Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel

Travelodge The Lanyard The Lanyard, Hartlepool TS24 0XS England
Dirty pillows
Traveller (66)
Views from rooms
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

£28
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#3 of 9 hotels in Hartlepool
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel their hotel of choice when visiting Hartlepool. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a quiet setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

While staying at Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel, visitors can check out Heugh Battery Museum (1.3 mi), which is a popular Hartlepool attraction.

Rooms at Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with wifi.

If you are driving to Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel, free parking is available.

While visiting Hartlepool, you may want to try some crab at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Wallis & Co, Ruskins Bistro, or Portals Place.

Should time allow, National Museum of the Royal Navy Hartlepool, HMS Trincomalee, and Museum of Hartlepool are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

At Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Hartlepool.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Modern
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Travelodge The Lanyard The Lanyard, Hartlepool TS24 0XS England
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 86 out of 100
86
Newcastle Airport
30.9 mi
See all flights
Durham Tees Valley Airport
14.5 mi
See all flights
823Reviews8Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 459
  • 212
  • 61
  • 35
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Barry M wrote a review Sept 2020
Rhyl, United Kingdom316 contributions109 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a one night stay here over the weekend, plenty of parking and in a great location for the marina area, staff were efficient at check in and very welcoming, room was clean and bed comfy, plenty of tea coffee and milk. All in all very good for a budget hotel.
Couple of problems, shower tray was slow to drain and the stairwell carpet was very dirty, we used the stairs to avoid the lift due to current restrictions, assume many people are doing the same hence the extra stair traffic?
Be nice to see thaat area was being looked after as we assume most peopkle will be touching the banisters, and as it is it does not look like the area is being cleaned?
Bathroom was clean, plenty of hot water and check out efficient, so all in all, we had a great stay and will use the hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: rooms at the back overlook the railway, rooms at the front look at over the marina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
drofwal1207 wrote a review Aug 2020
Manningtree, United Kingdom24 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Hartlepool Marina Travelodge for 3 nights, 10-12th August.
First impressions upon our arrival at the hotel were not very good. There is a KFC restaurant and drive thru adjacent to the hotel and the amount of litter laying and blowing around in the hotel car park was horrendous! The majority of the litter belonged to KFC but there were also McDonald’s wrappers etc from that restaurant which is some several hundred metres away! Whilst I appreciate that this is not the direct fault of the Travelodge, surely these restaurants and ultimately Travelodge have a responsibility to clear up the mess? In addition a lot of the car park fencing was broken with posts knocked out/ over. A bit of maintenance is definitely required!

As for the hotel itself, the reception staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was fine albeit a little on the small side. The only thing we found was missing was a bathmat for the floor, which became slippy after showering. The shower curtain was quite mouldy and didn’t really keep the water inside the cubicle very well.

My only real gripe was the behaviour of other guests who thought it was ok to shout, visit each other’s rooms and bang their room doors continuously between 2am and 4am on our first night! Some of these guests were next to our room and when they closed their room door the air pressure from this actually caused our wall and headboard to move!! I got so fed up that I challenged one of the guests and made my feeling quite clear!! Fortunately they only stayed one night! Later that morning I told the reception staff about what had happened and they were very understanding and sympathetic. They informed me that they have a policy regarding noisy guests and that ideally I should have let them handle the situation.

I was however, happy overall with my stay and again the staff must be complimented on their customer service as they were all hand to help me out, it’s just a shame about the other guests who clearly don’t care about other people trying to sleep and get some rest. My wife and me had travelled almost 300 miles to visit family and this was not what we needed on our first night!

I would stay here again, if I managed to get another good rate as I did this time ( one saver night free. I just hope that the car park situation improves on my next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HarryNuneaton wrote a review Jul 2022
Wooler, United Kingdom135 contributions200 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
With any Travelodge it does what it says on the tin. We regularly stay with them and never had a problem, always spotless bedding bathroom etc. This lodge at the Marina was no exception, staff were extremely friendly. It's very easy to locate with ample free parking opposite, your supposed to log your car index at reception when booking in but this wasn't working at the time. All in all we had a lovely stay and would not hesitate to return.
Word to senior management..... carpets are a utter disgrace and requires replacing as a matter of urgency.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rletts2528 wrote a review Feb 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When I arrived I was shocked to see a funfair less than 100 meters away from the hotel, once we had checked in we were told our room was on the ground floor at the front. My 8 year old son suffers from autism and found the noise very distressing. When I complained to the reception staff and told them I wasnt impressed that this hadn't been put on the website I was told that I should of just known as it is there every year. I've never been to this hotel before so god knows how I would know this. I was disgusted when no room exchange was offered. Just fobbed off. The entire time me and my children were there the water was lukewarm at best. Which meant my children couldn't have a proper wash. The room was filthy, my daughter picked a crisp up off the floor and it was covered in hair. The linen was stained. Carpets stained . Never again .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as this does not reflect Travelodge standards. Could we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form with a copy of your review to look into this more thoroughly. Thank you again for your review and we hope to hear from you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stacey G wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worse customer service I have experienced at a hotel. Susan Bond was shouting at myself and partner in the reception. We had thought we had booked extended checkout and seemed to have booked the wrong service while booking. Susan’s as a customer service worker could have politely us to leave as we had made a mistake but seemed to want to argue as she raised her voice and accused us of trying to ‘pull a fast one’ and would like to her to explain what she was according us of and how her argument lacked basic logic. It was also very startling that she came into the room without allowing us to open the door and walked in.

Why would we waste the £30 on breakfast (that they can see was unclaimed) when we wanted to pay £20 for an extended stay.

She would not give me the instructions on how to complain about her lack of communication skills and manners so I am hoping her manager Alan contacts me so that he can try and get Susan the right training on how to talk to people.

Hotels are built on customer service and the experience I encountered would not live up to Travel lodges expectations of their employees.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hartlepool Marina Travelodge, Other at Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Responded 24 Oct 2021
I do apologise that you experience this customer service. I would like to speak to you concerning this matter. The manager is away at present but i am in charge while he is away. Could you please contact the hotel concerning this matter. Mel Supervisor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erik wrote a review Sept 2020
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Same issue.
Work away constantly, in and out out their hotels, just came up against a brick wall when arriving at this hotel, begrudge paying the £10 when room is available and hotel almost empty, have never been asked before, know its policy, but these are quieter times.
Less staff, less resident.
Am now sat in a car park waiting for the time I can check in, depressing, wish I want booked in here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bensT9107YL wrote a review Aug 2021
Swadlincote, United Kingdom287 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visiting family in the North East we looked at several options for overnight stay and chose Hartlepool as we’d never really been and the marina location looked good.

It’s easy enough to find by car and very close to the station. We were warmly welcomed by Alan and went to our ground floor room. We had a view out over the marina side which was nice and probably the quieter side as the railway is on the other. Looks like the marina side might be further developed at some point.

The room was of normal Travelodge standard, well cleaned and everything worked fine. We had plenty of cups and tea/coffee etc with more available in the corridor near reception.

There were plenty of good food options nearby including KFC, Pizza Hut, McDonalds being very close and several more a little further. We opted for the Brewers Fayre pub which was a 5 minute walk further into the marina. There are also 2 supermarkets very close by as well as Hartlepool United’s Victoria Park.

The 2 main museums are within another 5 minute walk. We went to the free museum of Hartlepool which was good. Would have loved to have spent more time to discover the marina area more and visited the Navy museum.

There was a fair amount of litter in the car park but it looked like it had been blown over from the food outlets. Other than that we have no complaints about the night’s sleep or anything in general - it was a good overnight stop.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mike struthers wrote a review Feb 2023
United Kingdom2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked to stay on 28/12/22, and we arrived early before checkin time of 3pm,
Which we did know this so we just wanted to leave our luggage till 3pm .
We were told this was not possible at this hotel, and we’re advised to leave it in our car.
We did not have a car and it was torrential rain.
So we then asked if we could check in early and pay the £10 as the sign on reception said we could do.
Again we were told this was not possible as we hadn’t prebooked this and they already had their quota of early check ins.
We were then told to come back at 2 pm and they might have a room ready but no guarantee.
So we were supposed to wander about in the rain with our luggage and then come back to possibly be told there is no room ready.
The fact that it is a long walk into town and back in the rain was of no concern to the person we spoke to on the phone.
Yes on the phone there is nobody on reception until check in time just a number to call
I called customer service only to be told the same
They did not care either!!
I will never stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BeansandIvy wrote a review Aug 2021
Kettering, United Kingdom1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Even though we paid extra for late checkout at 2 pm. We found ourselves locked out at 12:45 after coming back from lunch. There was no one at reception just a sign with a number asking to call if you need assistance. There was no answer. After about 5 minutes we finally managed to get the attention of a housekeeper. We explained the problem and she walked off without a word leaving us standing in the lobby. After about 10 to 15 minutes later she came back in the lobby dialled the same number for assistance and walked back off again without a word. After 5 minutes she came back again asking someone on the phone if it's OK to let us back in the room. She then walked us to our room, let us in, but just walked away not a word much less an apology.
They charge £3 extra for 24 hour WiFi access. We checked in at around 6 pm but found that at 11:30 the WiFi has been disconnected. I also feel that the £20 per day pet charge is excessive especially for a 4 lb Yorkie. The location is great and the room was spacious, and the bed linen was crisp and clean. The bed was comfy but the pillows are just hard lumps.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hartlepoolmarina MGR, General Manager at Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Responded 15 Jun 2022
Hi we apologies for the for the wait at reception and will I will look into it. Reception is closed between 10am-2pm so the person who deals with reception duties also has to clean in the hotel between those times unfortunately which can sometimes generate a wait hence the free phone number to call them for attention.On the pet charge it is only a 1 time charge of £20 regardless of length of stay for the extra cleaning needed to the room due to a pet staying.So even if you stayed for 20 days not just the 1 night you would not of been charged again for the pet.However I do apologies you did not enjoy the stay overall and hope you give travelodge a chance again in the future to show we are great value for money and a superb choice to stay at.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sue J wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Doors, mirrors, skirting, tiles and worst of all toilet seat lid were all in need of a good clean. Bedding was clean but I was extremely disappointed with overall standard of cleanliness of room/bathroom. Also customer service could be better, I asked reception if they could ring me a taxi I was told no!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hartlepoolmarina MGR, General Manager at Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Responded 3 Jul 2022
Thank you for your feedback, I will look into this . Did you report the room to reception. Our staff always go above and beyond and we like to know were we need to pay that little extra attention to. We would of resolved it while you were there or moved you to another room. I will look into our customer service because i know the team always go that extra mile and i know we only have 1 taxi firm in hartlepool. Please contact the hotel so we can have a chat concerning what you have said. Thanks Hartlepool Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roger T asked a question Jul 2023
Corby, United Kingdom16 contributions6 helpful votes
Do you have plugs by the bed since I have a cpap machine
Answer from Ken R
In our room there was no plugs at the bed but sockets on the opposite wall
Jess S asked a question Nov 2019
1 contribution
Hi, is there 24 hour check in?
Answer from hunkl
St. Pete Beach, Florida117 contributions35 helpful votes
Yes it is but maybe call ahead if you want to checkin very late at night
Lakebet asked a question Oct 2019
Grimsby, United Kingdom1 contribution3 helpful votes
What do you get in a breakfast box?
Answer from hunkl
St. Pete Beach, Florida117 contributions35 helpful votes
Didn't know there was a breakfast box, much better choice would be go over the bridge to the Wetherspoons pub at 8am for breakfasts, full english at very cheap prices
Stevie1954 asked a question Nov 2018
London, United Kingdom227 contributions27 helpful votes
Are you dog friendly, we have 2 Puggies
Answer from Stacey bronks
York, United Kingdom
Yeah it’s £20 per stay
Angela F asked a question Apr 2018
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Do all rooms have a bath
Answer from andy4410
Goole, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
I haven’t stayed in every room in the hotel but all the ones I stayed in did have a bath
Linzigee97 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Hebburn, United Kingdom30 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a fan if you like to sleep with the window open"
Read full review
Ian tp wrote a tip Apr 2024
7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a front facing room"
Read full review
jane f wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are so many lovely restaurants nearby"
Read full review
Ellie wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this place. "
Read full review
Storyteller605682 wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring USB charger "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hartlepool area.
PRICE RANGE
£28 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamHartlepool
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRAVELODGE HARTLEPOOL MARINA HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Get Out Escape Rooms Hartlepool (0.08 miles), National Museum of the Royal Navy Hartlepool (0.1 miles), and Museum of Hartlepool (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, internet access, and reduced mobility rooms.
What food & drink options are available at Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Portofino, Old West Quay Brewers Fayre, and Sambuca.
Is Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Hartlepool.
Are pets allowed at Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hartlepool Quay (0.1 miles).
Does Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Hartlepool HotelsHartlepool Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HartlepoolHotels near Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire