Rosedale Abbey Caravan and Camping Park
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Rosedale Abbey Caravan and Camping Park

Traveller (90)
Holiday Cottages
Room & Suite (5)
Holiday Cottages
View from Room (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#9 of 13 campsites in Pickering
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitEngland.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
Property amenities
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-serve laundry

Location

Rosedale Abbey, Pickering YO18 8SA England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 54 out of 100
54
Durham Tees Valley Airport
33.9 mi
See all flights
Leeds-Bradford Airport
45.6 mi
See all flights
147Reviews7Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 68
  • 32
  • 22
  • 12
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Boomeranger wrote a review Aug 2020
Whickham, United Kingdom518 contributions707 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived for 6 days camping no hook up and stayed an extra night as we enjoyed it so much. During the Covid 19 crisis the extreme measures they went too ,to protect their customers was first class with sanitizing gel at all key areas , immaculate clean toilet ( with Covid measures). The campsite is well laid out with touring caravans, static caravans and tents . When we were there it was busy during the school holidays and during "Lock down". But you certainly were not on top of each other. Our 2 daughters came to stay for 2 nights and equally enjoyed them selves. Friendly and very helpful family run site , where they ensure you were taken care of. Locally a couple of pubs in walking distance ( one immediately opposite the site ) we went to a few times - good food and beers. again well organised for Covid. 2 cafes in the village - one selling small provisions. The village is quiet and ideally suite for those seeking relaxation , walking and chilling out . Ideally located for the coast and local site seeing all within car travelling distance. We enjoyed it so much we have booked to go back for another week in mind August . Give it a try .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Forget mobile and Wifi signals as you are located in the base of a valley.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tash wrote a review Oct 2020
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom2,305 contributions162 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have previously stayed at this campsite 2 years ago, we thought it was so quiet and peaceful, we decided to come back this year, after our holiday to America couldn't go ahead. We visited at the beginning of September and paid £30 per night for a tent pitch with electric hook up. The first three nights (Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday) we couldn't have asked for a better camp site, so peaceful and quiet, just like 2 years ago. (You can see from some of my pictures how quiet the site was the first few nights) The same could not be said for the guests arriving on Friday. We had a large family group in a couple of tents, next to us. They also had a dog.

Walking around the camp site Friday - Sunday, particularly at night, felt more like a party/a festival then a camp site. It was a complete contrast to the first 3 nights.

I know the camp site has a no noise policy after 10pm, and that dogs have to be on leads at all times. Sadly our new neighbours did not adhere to this. The dog was off lead on multiple occasions, upon arriving (although we just brushed this off as the families unpacking their cars and getting the tents set up) and on Friday night and Saturday night, both times it came right up to our tent! Bear in mind, I am scared of dogs, and this dog was rather a big dog, (it looked like a border collie) When it came up to our tent, I just froze, worried it would come up to me, or bite. The dog also barked a lot during our stay.

In regards to the noise policy, on Friday and Saturday night, the family were making noise well past 10pm, they didn't have music on, but they were drinking, talking loudly and laughing, when we were trying to sleep. I wear ear plugs to bed, and I could still hear them! That should tell you the level of noise we had to endure!

I complained to reception on two occasions, on Saturday morning to a gentleman, and upon checking out to a woman. Fortunately we managed to get a photo of the dog outside our tent, to show reception. On Saturday, the gentleman advised me he would speak to the party during the day. I don't know for definite if he did or the family just chose to ignore him, as they were noisy on the Saturday night again. When I checked out, the lady advised that the gentleman would have spoken to the party. I asked if they would ever evict any customers from the site, she advised only in exceptional circumstances. I feel like my complaints were not taken seriously enough. It's all well and good having these policies in place, but if no members of staff are doing walk arounds at regular intervals during the night, the policies don't guarantee guest adherence. Clearly not everybody respects them and other customers!

We arrived on the Tuesday excited for our stay, and we left on the Sunday desperate to get home! We are never desperate to get home, that tells you all you need to know.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucie S wrote a review Aug 2020
21 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just stayed here, pretty much rained the whole time we was there but it didnt spoil our trip! We had a tent electric pitch and fought it was a very good price for this time of year :) .. we met up with family and friends , kids enjoyed the park, nice facilities, we ate at the coach house inn and would highly recommend there it was really good home cooked food. Handy little shop on site aswel .. we enjoyed it so much we are booking for next year!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fabianodelg wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom25 contributions25 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I visited this Caravan Park on 13/6/22; it's in the middle of the Yorkshire Moors and the location is absolutely stunning. The Caravan Park will provvide pitches with water and electricity and there are so many lovely walks that can be done all around the area. The communal bathrooms and shower are a bit 'tired' but defintiely clean. The only problem is that you will be completely cut off any kind of tech (no TV reception, no Mobile phone reception etc). You can subscribe the local Internet Wifi at a cost of £3 pound/day. I would recommend this campsite if you want to spend your time fully immersed in the wilderness of the nature and forget for a day or 2 about the world.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicole M wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first ever camping trip and overall it was enjoyable I couldn’t fault the site location and facilities however we encountered some really inconsiderate neighbours who kept us up passed midnight on both nights of our stay drinking and shouting. We advised the owners (couldn’t locate the warden on the first night) and I know they spoke to them during the day but this didn’t stop them, given the remoteness of the site and the lack of phone signal I think the site should review night time security and have a greater presence in these instances. It’s a shame as it doesn’t look from the other reviews that this happens often but it would put me off coming again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenny T wrote a review Sept 2021
Halifax, United Kingdom11 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Camped here for 2 nights, Friday - Sunday in September. Arrived at 1pm and was greeted in reception by a lovely lady who offered us two areas to camp in. We could either stay on an EHU pitch, we weren't using EHU, or at the end of the campsite without.
We chose to stay at the end to avoid the children's play area. It was lovely and peaceful, away from the crowds of caravans and near the stream. Our dogs loved playing in the stream. The picnic tables were handy, meant we didn't have to put our table up. It was quite a long walk from reception to our pitch but we chose that and really didn't mind.
Toilet blocks were clean and functional. The card system no longer exists, they are changing to a number keypad, this wasn't in place they were just unlocked at the moment.
They were really accommodating with the van my parents brought to stay with us and allowed them to put it in the car park for £5 a night. We also had a day visitor who was allowed to park their car on our pitch when we went out.
As stated on the website there is no phone reception. They do provide free wifi for calling, we used WhatsApp. I didn't even look at wifi prices as we aren't bothered about internet.
Nearby pubs are the Coach House Inn and White Horse Farm Inn (up a big hill). I would highly recommend booking the as they were both busy. They both have free wifi is this is something you need. Great food and service at the Coach House Inn. White Horse Farm Inn service was lacking, however, they did have a sign stating they were closing early due to being short staffed. The food, in my opinion, wasn't very nice so I personally wouldn't recommend.
Overall, really enjoyed our stay and would happily return for a quiet weekend getaway from the city.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If you want to avoid the children, don't request EHU.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leanne B wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our 3rd stay in a tent at this site over 3 separate years.
Firstly, the area is wonderful and the play park is great for the kids.
The guy collecting rubbish regularly is lovely and cheery, polite and welcoming.
The shop has very handy items and the local pub is great too.
The local surroundings are beautiful with great places nearby to visit.

On arrival we were greeted with a very serious ‘what we can’t do’ whilst at the site. Not one hint of ‘enjoy your stay’ and a costly £15 for an extra car to be parked in the car park. (Tent paid for 2 adults 3 children from two different households)
Unfortunately we were very disappointed by the cleanliness of the toilet and shower block compared to previous visits. Closing 11-1 for cleaning does not seem adequate for the amount of people using the facilities. Toilet roll everywhere, wet toilet seats and grubby showers.
We certainly didn’t feel happy having a shower in the evening after they had been used all day with no cleaning.
The washing up area and family room is also in need of some TLC. We camp regularly and have enjoyed far better quality.

