our Holiday park has been closed until recently for the winter. We do not have a shop on site, but we do have a Premier store located in the village, a five minute walk away. This includes bakery items and fresh vegetables. We also have a local pub overlooking the beach which serves lovely meals. If I can help any further, please don't hesitate to contact me. Kindest regards Gemma Reception
Francoise M asked a question Aug 2017
17 contributions7 helpful votes
Hi Is this a windy site? As I'm not sure what stove to bring
Answer from Clare G
Market Drayton, United Kingdom33 contributions8 helpful votes
Sorry only just seen this, I wouldn't say so as it is in a valley. We stayed in a caravan though so wouldn't be able to advise on stove type
Show all answers
Dreamer551687 asked a question Mar 2017
Read, United Kingdom242 contributions170 helpful votes
Do the cottages have wifi
Answer from HeleValley
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi there, Yes they do! We have WiFi access throughout the whole Holiday Park and available in all of our caravans, lodges, cottages, touring pitches and camping pitches. WiFi is free of charge for limited use too! I hope this helps. Hele Valley
Show all answers
Marisha F wrote a tip Sept 2023
Yate, United Kingdom9 contributions
"Short walk to Hele Bay but further with steep hills to Ilfracombe. Loved the quiet location at this site"
Read full review
Alva wrote a tip Aug 2023
Penzance, United Kingdom6 contributions4 helpful votes
"Book if you want a tent pitch"
Read full review
GillyWiggs52 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Rochford, United Kingdom54 contributions33 helpful votes
"We can also recommend the pub The Thatched Cottage pub/res and Alamo the interesting mill and delicious homemade cakes 🍰."
Read full review
Owen Lucas wrote a tip Jul 2023
Huddersfield, United Kingdom311 contributions26 helpful votes
"Get a breakfast at the local farm at least once. Well worth it."
Read full review
jcunderhill wrote a tip Jul 2023
2 contributions
"They don’t allow fires or ball games. Each tent pitch has a picnic bench included which was a nice touch."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ilfracombe area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
hele valley holiday park hotel ilfracombe
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonIlfracombe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HELE VALLEY HOLIDAY PARK - Campground Reviews (Ilfracombe)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hele Valley Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Hele Valley Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include South West Coast Path Walk - Ilfracombe and the Torrs (0.7 miles), Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room (0.3 miles), and Chambercombe Manor (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hele Valley Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, internet access, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Hele Valley Holiday Park?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a seating area, and a sofa.
Is parking available at Hele Valley Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hele Valley Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hele's Kitchen, Antidote, and Comyn Farm.
Is Hele Valley Holiday Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Ilfracombe.
Are pets allowed at Hele Valley Holiday Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Hele Valley Holiday Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room (0.3 miles), Chambercombe Manor (0.3 miles), and St Nicholas Chapel (0.8 miles).