We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auckland Hotel

Save
Share
312-5 Marine Road Central Central Promenade, Morecambe LA4 5AA England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (80)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 23/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Auckland Hotel
Updated 23/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 11 hotels in Morecambe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
We are a well-established, family run hotel in Morecambe consisting of 3 family partners. We have been specialising in providing bed and breakfast accommodation for both coach party & individuals for the last 25 years.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Books, DVDs, music for children
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Wifi
Restaurant
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
308Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 175
  • 99
  • 20
  • 10
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
John D wrote a review 19 Sep
Romford, United Kingdom38 contributions27 helpful votes
I visited on a #KirbysCoaches holiday. I was apprehensive before my visit after reading some of the reviews. I need not have been. Although our coach was delayed and we arrived well after dinner time we were warmly welcomed at the hotel by both management and staff. We went straight into dinner. Each day there was a choice of at least three main courses which were generally selected in the morning (apart from our arrival day). There were choices, too, of starter and dessert. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff and the food arrived hot and freshly prepared. Don’t expect gourmet food, it’s not that sort of hotel. Do expect wholesome home cooked food. Breakfast likewise had a large menu and you could choose whatever you wanted from the menu and mix and match as desired. My room was comfortable, as a single it was a little tight on space and the shower was a little cramped. All was well decorated and fresh looking. There were ample tea and coffee supplies and a good tv. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well. I was not fortunate enough to have a sea view but the views from the lounge were superb and the seating comfortable. The beach is just across the road and the town centre a short walk away. Altogether an enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
tutuleena wrote a review 15 Sep
Braintree, United Kingdom21 contributions47 helpful votes
Every single member of staff were very friendly and helpful and could not do enough for you. The food was excellent as was the evening entertainment. Honestly if you are in the Morecambe area you have to stay here. This hotel is a real gem in the north and the owners and staff make your stay a real delight.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Peter B wrote a review Aug 2021
Bury, United Kingdom139 contributions105 helpful votes
Bay view room which had a lovely outlook but it was very small. The walls are a little thin between rooms as you could hear a child crying for ages in the room on one side and coughing from the other side and in the middle of the night what sounded like someone falling out of bed. Over all clean very helpful and very pleasant staff both in reception and for breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
snoozysuzb wrote a review Aug 2021
Rossendale86 contributions97 helpful votes
Stayed one night, and brought the parents as a treat. Or not in this case. We paid extra for the bay view, which was beautiful, but the rooms were so not worth what we paid for them. I have stayed in much nicer, modern hotels for the same sort of money. Our room wasn't big enough to swing a cat, certainly nothing like the pictures and was very tired. The bathroom had an unclean smell and the shower was positively dangerous, going from lukewarm to red hot without warning. Saying all that, the bed was comfy, but the room was ridiculously hot, and it wasn't even a nice day. We were fortunate that our window opened wide, so we slept at the opposite end of the bed to get the breeze, but then had to contend with the noise of the seagulls at the crack of dawn. Unfortunately as our parents were a floor higher their window would not open wide, and they had little sleep due to the heat. Every time someone went in or out of the room next to us, our headboard banged, and the walls are paper thin. The hotel seemed to be running on a skeleton staff, every time you wanted something, either reception or the bar you had to ring the bell and someone came. We only had one drink in the bar, so one small red (vinegar), one medium white (awful, tasted like the bottle had been open ages), one bottle of Black Sheep and half a strongbow (as apparently they cannot serve half a guinness) came to £16.40!!!! which if the wine had been decent, maybe wouldnt have been too bad. And funny but not funny because if there had been more than us in the bar it would take a while, but the card machine only works if you hold it up near the window, not really great! We had booked bed and breakfast, and when we checked in the receptionist assumed that we wanted to eat breakfast together without checking, so we had a table for four in the morning. Breakfast was particularly busy and had a good number of staff, unlike the previous day, although we waited outside the restaurant for a good 5 minutes before we were acknowledged. We wish we hadnt bothered as the food was awful. Bacon was still pink, sausage undercooked, fried bread fried in oil that was so well used it tasted awful, mushrooms tinned, and about 4 quarters on the plate. Definitely not worth the money, and looking round there were a lot of plates with food left on them. All the above really lets the hotel down, but what we would say is that the staff and their attitude were second to none. The receptionist was very friendly, helpful and courteous, as were the other staff that we had dealings with. Would we stay here again, no I'm afraid not.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Sadler, Owner at Auckland Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We feel that we offer excellent value for money so are very disappointed that you do not think so. As we are in the hospitality business, our aim is always to offer a positive guest experience and we are gutted that you found this not to be the case. We do have a majority of happy guests and reviews, and generally our breakfasts are praised. We absolutely do not serve tinned mushrooms, they are bought in fresh from a local supplier. As regards your experience with the bar, we are sorry you didn't like our wine, I guess people's tastes are different, the bottle would not have been open for ages as we are so busy at the moment. We only have surger cans for Guinness, not on draught, so yes, we cannot serve a half pint. We are incredibly busy at the moment, with limited access to staff due to COVID and a general recruitment problem throughout the hospitality sector, however, as you say, our staff are very helpful and friendly.
Read more
Scotland wrote a review Aug 2021
Scotland520 contributions139 helpful votes
Great communications prior to arrival. Lovely fresh, warm an clean feeling as soon as you enter. Laura who was on reception was so lovely, cheery and welcoming - excellent customer service. Can’t remember last hotel we had same welcome. Areas - all very bright, clean and cheery. Room - we had a triple room, again very clean and bright. Nice bedding, lovely white towels. Although no bath in room the shower was of a good size with a great shower and nice shower gel etc. Hairdryer in room with a table and chair - didn’t feel it was claustrophobic as some triple rooms feel. We had a very comfortable sleep. Breakfast - this was optional - we paid £8 each for breakfast which was worth EVERY penny! Amazing - lots of options including vegetarian option. Was a great start to the day. Everything was cooked perfect - well done to the chefs and waitresses who were all very nice, smiley and efficient. There is also a lift if required. We arrived later in the evening so no meals were being served. My husband and granddaughter went to get food but most places they went were only doing taje aways whuch they got. On return to the hotel they asked for cutlery which was no problem at all and allowed them to eat their carry out in the restaurant at a table rather than the bedroom which they really appreciated (I didn’t have ). A lovely touch. The hotel is situated overlooking the promenade- great location. We were only there as a stopover to break up a long journey. Morcambe looked a lovely place, after our stay has given us thoughts of returning for a few days in the future and would most definitely stay at The Auckland. Well done to all your staff, cleaners who I often are forgotten about but they are the ones who gives a place the WOW factor for cleanliness and your cleaners definitely does so well. As I have said prior, all staff we met were brilliant and the behind the scenes staff , ie chefs. Thank you one and all - we had a great stay
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There is a car park directly across from hotel -
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Sadler, Owner at Auckland Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful review. It really does mean a lot to us when our guests have a great stay with us. We have a wonderful team of staff who really do care about the hotel and the people who visit us. Thank you once again for taking the time to write such comprehensive and glowing comments. We certainly hope that we will see you again in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$65 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLancashireLancaster DistrictMorecambe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Auckland Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Auckland Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Eric Morecambe Statue (0.3 miles), The Stone Jetty (0.1 miles), and The Morecambe Hotel Bar (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Auckland Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Auckland Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Auckland Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Auckland Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Brasserie, Secret Bistro, and Black Stone Grill & Thai Restaurant.
Is Auckland Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Morecambe.
Are there any historical sites close to Auckland Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lancaster Castle (2.9 miles), Lancaster Town Hall (3.3 miles), and Roman Bath House and Wery Wall Remains (3.0 miles).
Does Auckland Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Auckland Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.