We do hope there are plans to upgrade the block as it would be a shame not to visit again. And maybe the lady on reception needs a holiday!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carrie wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was our first visit to Rosedale Abbey camping park but it will most certainly not be the last. The staff are so friendly, informative and just lovely. The site is very well kept and the facilities were spotless, the plug point in the ladies for hair dryer etc. was very welcomed! We pitched our tent in the bottom field and it was the perfect spot for us as a couple but the families there seemed to be having a great time too. The site has manged to get the right balance of being very relaxed but also the presence of the wardens every so often is great.
We can't wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jopetley wrote a review Jul 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely area and site of campsite is pleasant as is the wee village. Play park handy with the kids. However we didn't find the toilet block gets dirty very quickly. Personally I found it unpleasant showering as it's abit like a swimming pool with shared water run off (which doesn't drain off very quickly) and push button showers and small cubicles. Push buttons might be better on the sinks rather than showers. It's the little things..only 1 soap dispenser for hand washing. At peak times with so many people it doesn't feel clean. A child step might be a thoughtful addition also so younger ones can reach the sinks. Also the washing up areas had no plugs in the indoor area. Is this because nobody is trusted to not flood the place? We stayed whilst the new pitches had a road laid so enjoyed the heavy plant machinery outside our tent doing works. Surely this should have been done out of season?
Lovely place but we wouldn't return, as someone else said the lady on reception/cleaner could do with a holiday as she was not very friendly and generally it felt like there were lots of rules, extra expenses and over crowding in the toilet blocks.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jen Black, Owner at Rosedale Abbey Caravan and Camping Park
Responded 25 Jul 2023
We're sorry you didn't get good weather during your stay. We always ask guests to report things to the wardens immediately so they can attend to things directly, rather than just leaving it on a review. There are two soap dispensers in both the ladies and the gents handwashing areas (four in total in each toilet block). We encourage the use of washing up bowls in the washing up areas to conserve water and energy. We are very sorry that the small digger affected your stay, the forecast had reported a months worth of rain was due to fall in the space of 24 hours. So we tried our best to mitigate damage to the camping field and ensure no vehicles would become stuck, by the placement of a small new track. In an ordinary year this wouldn't have been necessary but due to the unseasonably wet summer, we had to act. The work took place over two days and we kept disruption to an absolute minimum, and tried to work while people were out for the day. We are extremely sorry that you did not feel like you received a friendly welcome - we pride ourselves on being friendly, helpful and welcoming, as we are a family owned park and our reputation is very important to us. We will investigate this further. As always, we would have appreciated your comments to us in person.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
D Shaw wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After arriving with our children at Rosedale on Friday August 14th at our pitch , we were unable to park our campervan and awning due to an old soil pipe protruding from the ground on one side and not enough room on the other side, without literally being on top of our neighbouring caravan. I spoke to reception and a gentleman came to our pitch and at first seemed friendly and understanding to our problem and he agreed we had a point. Unfortunately as the campsite was full, we only had the option of non electric and then move our awning and camper to another plot the following night, as we had only a short stay this seemed to be an unreasonable option to pack up twice. After asking a refund , I was just told "we don't offer refunds and you have taken a pitch that we could have sold as we are in demand ". The attitude towards us changed , no longer friendly and the gentlemen who previous seemed helpful was kurt and rude and his attitude changed and basically called me a liar regarding the size of my awning and became intimidating To be offered a pitch not suitable , finally to be offered a partial refund which will take up to 30 days to process is disgusting Our kids had no weekend camping , were terribly upset as we returned home out of pocket . I will not return here and WILL NOT recommend this site .Extremely disappointed by this set of events and the way we were treated and have been on the telephone since. Please be aware of this before you book.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jetangel7474 asked a question Jun 2019
Manchester, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Do you allocate Tent pitches with hook up or can you choose your pitch?. Thanks
Answer from Brian W
Lichfield, United Kingdom609 contributions132 helpful votes
Pitches are allocated by the office and electric hook ups are available
Ninja_queen666 asked a question May 2018
Higham, United Kingdom37 contributions17 helpful votes
Is their plug sockets in the glamping pods? If so do you need to purchase an electric card or something?
Answer from Jen B
Northallerton4 contributions
Yes there are two plug sockets in the pods, and electric is included in the £40/night price. Thank you:
Answer from Jen B
Northallerton4 contributions
Hello, yes we allow BBQ’s as long as they are kept off the grass by bricks - like you mentioned. Thank you for your enquiry.
carlbee50 asked a question Aug 2017
england33 contributions22 helpful votes
is there a club or pub on site and entertainment like the other flower of may sites.
Answer from Nick S
Scarborough, United Kingdom8 contributions12 helpful votes
Hi Carl, as Fiona said, no entertainment or bar on-park but local pubs serving good food!
Kirsty S wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"if you find something isn't up to your standard, I just report to staff and they will sort it for you. "
Read full review
Joe wrote a tip Oct 2023
Doncaster, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If visiting the Coach House for an evening meal, it is best to book a table in advance. This is a very popular place and great food."
Read full review
Amyzak2016 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Scarborough, United Kingdom10 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are bringing a disposal bbq like we did, there are bricks spotted around the site to place them on "
Read full review
Jenny T wrote a tip Sept 2021
Halifax, United Kingdom11 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want to avoid the children, don't request EHU."
Read full review
Jambomackem wrote a tip Sept 2020
Yorkshire, United Kingdom165 contributions77 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This isn't a review of hotel. Camp site review"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pickering area.
PRICE RANGE
£107 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshirePickering
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROSEDALE ABBEY CARAVAN AND CAMPING PARK - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Rosedale Abbey Caravan and Camping Park
Which popular attractions are close to Rosedale Abbey Caravan and Camping Park?
Nearby attractions include The New Inn (0.2 miles), White Rose (0.2 miles), and Franglais Antiques (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rosedale Abbey Caravan and Camping Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include kids activities, paid wifi, and self serve laundry.
Is parking available at Rosedale Abbey Caravan and Camping Park?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rosedale Abbey Caravan and Camping Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brandysnap Bistro, Balderson's Ice Cream Parlour, and The Buck Inn.
Are pets allowed at Rosedale Abbey Caravan and Camping Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Rosedale Abbey Caravan and Camping Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Crypt of Lastingham Church (7.9 miles), All Saints Church (5.6 miles), and Cawthorn Roman Fort (5.6 miles).
Is Rosedale Abbey Caravan and Camping Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Pickering HotelsPickering Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PickeringHotels near Rosedale Abbey Caravan and Camping Park
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire