We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Angel Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Angel Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 249: English reviews
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife was working in Midhurst over the weekend, so we decided to stay over at the Angel and celebrate. Nice looking hotel in the middle of town, efficient and friendly staff, a spacious well-appointed room, and fantastic food for dinner (haven't had chateaubriand for ages, and this was very good). But not sure how they justify £20 a night... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Breakfast was good, great restaurant menu however one of their fish orders hadn't come in so for lunch we couldn't have scallops or fish of the day which was quite disappointing, we went to a restaurant down the road which was nice. 15mins from Chischester. The location was great - big car park and free parking outside too from midday... More 

Helpful?
Thank livgrundman619
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We changed our travel plans in Bath and did not have a forward booking. Fortunately we were lucky to find a room In nearby Privett. The Angel Inn is a beautiful old coaching house with good street appeal. However when we went to our room we were so disappointed. The twin room was small, tired looking and quite basic. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue C
Eddy D, Front Office Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hello Sue, we were just wondering if you did stay with us in Midhurst, in The Angel Inn, or was the hotel in question in Privett by any chance? Many thanks, The Angel Inn, Midhurst More 

Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

This 17th Century Coaching Inn is a fabulous mix of old & new - stunning antique furniture sitting comfortably amongst more recent "Polo"photos - the location is after all very close to Cowdray Park. We enjoyed a fabulous dinner in the bar area, fillet steak to die for accompanied by very reasonably priced red wine. Our suite was beautifully furnished... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

This "hotel" is in a great location in Midhurst with its own car park, which was very handy. The bar, restaurant and. Reception area are all charismatic,. However our bedroom was small, shabby and most definitely should not as been described as "boutique" . We did mention this to the lady who showed us to our room on our arrival... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ali F
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We were booked in by my Son as a treat for my 70th birthday. The hotel is a typical old fashioned coaching house, uneven floors and doorways etc. Absolutely fabulous, we loved it. The room we were in had a 4 poster bed, and a separate TV lounge. A shame we were only here for one night. As far as... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DaveandKate51
Vernantes, Pays de la Loire, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We expected so much more. When we arrived the car park was full, my husband went to reception, no staff to be seen. I walked through to the bar to see if someone could help eventually someone came to the desk after some other guests had advised us of the 'overflow' car park. Not impressive. The reception area is dull... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gill W
Ibiza Town, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016

I have been here quite a few times now, but it never fails to give me a good feeling. The restaurant is great and happily the wine list is thoughtful and not over priced. Thank you to Simon for making a bit of an effort after finding out it was my wife's birthday. He made all of our party feel... More 

Helpful?
Thank 275Alan
AngelInnMarketting, Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we look forward to having you back with us again. It is always so lovely to have you here to stay. I am glad Patricia enjoyed her birthday. Huge thanks from all of the Team here at The Angel Inn! Kindest regards Georgie! More 

1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I had the misfortune of staying here for a planned long weekend to visit friends on the coast. This is the worst experience I have ever had as a guest of a so called hotel. In my opinion it is no more than an bed and breakfast with a concession bar and restaurant attached. The experience just got worse from... More 

Helpful?
Thank X3656BSvincentc
GeorgieWhitney, Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr Curran, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. As discussed in our previous conversations, our team has done everything possible—in cooperation with the restaurant—to investigate your claims, and even though we might not agree with you on the... More 

England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

One of the friendliest hotels we've ever stayed at. We came down here to escape the Notting Hill Carnival where my partner lives but didn't want to leave. The Angel is a characterful hotel with wonky walls and sloping floors but the rooms are sympathetically modernised given the circumstances. The staff make the hotel for what it is, they are... More 

Helpful?
Thank bomas
AngelInnMarketting, Front Office Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much guys, we are glad you had such a lovely stay. Do come back again to see us!! From all the staff at The Angel!! More 

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midhurst
0.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
14.8 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
441 reviews
10.2 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
126 reviews
20.7 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Angel Restaurant and Hotel, ideally located in the centre of the old market town of Midhurst, West Sussex. It offers a unique blend of fresh, contemporary design while paying respect to the heritage of over 400 years of history.The recently fully refurbished hotel now offers 15 stunning bedrooms, a fine restaurant, a more informal coffee house and bar and private function room. Ideal for Goodwood, Cowdray Park, Petworth, Uppark, Chichester and South Downs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Address: North Street, Midhurst GU29 9DN, England (Formerly The Angel Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Price Range: £93 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Midhurst
The Angel Inn Midhurst, West Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Angel Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Canterbury, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Canterbury, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Angel Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to the back of the hotel are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles dawnm984, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Haven't stayed in the hotel but would think you would be well looked after.”
 of 5 bubbles tusseavill, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“for quiet go up the floors or a room at the back - restaurant/bar is good.”
 of 5 bubbles BreakfastBandit, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our room was at the front and we did have quite a bit of street light come in through the windows.”
 of 5 bubbles nickvsam, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“just turn up”
 of 5 bubbles kimnjohnw, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay