We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beach Cove Coastal Retreat

Save
Share
Coastal Retreat 33 Beach Road Hele Bay, Ilfracombe EX34 9QZ England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (796)
Room & Suite (102)
Dining (11)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#6 of 34 Speciality lodging in Ilfracombe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Beautiful, luxury beach hut-inspired accommodation in Devon. Stunning views of Hele Bay. The one-bed accommodation is ideal for a romantic getaway in one of the most desirable locations within the United Kingdom.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Hot bath
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
478Reviews50Q+A92Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 374
  • 70
  • 18
  • 8
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Boos21 wrote a review Dec 2020
Northampton34 contributions16 helpful votes
We made a last minute booking to escape over the Christmas week - we were supposed to be in Lanzarote which had to be postponed. We took a gamble as we did not know the area and it certainly paid off! We would certainly return here anytime of the year. The retreat was very quiet and was very safe in terms of Covid safety measures. We hardly saw anyone - the management had provided helpful instructions and advice should we need them. We stayed in no 20 - having arrived in the dark we had such a lovely surprise the next morning when opening the blinds - the view right over the cove was amazing. I probably watched the view more than I watched the TV from the sofa. We were there during Storm Bella and it was so cosy and snug as the wind and rain battered the coast. The hut was well equipped including all the extras you would need - tea bags, coffee, washing up liquid, tea-towel, bin bags etc - we did not expect these due to extra precautions.... we were prepared and took our own including plenty of food. You do need to take a hairdryer if needed . The kitchen also contained mugs, plates etc along with a fridge with a freezer section, oven, hob, kettle and toaster. The hut was very clean, modern, tastefully decorated, very comfortable and warm. The shower was great and there was a large TV in the lounge and also the bedroom. And there is the hot tub - this was amazing - gowns & towels were also included! We did not venture out much apart from walks to the beach and to the store at the garage - both 5 minute walk away. We also ate a few times the Hele Bay pub, again a few minutes walk. I really cannot fault the retreat in anyway and look forward to returning. We returned home fully relaxed and so thankful that the retreat was open at the time and more than made up for our disappointment of not going abroad.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Beach Hut no 20 had views right across the bay
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
dancfrench wrote a review Nov 2020
Stroud, United Kingdom151 contributions79 helpful votes
+1
We were supposed to be in Cape Verde. I was told I still had to take my annual leave so went UK holiday hunting. Left it til the last minute to try and find a deal but there weren’t any out there. Prices quite high with companies taking advantage of the increase in staycations. Then Boris announced the second lockdown. Our five days turned into three. We chose to still go and get a partial refund (still waiting for that) and glad we did. We were lucky with the weather which helped. We arrived early and the lady said she would try and get our beach hut ready ASAP, asked for a number and she called as a soon as it was ready around 3.30pm. Then, because of Covid, you get an email with more info - that was smart. We were in Number 20. Half way along the top with a very new looking hot tub. The hut itself. Wow. So pretty and the views down to the waves were fantastic. Everything we needed was there and worked. TV was fine. My girlfriend was worried about it being cold at night. It was boiling! The hot tub kept us warm outside too. The pub up the road was lovely, and a shop selling the essentials was handy. The walk to Ilfracombe along to coast is a must! Very steep but the views were amazing. No problem recommending these huts to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Janice Bettis, Guest Services / Front Office at Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
Responded 11 Dec 2020
Thank you for taking the trouble to give us such wonderful feedback with your very informative review. We are sorry that your break was cut short due to government guidelines, I am sure Hoseason will be in touch shortly regarding the partial refund, however it is lovely to hear that the three days you spent with us were so enjoyable. It is also wonderful to hear that you were able to explore and enjoy our stunning surroundings, also that your accommodation had everything you required and that your hot tub was so sparkling it looked like new. We pride ourselves on our high standards and it is always lovely to hear that we met your expectations. Should you choose to visit us again please do not hesitate to call us direct where we would be happy to advise you on booking another fantastic stay.
Read more
ruthy1979 wrote a review Nov 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom32 contributions19 helpful votes
Just spent a couple of nights at beach cove, our break got cut short by the lockdown announcement but we managed to get 2 nights in. It’s a lovely little resort, we stayed in no 19 on the back row with a hot tub and could see the sea from the front window. It was perfectly clean, had everything we need and the hot tub made it even better! Not sure what everyone is complaining about really, yes there is only 2 of everything, yes the tv’s don’t work and I had to go out with cold wet hair due to the lack of promised hairdryer but it was just lovely to get away before being stuck at home for 4 weeks! I would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Janice Bettis, Guest Services / Front Office at Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
Responded 11 Dec 2020
Thank you for taking a moment to let us know about your stay. We are so pleased that you found your accommodation to be well equipped and perfectly clean. We are very sorry that the promised hairdryer was not in your accommodation, we wish you had reported this to reception and we would have happily sanitised one and dropped it up to you. Some of the extras we provide have been removed due to Covid-19, however we are very happy to provide these items upon request. Also the issue with the TV could have been sorted if only we had known. Hopefully these issues did not detract from your overall experience. I do hope you will choose to visit us again in the future. Please do not hesitate to give us a call direct to arrange another relaxing break.
Read more
Brian G wrote a review Oct 2020
Northampton, United Kingdom42 contributions47 helpful votes
Just returned from a weeks holiday at Hele Bay. We stayed in the Suite Apartment which was excellent for our requirements. We had looked into this carefully before booking and was, therefore, concerned by some recent negative reviews. I'm pleased we stuck to our plans as we would have missed out if we had taken all the comments literally. Constructive criticism is important but it's a shame if this is over the top and prevents people from booking a perfectly good venue. The Suite was spotlessly clean on our arrival. Check-in was very simplified due to the covid rules but an email after arrival provided answers to any questions. The facilities in the apartment provided everything we needed. Plenty of cupboard space in both the living area and bedroom for clothes and other items. The provision of hooks and not a wardrobe was absolutely fine for us. The main feature is the view. We spent hours just sitting and watching the activity on the beach and out to sea with Wales in the distance. We found that with the bedroom window open you could fall asleep to the sound of the nearby waves. A few comments about the car park and fair enough it's not that big but there are spaces for the 3 apartments. We have a Kia Sportage and didn't have any problems. Plenty to do in the area we visited Cleeve Abbey, Minehead, Selworthy Village, Ilfracombe, Woolacombe and Lynton. We also eat at the Hele Pub on 2 occasions which we enjoyed. No problems from us in recommending a stay at Hele Bay Retreat.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Janice Bettis, Guest Services / Front Office at Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
Responded 11 Dec 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and informative review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the wonderful surroundings. Many of the points you make will be helpful for future guests. We're also pleased that you found your accommodation to be very clean and well equipped with everything you may need and also that you enjoyed dining at the local restaurant just an easy two minutes walk away. We do hope that you will choose to visit us again soon.
Read more
paul w wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Had email to put our arrival time back to 5pm due to deep clean covid 19. What a joke. On arrival just squeezed car up ramp to the smallest car park in the world. We had hired the luxury apartment called the suit at £1 125.00 per week disgusting. on entering the building hall way absolutely filthy not a good start. Entering the suit to find a run down shabby dirty tired apartment. Bugs Spiders and cobwebs Manky stained cushions Old frayed tea towel Dirty saucepan Cooker hood filter greasy Tray in oven absolutely filthy Only 2 off everything cutlery plates etc. no point in a dishwasher Inside adjoining room light permanently on switch broke No wardrobe Book case to put cloths on shelves and 6 coat hooks on wall Romantic bath in bedroom when turning off taps water goes on floor Dirty shower floor Dirty tiles under sink pedestal Cobwebs This was the worst holiday experience ever. Left a day early
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Janice Bettis, Guest Services / Front Office at Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
Responded 7 Oct 2020
We are really sorry to read you had such a disappointing experience with us at Beach Cove, we would ask you to get in touch with guest.experience@darwinescapes.co.uk They will then be able to address this matter for you. Kind Regards Caroline
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$68 - US$269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonIlfracombe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Beach Cove Coastal Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Borough Farm Sheepdog and Falconry Displays (4.2 miles), Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room (0.1 miles), and South West Coast Path Walk - Ilfracombe and the Torrs (0.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Beach Cove Coastal Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Beach Cove Coastal Retreat?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Beach Cove Coastal Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Beach Cove Coastal Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Antidote, Nelly May's Parlour, and Rockleigh Takeaway.
Are pets allowed at Beach Cove Coastal Retreat?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Beach Cove Coastal Retreat?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room (0.1 miles) and Chambercombe Manor (0.7 miles).
Does Beach Cove Coastal Retreat have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.