We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Albany Hotel

16/06/2017 17/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Albany Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

351 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 351: English reviews
Start your review of The Albany Hotel
 Click to rate
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel was clean and tidy,food was good,entertainment was very good.. A very enjoyable week. Only downfall no lifts to any floors. Good location for the beach and all shops and cafes. Would make a good base for sightseeing..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
Hale, Cheshire, England
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited this hotel on a national holiday trip On arrival the owner greeted us on the coach explained the check in procedure He also said our luggage would be taken to our room and it arrived just a few minutes after us The room was small but adequate for our needs and very clean if a little dated The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annettepickforlp
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time in writing this review following your recent stay. I was delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality, food and cleanliness. Our bedrooms do vary considerably in size and you were allocated a smaller double as this was the only double we had left on the lower floor that you had requested. Thank you for...

Tonypandy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights, 28/29th april. We had read the reviews of the hotel before booking so we were aware of the pro's and con's before arriving. And to be fair most of the reviews are spot on, Yes the hotel needs some TLC but our room was clean and warm and ideal for the amount of time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time in writing this review following your recent stay. We appreciate that we are an old hotel but pleased that you found the room to be clean and warm and that you found the hospitality to be friendly and helpful. Delighted that you also enjoyed a 1st class Breakfast. With regards to the mattress...

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have recently visited this hotel with my boyfriend for the night on Saturday 23rd April 2017. On arrival we were greeted with a friendly face at reception, and taken straight to our room. However, we were disappointed with a number of things about this hotel and our room. Firstly, the floorboards were extremely creaky and distracting on the floor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TaylorJaeSmith
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review following your recent stay and sorry that you were disappointed with your room. Had you mentioned this to us at the time we would have made every effort to rectify issues or move you to an alternative room if available. I have checked the room and the fan is working but as you said...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

The hotel needs a bit of tlc , however the food was good , lots of hot water , comfy beds . Every thing you need for the amount of time spent in your room . Richard and all the staff were lovely , nothing seemed too much trouble . I would return in a heartbeat , great value for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharon C
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review following your recent stay and we are delighted that you enjoyed and would return. Kind regards Richard

Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2017

we had nice weekend break nice clean dinning room and lounge with pool table etc bedroom nice clean bit on small side but ok for wot we need and nice and close to the town would like to thank the staff for posting my scarf which i left behind was so kind and thoughtfull of you top class service thankyou...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra Y
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review following your Easter break. Delighted that you enjoyed and pleased that your scarf was returned safely. Hope to see you in the future. Kind Regards Richard

Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2017

My husband and I spent five days away, from the 10th of April with National Coach Holidays staying a The Albany Hotel. The journey was long, however Michael our driver kept everyone updated with times of arrival etc. also pointing out places of interest etc. Upon arriving at the hotel one of the managers came on the coach to welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimkev123
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your detailed review following your stay. I am pleased that you generally enjoyed. For your information we did have replacement beds on order which were installed in Room 22 on the Friday of your departure (apologies for this). It is frustrating that you did not bring some of the other things to our attention during your...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We stayed as a family for five days at this hotel in rooms 19 and 20. Both rooms had a working T.V, lots of wardrobe space and a chest of drawers. The rooms were spacious and were adequately clean.The bathrooms both had a working shower and views of the allotments. Breakfast and evening meals were delicious. There was lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MugglesX4
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards Richard

Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Such friendly staff, very nice breakfast and a nice relaxing bar for an evening drink. Yes, the hotel is old, the floors creak with a maze of little corridors and turnings upstairs, but I found that such a nice change to the usual generic stereotype hotels I usually stay in. The room was very clean with tea and coffee facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianrees2015
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review following your recent stay and delighted that you enjoyed and nice to see that you embraced the old building and enjoyed it for what it is. Hope to see you again in the future. Regards Richard

Reviewed 16 April 2017

I stayed in The Albany Hotel last summer as part of a coach holiday. The hotel was just right and met my expectations. The family, who run the hotel, were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make sure I had everything I needed. Service at meals was efficient and I was happy with my vegetarian food. Okay, so the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Agatha F
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review following your recent stay and delighted that you enjoyed your holiday. Looking forward to seeing you again. Regards Richard

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
16/06/2017 17/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
520 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Albany Hotel is owned and run by the Slate Family, which consists of Richard & Lisa (Brian & Janet have recently retired from the day to day operation of the hotel). Their aim is to make it feel like a home from home to make their guests feel welcome. Situated just off the North Beach and minutes from the main square in the centre of Tenby, this makes The Albany Hotel the ideal place to stay. Tenby is the ideal location to also visit the rest of Pembrokeshire with its beautiful coastal walks, and many attractions such as Folly Farm, Oakwood, Colby Gardens. Heatherton, Manor Park, Saundersfoot and many more .... ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Albany Hotel

Address: 22-23 The Norton, Tenby SA70 8AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Price Range: £60 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Albany Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel Tenby
The Albany Hotel Tenby, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Albany Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Barry, United Kingdom
Leeds, United Kingdom
\manchester
over a year ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Albany Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lifts.no double glazing.”
358stephenk, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“asked for a top floor room, to avoid creaking floorboards.”
kimkev123, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If your looking for comfort This is the place!!”
dillewellyn27, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want a bath ask for it. I think there is only one !”
247jac94, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No preference”
Slats45, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
LateRooms.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates