We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 374: English reviews
Start your review of Balmoral Lodge Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Balmoral Lodge. Firstly the good points. I only saw 3 members of staff but all were exceptionally friendly and polite. The location is excellent being a short walk to the centre and coast. They have a car park for 7/8 cars. Negatives. There is extensive signs of damp in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not appreciate your stay! We have seen you so many times during your stay that i wonder why you did not tell us anything about your disappointment as we could have help you out. Kind regards

Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here recently. Kinda reluctant to review the place as the staff were really nice. But I have never stayed in a place like it, never been worried about dated furniture, bedding etc. Yes it's cheap and you get what you pay for. But that level of dirt is unforgivable in any establishment. I happened to look down during breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsdecan
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not feel the need to express your disappointment during your lengthy stay with us, to get help from us. Kind regards

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Staff were friendly. Location was good but honestly this hotel was so dirty. The thick layer of dust had me constantly sneezing and I had to go and buy bedding for the 2nd night and sleep at the bottom of the bed. There were so many issues. 5 days out of date breakfast yoghurts, awful smell, thick dust, stains everywhere,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cassie O
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Even more discoveries than the two first attempts with Booking.com to be refunded. I am sorry but you cannot stay 3 nights (11) 2 nights (9) and expect us to believe you ! We are not perfect and mistake can happened but let face it, you wanted a free long week-end! Who would stay 3 nights! We were at reception...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

For what we paid this place was fine! It was a little dated but it was clean and warm! The owners were polite and helpful and there were no hidden extra charges! Free wi-fi! There is a restaurant and bar which we didn't use. Breakfast was adequate! Would use again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are happy that you found the price value for money. Kind regards

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely little hotel, was welcomed with friendly owner who always had a smile on her face, nothing was too much trouble. Clean and comfy rooms and a lovely breakfast. Short walk into town centre. Great value for money, would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andreaknight1979
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review, we hoe to see you again soon, Kind regards

Blackpool
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ok so its a bit of a mixed review. Upon arrival greeted warmly by receptionist and found the interior reception to be of good standard. The hotel itself is definitely dated and in need of a lick of paint. Our room, room 8, was, OK. Generally clean enough but could do better. example, hoovering into the corners of the carpet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lisa c
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, my cleaner has been with me 22 years. some fabulous hotels opened in Southport with very different price tags than ours, i am sure some would be suitable to your expectations.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fab hotel! Friendly owner only down fall was the lady receptionist in the afternoon she didn't tell me where anything was or where my room was had to find everything out my self but then the owner arrived and he was very friendly !! Love the fact we could have our dog staying with us !! Rooms are very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurenc3000
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards

Liverpool
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Second time here for a works night out in Southport. Staff. Lovely. Room. Great for price with it being clean and warm. Breakfast. Spot on. I cannot fault the hotel for the price. Only reason I do not give a 5 is that I do not want it to appear that it is a 5 star hotel. However, it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Major1
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, we hope to see you again for your next visit in Southport. Kind regards

Leicester
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We chose this hotel as it was 'local' to southport, our old stomping ground... at first appearance, it looked very posh and luxury from the outside. My friend checked us in, spoke to a lovely lady who said our room wasn't quite ready and offered to put our bags in the room whilst we went into Liverpool on the train....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Me2uaddict
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am really sorry that the receptionist was not that welcoming about your car but the night before he has been insulted by an other customer who could not parked his car. We have a space for every room and in case of a...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend break with my wife. Although the location was convenient for the restaurants and bars on Lord street, the hotel itself was quite outdated and in need of fresh interior decoration. The hotel bar and restaurant was closed during our stay and our room although clean was disappointing with the old fashioned fixtures and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paultraff
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are sorry that you did not like our place as much as we do. For the bar and restaurant, a member of staff is always at the reception and you could ask if wanted to use them. Kind regards

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 27 in Southport
2,605 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 27 in Southport
602 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.7 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 27 in Southport
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Balmoral Lodge Hotel is a very friendly hotel where you can relax in your room, the lounge, the restaurant or even the garden. We have 15 en suite-bedrooms with flat tv, wifi, tea and coffee facilities.Some bedrooms are on the ground-floor with access to the garden.We are 10 minutes walk from the city-centre and the promenade. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Address: 41 Queens Road, Southport PR9 9EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Price Range: £30 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Balmoral Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Balmoral Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Southport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Balmoral Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Balmoral Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think there is a good one.”
  • Rusty fridge and mirror.
  • Very dirty inside the wardrobe.
  • Dirty.
  • Loose socket.
  • Damp.
  • Bedside table, of sorts.
 of 5 bubbles alanhT2343JP, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“avoid room 8 unless the bed is changed, slight movement and it creaks very very loud.”
 of 5 bubbles 866marief, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 5, and it was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles heidid734, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is huge!”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 was clean and cosy”
 of 5 bubbles angelay601, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5